42" Panasonic LCD TV forgetting default settings

RCP

Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2004
Messages
49
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Website
www.the2012londonolympics.com
My Satellite Setup
Sky+ sky dish, Sony DVD recorder, Panasonic Combi VHS/DVD recorder, Panasonic 42" LCD TV
My Location
UK
OK then,

We have an ageing Sky+ box which works fine, and a two to three year old 42" Panasonic LCD TV, we also have two young kids (2 and 4 year olds) who enjoy messing about with the TV and satellite remote controls so am forever having to switch the TV on and select CEEBEES or whatever the kids program is nowadays!

Anyway last week I was summonsed in because the Sky remote would no longer switch the TV on as well as the Sky+ box (which it always has done), this is something new to me.

Anyway, having investigated I noticed that the TV was set to Analogue rather than AV1, so went and fetched the Panasonic remote, changed the setting to AV1 and everything worked fine. Kids are sent to bed and TV is switched off.

Now later in the evening we switch the TV on using the Sky remote as previous, then switch on the Sky+ box, then note that the TV has defaulted back to analogue again. So out comes the Panasonic remote, I set AV1 and we watch the TV as usual till bedtime when everything is switched off.

Following morning we have the same problem in that the TV has defaulted back to analogue again....and again...and again....!!!

Has anyone encounter this problem using Panasonic TVs, is this a known issue, is there a battery in the TV somewhere which remembers the default settings?

Any help with this much appreciated?

Cheers in advance,

Rich
 

statalite

Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2009
Messages
815
Reaction score
323
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
SF8008
DiSEqC motor with 80cm dish
Zone 1 @ 28.2°E
Zone 2 @ 19.2°E with 28.2°E and 13.0°E
Channel Master 1.0m (to be setup)
Channel Master 1.2m (to be setup)
SMR 1224
My Location
UK Midlands
On my Panasonic LCD you can choose which input is shown when the TV is powered on.
You may be able to find this option in the menus.
 

Clown man

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2014
Messages
73
Reaction score
61
Points
18
My Satellite Setup
28,2 & 19,2 on Gibby 150cm ..2x Opticum Premium LNB's....Opticum 5x12 Multiswitch....Humax Freesat HDR's custom FW ...Pioneer Kuro & Panasonic Viera W60 Plasma tv's
My Location
Munich.....Germany......
On your Sky+box.......go to system setup.......Picture........and see if the Scart control is switched on ?........then save settings........
 

RCP

Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2004
Messages
49
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Website
www.the2012londonolympics.com
My Satellite Setup
Sky+ sky dish, Sony DVD recorder, Panasonic Combi VHS/DVD recorder, Panasonic 42" LCD TV
My Location
UK
Thanks for the replies,

Will take a look at the menu settings when I get home later today.

Like I say, it's worked perfectly well without any issues for the past two or three years. Must say this has me foxed because the Panasonic TV menu options allow you to store the AV1, Av2, etc. as you see fit, and I have pressed the 'store' button on AV1, so is strange that it keeps defaulting back to analogue!

Unfortunately the 2 year old has discovered all the buttons on the side of the TV as well as the main ON/OFF button, and he is at that point in his life where it's really good fun to press everything, yet too young to appreciate what carnage he can cause by his actions!
 

2cvbloke

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,768
Reaction score
1,808
Points
113
Age
38
My Satellite Setup
No satellite stuff for the moment (aside from a 43cm minidish that was on the house already), Samsung SyncMaster T27B550 Smart TV & Monitor, and a few computers...
My Location
Near Pontop Pike, Co. Durham
I don't know about Panasonic TVs, but on Samsung models you can turn off the controls on the TV, so a child pressing buttons wouldn't have any effect when the buttons are disabled... :)

As for the other issues of the TV forgetting, if it's not due to an inquisitive toddler, it could be a sign of a dodgy PSU, causing issues with holding stored data and the like...
 

smoggy07

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2008
Messages
945
Reaction score
384
Points
63
Age
40
My Satellite Setup
Sky minidish and Sky + HD 250gig Anytime+ box with full ish appart from sports and movies, Dreambox DM500s clone (Pli Jade3 max var F/W), Motorised 1.1Meter Dish
My Location
middlesbrough, teesside, northeast coast, uk
This is not really an answer to your problem but.....

On the Sky remote, press and hold the TV button while pressing and releasing the help button, this "should" flick the TV over from CH1 to AV1 or cycle through the sources on the TV so you won't have to get the TV remote out all the time
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,039
Reaction score
387
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
Northants, Midlands UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
On the sky box, Scart control set to 'ON' should give a 'turn to Av1' command on the TV. If it doesn't, check the scart lead itself, in particular the pins.
 

RCP

Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2004
Messages
49
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Website
www.the2012londonolympics.com
My Satellite Setup
Sky+ sky dish, Sony DVD recorder, Panasonic Combi VHS/DVD recorder, Panasonic 42" LCD TV
My Location
UK
Hi everyone and thank you for your suggestions as to the possible causes.

And sorry for the delay with an update.

Have checked the settings on the TV and it is definately set to 'AV1' on start up, so am at a loss as to why it switches on and defaults to 'Analogue'. I've checked the scart leads and they seem to be fine.

The Sky remote is set to be able to change the channels on the TV as it always has been - I couldn't see the point of having two remote controls lying around either.

Is the possible PSU failure something quite common on LCD TVs nowadays?

Have a feeling we purchased this Panasonic 42" TV approx 3 years ago from John Lewis which came with a 5 year warranty, but as per normal, we seem to have put the receipt somewhere safe (along with a load of other ones), so will have to do some hunting around in all the shoe boxes and then give Panasonic help desk a call to see if they can shed any light on the problem.
 

statalite

Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2009
Messages
815
Reaction score
323
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
SF8008
DiSEqC motor with 80cm dish
Zone 1 @ 28.2°E
Zone 2 @ 19.2°E with 28.2°E and 13.0°E
Channel Master 1.0m (to be setup)
Channel Master 1.2m (to be setup)
SMR 1224
My Location
UK Midlands
Hi everyone and thank you for your suggestions as to the possible causes.

And sorry for the delay with an update.

Have checked the settings on the TV and it is definately set to 'AV1' on start up, so am at a loss as to why it switches on and defaults to 'Analogue'. I've checked the scart leads and they seem to be fine.

The Sky remote is set to be able to change the channels on the TV as it always has been - I couldn't see the point of having two remote controls lying around either.

Is the possible PSU failure something quite common on LCD TVs nowadays?

Have a feeling we purchased this Panasonic 42" TV approx 3 years ago from John Lewis which came with a 5 year warranty, but as per normal, we seem to have put the receipt somewhere safe (along with a load of other ones), so will have to do some hunting around in all the shoe boxes and then give Panasonic help desk a call to see if they can shed any light on the problem.

If you change the start up to another input does it behave for that input?
 

statalite

Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2009
Messages
815
Reaction score
323
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
SF8008
DiSEqC motor with 80cm dish
Zone 1 @ 28.2°E
Zone 2 @ 19.2°E with 28.2°E and 13.0°E
Channel Master 1.0m (to be setup)
Channel Master 1.2m (to be setup)
SMR 1224
My Location
UK Midlands
Even if it does start on analogue, if you have the scart control set to 'on' on the sky box it should switch to AV1 anyway?
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
35,771
Reaction score
8,647
Points
113
Age
60
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Have a feeling we purchased this Panasonic 42" TV approx 3 years ago from John Lewis which came with a 5 year warranty, but as per normal, we seem to have put the receipt somewhere safe (along with a load of other ones), so will have to do some hunting around in all the shoe boxes and then give Panasonic help desk a call to see if they can shed any light on the problem.

John Lewis keep records of all sales and the warranties.

Have you manually searched for any updates for the TV ? They will only come in through the terrestrial input though, and Sky installers tend to remove anything from the kit they don't understand.
 

RCP

Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2004
Messages
49
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Website
www.the2012londonolympics.com
My Satellite Setup
Sky+ sky dish, Sony DVD recorder, Panasonic Combi VHS/DVD recorder, Panasonic 42" LCD TV
My Location
UK
Thanks everyone for all your help and suggestions, and just to let you know that I've finally sorted the problem out, though fixed it due to another unrelated issue.

I changed the scart leads around in order to connect a DVD player, and in doing so, changed the scart leads round at the back of the TV, and all seems to be good now.

I also noticed when making the changes that one of the original scart leads was a bit rattly so changed it, and have a feeling it might have been defective, not helped by the fact that some months ago our young-un flipped the Sky box out of the TV cabinet and flipped it upside down for added measure, so it was all dangling by the leads.

It's some relief that the TV isn't faulty, especially as the receipt (with 5 year warranty) has been put 'somewhere safe', I can't believe that so many receipts have disappeared over the last few years, this house is like a black hole since we've had kids!
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
18,035
Reaction score
4,051
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
Many thanks for getting back to us to let us know what happened. Sometimes we're left in limbo not knowing whether a fault has been fixed or not.
 
Top