Top Tip 4G ready aerials at Screwfix for only £5 (UK ONLY)

A nonymous

Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2006
Messages
3,586
Reaction score
913
Points
113
Found this the other day. Absolute bargain for only £5 although will probably be only any use to you if you live in the UK.

This is a huge aerial with performs well for the price.

Code:
http://www.screwfix.com/p/labgear-4g-tri-boom-high-gain-outdoor-tv-aerial-16-5db/38175

Nano
 

remlap

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 21, 2004
Messages
2,301
Reaction score
875
Points
113
Age
34
My Satellite Setup
Gibertini 104cm motorised dish with a Technomate 5402 HD CI+ and TBS 6925 + Gibertini 90cm with 9E 13E 19.2E and 28.2/5E with a Hauppauge WinTV NOVA-HD-S2 Media Centre PC and Pure EVOKE Flow Radio + 100cm Channel Master with 2 LNBs at 24.5W and 30W
My Location
Wales
I think 4G is the model number mate.
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
17,499
Reaction score
3,604
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
Maybe, but the body text definitely says

Designed to minimise the effects of 4G high speed mobile phone signals.
 

remlap

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 21, 2004
Messages
2,301
Reaction score
875
Points
113
Age
34
My Satellite Setup
Gibertini 104cm motorised dish with a Technomate 5402 HD CI+ and TBS 6925 + Gibertini 90cm with 9E 13E 19.2E and 28.2/5E with a Hauppauge WinTV NOVA-HD-S2 Media Centre PC and Pure EVOKE Flow Radio + 100cm Channel Master with 2 LNBs at 24.5W and 30W
My Location
Wales
Maybe, but the body text definitely says

Designed to minimise the effects of 4G high speed mobile phone signals.

Good catch.
 

2cvbloke

Bulbs need shelter too...
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,768
Reaction score
1,806
Points
113
Age
35
My Satellite Setup
No satellite stuff for the moment (aside from a 43cm minidish that was on the house already), Samsung SyncMaster T27B550 Smart TV & Monitor, and a few computers...
My Location
Near Pontop Pike, Co. Durham
I forgot what website it was (I saw the link on here somewhere), but they referred to the Labgear branded stuff as "tinfoil aerials" that aren't suited to life outdoors... :-rofl2

The best solution is wait to see if you're affected and see if you can get a filter from this lot when the lower-band 4G services come into play:

https://at800.tv

:)
 

A nonymous

Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2006
Messages
3,586
Reaction score
913
Points
113
I think 4G is the model number mate.

No it definitely says its supposed to reject 4G signals. Whether thats the case or not is anybodies guess at the moment. That didn't particularly bother me as it wasn't the reason for buying it. I just needed a cheap aerial to use with my BT Vision box.

I live within 10 miles in direct line of sight ( I can see the transmitter clearly from my bedroom window) of one of the most powerful transmitters in the UK so even an old contract aerial would have done the job. The aerial performs well and its quite sturdy considering who manufactured it. I honestly think it would be OK outside, although i won't ever know as mines in the loft :D

Either way its better than anything else i have seen for £5 which was the whole point of me putting up on this site.

Nano
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,033
Reaction score
382
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
East Midlands, UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
Must be a special or introductory offer.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
31,958
Reaction score
7,223
Points
113
Age
57
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Looks very Fracarro like Labgear aerial.jpeg
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,091
Reaction score
1,462
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
They're probably all made by the same company, the Triax one is almost identical as well (with a few small differences).


PS. Pretty sure they are all 1.2m long and not 1.6m as per Screwfix, think they've confused length and weight figures. Personally don't like these Tri Boom antennae, they rattle too much for external application and are heavy for a rear clamped mount, not convinced for fringe performance either. Certainly silly cheap price for a loft installation though.
 
Last edited:

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,033
Reaction score
382
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
East Midlands, UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
Similar to many, like the Televes.
 

A nonymous

Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2006
Messages
3,586
Reaction score
913
Points
113
I thought it looked a bit like the Televes DAT45.

Getting 100% signal quality on the BT Vision box, so its doing what its supposed to :D

It replaced a Fracarro Blu220 which got broken when i slipped and grabbed hold of it whilst trying to find something up the loft. I've since moved it to another part of the loft.

Nano
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,033
Reaction score
382
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
East Midlands, UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
100% signal, lol. How far away are you from the SC mast Nano, I pull in some pretty strong signals here from Sutton.
 

A nonymous

Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2006
Messages
3,586
Reaction score
913
Points
113
In a straight line Its about 11 miles with a totally unrestricted view. During the day i can see both Sutton Coldfield and Lichfield transmitters, and at night i can see the red warning beacons. TBH the only time i lose view is during fog which we get quite often during the winter due to how high we are.

If i swing the aerial round i can get quite a good stonking signal off Wrekin B also.

Nano
 
S

Steve Steve

Guest
Looks like a bargain ....I paid 100 Euros for a similar looking ..DVB-T Arial 8 years ago to receive ORF digital....
 

mikeisyou

Website Developer and Feed Hunter
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
542
Reaction score
210
Points
43
My Satellite Setup
Fransat 4K with Basque ETB channels, Octagon SX88+ and Motorized 1.25m Raven Dish (37w to 46e)
My Location
South coast of England
No it definitely says its supposed to reject 4G signals. Whether thats the case or not is anybodies guess at the moment. That didn't particularly bother me as it wasn't the reason for buying it. I just needed a cheap aerial to use with my BT Vision box.

I live within 10 miles in direct line of sight ( I can see the transmitter clearly from my bedroom window) of one of the most powerful transmitters in the UK so even an old contract aerial would have done the job. The aerial performs well and its quite sturdy considering who manufactured it. I honestly think it would be OK outside, although i won't ever know as mines in the loft :D

Either way its better than anything else i have seen for £5 which was the whole point of me putting up on this site.

Nano

Why don't you use a coat hanger? works for me
 

A nonymous

Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2006
Messages
3,586
Reaction score
913
Points
113
If it was feeding just one point I could use just the coax if i put it outside :-lol

I'm that close to the transmitter i could probably get away with it for some of the channels. The signal from said aerial is split across 4 points in the house so using a reasonable aerial is pretty much the way to go for me. The roof attenuates the signal down by about 15dB which doesn't help.

I still get a good signal with it though even with it being in the loft :D

Nano
 

2cvbloke

Bulbs need shelter too...
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,768
Reaction score
1,806
Points
113
Age
35
My Satellite Setup
No satellite stuff for the moment (aside from a 43cm minidish that was on the house already), Samsung SyncMaster T27B550 Smart TV & Monitor, and a few computers...
My Location
Near Pontop Pike, Co. Durham
Being about 1.5 miles LOS from Pontop Pike, I can just stick my finger in the aerial socket and get a signal... :-rofl2

Not a very good one mind, I seem to have high attenuation... :D
 

2cvbloke

Bulbs need shelter too...
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,768
Reaction score
1,806
Points
113
Age
35
My Satellite Setup
No satellite stuff for the moment (aside from a 43cm minidish that was on the house already), Samsung SyncMaster T27B550 Smart TV & Monitor, and a few computers...
My Location
Near Pontop Pike, Co. Durham
Top