60cm dish with temp. inverto lnb set up

Piltdownpaul

No.1 Spike Milligan Fan
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
2,011
Reaction score
687
Points
113
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
Skybox F3,Icecrypt S3500HDCCI, Technomate TM3000D,TM5400Ci Super, Samsung HD HDD Freesat Box,60cm dish for freesat, TD88 dish on a Skybox F3 57E to 45W.
My Location
South Leicestershire (Fleckney)
Pictured below are some setup photos i took today testing my narrow inverto lnb and mounting system as a prelude to fitting it up on the td88 in Spring. There's lots of adjustment available ,the minimum degree separation was 3,on the 60cm dish. The lnbs shown are set up on 23.5E,19E,16E(centre)13E and 9E. So in theory i should get 2 degree separation on the td88 , the specification in the box says it possible. I haven't spent too long getting these crack on ,just wanted to see what was possible.

60cm1.jpg60cm2.jpg60cm3.jpg
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,103
Reaction score
8,687
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Nice job, PDP.
 

Piltdownpaul

No.1 Spike Milligan Fan
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
2,011
Reaction score
687
Points
113
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
Skybox F3,Icecrypt S3500HDCCI, Technomate TM3000D,TM5400Ci Super, Samsung HD HDD Freesat Box,60cm dish for freesat, TD88 dish on a Skybox F3 57E to 45W.
My Location
South Leicestershire (Fleckney)
Ta very muchily
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,315
Reaction score
1,631
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Agree, looks good. how stable are the LNBs, does the rail tighten up well?
 

Piltdownpaul

No.1 Spike Milligan Fan
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
2,011
Reaction score
687
Points
113
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
Skybox F3,Icecrypt S3500HDCCI, Technomate TM3000D,TM5400Ci Super, Samsung HD HDD Freesat Box,60cm dish for freesat, TD88 dish on a Skybox F3 57E to 45W.
My Location
South Leicestershire (Fleckney)
Thanks Roflw, the whole thing bolts up solid, although when it goes on the td88 i'm fitting 2 stabilizer bars to the mounting slide ends and fitting to it to the sides of the dish. I only did the allen bolts finger tight and they gripped well. I didnt even use the allen key provided although i will for the permanent situation.
 

RimaNTSS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
5,613
Reaction score
6,100
Points
113
Age
58
My Satellite Setup
Some SAT-related hardware.
My Location
N-E from Riga
That could be good antenna for experiments (not for watching TV). Not for multifeed but for antenna itself maybe you need couple of mods: one to prevent antenna sliding down along the pole when you changing azimuth, and second one to be able change elevation very precisely.
 

Attachments

  • 2Mods.JPG
    2Mods.JPG
    200.1 KB · Views: 96

Piltdownpaul

No.1 Spike Milligan Fan
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
2,011
Reaction score
687
Points
113
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
Skybox F3,Icecrypt S3500HDCCI, Technomate TM3000D,TM5400Ci Super, Samsung HD HDD Freesat Box,60cm dish for freesat, TD88 dish on a Skybox F3 57E to 45W.
My Location
South Leicestershire (Fleckney)
I use that dish purely for testing, it was my 1st dish on the house about a year ago. The elevation setting and clamp is poor though.
 

timo_w2s

Retired Mod
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,359
Reaction score
2,883
Points
113
Website
www.timo.me.uk
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
I'm still using those same narrow LNBs on my system in Helsinki but I'm planning on changing most of them to Black Ultras in the summer as I'm working with weak signals and I find these narrow LNBs are just not good enough. I gave up using them on my 90cm dish in Buckinghamshire as I would lose channels from 1W and 5E every time they got wet although placing a plastic cup over the feed horn helped a lot.

They are really good for adjusting to get the best signal though. I liked the design and idea. Just a shame the LNBs weren't better.
 

Piltdownpaul

No.1 Spike Milligan Fan
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
2,011
Reaction score
687
Points
113
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
Skybox F3,Icecrypt S3500HDCCI, Technomate TM3000D,TM5400Ci Super, Samsung HD HDD Freesat Box,60cm dish for freesat, TD88 dish on a Skybox F3 57E to 45W.
My Location
South Leicestershire (Fleckney)
I'm planning to use them around my main focus on the td88 Timo,i agree totally with what you say about sensitivity. I find they are down against my icecrypts, but i'm interested in squeezing them in around 9E and around 19E mainly, the dish being centred either on 13E or 16E.
 

Piltdownpaul

No.1 Spike Milligan Fan
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
2,011
Reaction score
687
Points
113
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
Skybox F3,Icecrypt S3500HDCCI, Technomate TM3000D,TM5400Ci Super, Samsung HD HDD Freesat Box,60cm dish for freesat, TD88 dish on a Skybox F3 57E to 45W.
My Location
South Leicestershire (Fleckney)

RimaNTSS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
5,613
Reaction score
6,100
Points
113
Age
58
My Satellite Setup
Some SAT-related hardware.
My Location
N-E from Riga
timo_w2s said:
every time they got wet although placing a plastic cup over the feed horn helped a lot.
Or buy covers for them _http://www.devilcards.de/Sat-Antennen-Zubehoer/Multi-Focus-Spiegel/Maximum-Wetterschutz-fuer-2-LNBs::2859.html
I got 3 narrow quads many moons ago, just to use them on T90 for 4,8*E-7*E-9*E. Pretty satisfied with their performance. Did not make any comparisons versus another LNBs, but did not feel they are much worse. Majority of sats are so strong that sometimes loosing couple of % of signal really does not matter. For fringe reception, perhaps, more advanced LNBs needed.
 

Piltdownpaul

No.1 Spike Milligan Fan
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
2,011
Reaction score
687
Points
113
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
Skybox F3,Icecrypt S3500HDCCI, Technomate TM3000D,TM5400Ci Super, Samsung HD HDD Freesat Box,60cm dish for freesat, TD88 dish on a Skybox F3 57E to 45W.
My Location
South Leicestershire (Fleckney)
Analoguesat said:
Thats a nice tidy setup :)
Thanks AS, got another ordered so i could theorectically mount the 9 i have if i need them. 24 Quid with the mountings.
 

timo_w2s

Retired Mod
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,359
Reaction score
2,883
Points
113
Website
www.timo.me.uk
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
RimaNTSS said:
Or buy covers for them _www.devilcards.de/Sat-Antennen-Zubehoer/Multi-Focus-Spiegel/Maximum-Wetterschutz-fuer-2-LNBs::2859.html
Yes, they would be good and it did cross my mind at the time, although the plastic cup and a bit of duct tape was a much cheaper solution. ;)

But I'm working with dishes that are way too small due to the restrictions of my balcony and the right receiver and LNB combination can make the difference between a few channels and lots of channels.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
50,940
Reaction score
11,379
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
What disecq switch(es) are you using Martin?
 

Piltdownpaul

No.1 Spike Milligan Fan
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
2,011
Reaction score
687
Points
113
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
Skybox F3,Icecrypt S3500HDCCI, Technomate TM3000D,TM5400Ci Super, Samsung HD HDD Freesat Box,60cm dish for freesat, TD88 dish on a Skybox F3 57E to 45W.
My Location
South Leicestershire (Fleckney)

Piltdownpaul

No.1 Spike Milligan Fan
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
2,011
Reaction score
687
Points
113
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
Skybox F3,Icecrypt S3500HDCCI, Technomate TM3000D,TM5400Ci Super, Samsung HD HDD Freesat Box,60cm dish for freesat, TD88 dish on a Skybox F3 57E to 45W.
My Location
South Leicestershire (Fleckney)
Using a diseqc switch? I have the centauri 16/1 way- champion bit of kit.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
50,940
Reaction score
11,379
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
:-lmao

Oops - sorry. Had a moment of brain fade there!!
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
50,940
Reaction score
11,379
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Piltdownpaul said:
Using a diseqc switch? I have the centauri 16/1 way- champion bit of kit.

Ahah! Ive been looking for a new multiway disecq switch so I'll invest in one of them
 
Top