68.5 east - test setup

nelson_b

Contributor
Joined
Jul 27, 2008
Messages
1,831
Reaction score
1,754
Points
113
Age
70
My Satellite Setup
Strong 4375 driving a 2.4 m Channel Master dual focus offset + Invcom Quad C120 K/U l.n.b. + BSC 421 and Zinwell C band l.n.b.,s - DR HD F15 - TM5302 - Octagon SX88+Optima - GT Media V7 - HD receivers. + other dishes currently in use - Antique 3.0 m Prodelin P.F. - Channel Master 1.8 m offset - Channel Master. 1.2 m.
My Location
North West Yorkshire - near Lancashire & Cumbria borders.
hi folks -
yesteday was the first chance i,v had for a while to play with dishes :)
and although i,v received 68.5 east ok from here before - i had to setup a dish high on the garage roof to clear surrounding farm buildings -- or use a long cable run (65 metre of 125 grade)to get a full clear view

so using a 90cm prime focus dish thats been sitting unused for a while now ,
i decided to see if i could get this sat through a gap between the buildings ? pic 2 shows my estimate of the sat position .
the elevation for 68.5 is only 2.4 degrees from here which is enough to clear some hills about six miles away -- this all went well i,m glad to say - and although the signal is reduced somewhat by receiving through the gap, i,m getting most european beam t.p,s without any issues, (around 80 t.v.channels) its a pity the content isn,t more intersting though - :( although there,s a music video channel thats ok and a decent radio station too --- so worth leaving setup for a few days .

i was interested to see if i could receive ok through the gap and how much signal i might lose ,
because i possibly would like to try for C band from this sat using the 1.8 Alcoa dish ---
has anyone in the uk on the forum managed any C band from this sat ?

cheers - nelson.b.
 

Attachments

  • 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    253.5 KB · Views: 333
  • 2.JPG
    2.JPG
    28.1 KB · Views: 370
  • 3.jpg
    3.jpg
    189 KB · Views: 297

RimaNTSS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
5,141
Reaction score
5,485
Points
113
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
Some SAT-related hardware.
My Location
N-E from Riga
Not in UK, but anyway:
Just scanned 68,5*E in Ku band 68 services found. Signal is strong enough. Do not have ATM C-band LNB, but some time ago was able to receive only one frequency, do not remember signal level. Used 1,5m PFA.
 

Attachments

  • ScreenHunter_27 Mar. 21 19.00.jpg
    ScreenHunter_27 Mar. 21 19.00.jpg
    100.7 KB · Views: 157
  • ScreenHunter_27 Mar. 21 19.02.jpg
    ScreenHunter_27 Mar. 21 19.02.jpg
    26.1 KB · Views: 144

aceb

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 2, 2007
Messages
1,521
Reaction score
818
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Prof Tuner 7301 /
1.25m Gibertini + Inverto B.Ultra/C1W, Moteck H180, 68.5E-67W Ku/C-Band /
1.8m Precision PF + ESX241/Inverto Black Pro, 66E-63W Ku/C-band /
2.4m Fortec Star+Titanium C1W/Pride plate, 49E-58W
My Location
Sussex
Hi Nelson, not managed it here unfortunately. The 1.2 is the only dish that can see this bird and that is partially obscured, I get a lower signal than Mike did on his 85cm. It's actually got C band on it atm but although I've checked I can't see anything on the spectrum that looks vaguely like a transponder.
 

nelson_b

Contributor
Joined
Jul 27, 2008
Messages
1,831
Reaction score
1,754
Points
113
Age
70
My Satellite Setup
Strong 4375 driving a 2.4 m Channel Master dual focus offset + Invcom Quad C120 K/U l.n.b. + BSC 421 and Zinwell C band l.n.b.,s - DR HD F15 - TM5302 - Octagon SX88+Optima - GT Media V7 - HD receivers. + other dishes currently in use - Antique 3.0 m Prodelin P.F. - Channel Master 1.8 m offset - Channel Master. 1.2 m.
My Location
North West Yorkshire - near Lancashire & Cumbria borders.
thanks for the reply,s

@ rimaNTSS -- thanks for the info re C band -- your screenshot shows the k/u signal to be very good with you .

@ - aceb - it would be a lot of work to move the alcoa 1.8 just for a chance at 68.5 , -- and if i read lyngsat etc correctly - 1.8 is probably a minimum -
i used the F15 initially on the k/u/ 90 cm to test signal either side of the buildings - and with a clear view i got 7 - 8 db (the signal rises and falls)
through the gap i get 4 - 5 db -- thats probably too much loss --

regards --
 

Kveys

Regular Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2012
Messages
868
Reaction score
1,219
Points
93
Age
53
My Satellite Setup
125 Gibertini, Stab-120 (30W-86.5E), TM-F3/5/TM-5302HD+230Pf (C-band 40.5W-87.5E)
My Location
Southern Finland
Sorry nelson_b, me neither from UK but are you guys getting 11008V Mongolian mux? It would be new sat-country and I still hope these will be fta sometimes (not yet). Other channels (ku) using different beam and are much stronger than this.

NHK was watchable also here with 150 Gibby. It´s not strongest C-band channel here but surely easiest because of good FEC (1/2).

68.5 110.JPG 68.5 111.JPG
 

timo_w2s

Retired Mod
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,359
Reaction score
2,883
Points
113
Website
www.timo.me.uk
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
I managed to get the SABC channels some years ago in Finland on a temporary 1.8m just for fun but at my place in the UK there are just too many buildings and trees to get 68.5E.
 

Kveys

Regular Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2012
Messages
868
Reaction score
1,219
Points
93
Age
53
My Satellite Setup
125 Gibertini, Stab-120 (30W-86.5E), TM-F3/5/TM-5302HD+230Pf (C-band 40.5W-87.5E)
My Location
Southern Finland
I saw SABC channels earlier when they were different sat and beam here in 68.5E with 125 Gibby. In fact only mornings Ok watchable and disappeared during the day.
 

nelson_b

Contributor
Joined
Jul 27, 2008
Messages
1,831
Reaction score
1,754
Points
113
Age
70
My Satellite Setup
Strong 4375 driving a 2.4 m Channel Master dual focus offset + Invcom Quad C120 K/U l.n.b. + BSC 421 and Zinwell C band l.n.b.,s - DR HD F15 - TM5302 - Octagon SX88+Optima - GT Media V7 - HD receivers. + other dishes currently in use - Antique 3.0 m Prodelin P.F. - Channel Master 1.8 m offset - Channel Master. 1.2 m.
My Location
North West Yorkshire - near Lancashire & Cumbria borders.
Kveys said:
Sorry nelson_b, me neither from UK but are you guys getting 11008V Mongolian mux? It would be new sat-country and I still hope these will be fta sometimes (not yet).
hi - last night i tried for 11008V Mongolian mux (russian beam) very weak signal
but tonight i have occasional lock - using F15 ---
 

Attachments

  • ren tv.jpg
    ren tv.jpg
    128 KB · Views: 142

RimaNTSS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
5,141
Reaction score
5,485
Points
113
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
Some SAT-related hardware.
My Location
N-E from Riga
Kveys said:
are you guys getting 11008V Mongolian mux?
Yes, it is much weaker and nothing FTA :-wow
Background picture is from another channel.
 

Attachments

  • ScreenHunter_27 Mar. 21 22.31.jpg
    ScreenHunter_27 Mar. 21 22.31.jpg
    43.7 KB · Views: 125

RimaNTSS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
5,141
Reaction score
5,485
Points
113
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
Some SAT-related hardware.
My Location
N-E from Riga
Made a blindscan. There are 12 transponders. Two of them (12630 V and 11547 H) without any channels. And then there are couple of frequencies have weaker signals.
 

Attachments

  • ScreenHunter_27 Mar. 21 22.53.jpg
    ScreenHunter_27 Mar. 21 22.53.jpg
    52.9 KB · Views: 124
  • ScreenHunter_27 Mar. 21 23.20.jpg
    ScreenHunter_27 Mar. 21 23.20.jpg
    128.6 KB · Views: 146
  • ScreenHunter_27 Mar. 21 23.25.jpg
    ScreenHunter_27 Mar. 21 23.25.jpg
    110 KB · Views: 143

hvdh

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
2,226
Reaction score
3,114
Points
113
Age
57
Website
gso-satellites.nl
My Satellite Setup
Dr.HD F16, TBS 5927, T-55, Laminas 120 cm
My Location
Oss, NL (5.5°E 51.8°N)
The Mongolian mux DOES have something FTA! Check out Radio 5.
Never managed to hear the station name, there is a challenge here!
The soundquality is awfully noisy sometimes.

Something strange about it is, I need to restart the F16 to hear the sound.
And restart it again to get the sound back on other channels.
 

nelson_b

Contributor
Joined
Jul 27, 2008
Messages
1,831
Reaction score
1,754
Points
113
Age
70
My Satellite Setup
Strong 4375 driving a 2.4 m Channel Master dual focus offset + Invcom Quad C120 K/U l.n.b. + BSC 421 and Zinwell C band l.n.b.,s - DR HD F15 - TM5302 - Octagon SX88+Optima - GT Media V7 - HD receivers. + other dishes currently in use - Antique 3.0 m Prodelin P.F. - Channel Master 1.8 m offset - Channel Master. 1.2 m.
My Location
North West Yorkshire - near Lancashire & Cumbria borders.
hvdh said:
The Mongolian mux DOES have something FTA! Check out Radio 5.
Never managed to hear the station name, there is a challenge here!
The soundquality is awfully noisy sometimes.

Something strange about it is, I need to restart the F16 to hear the sound.
And restart it again to get the sound back on other channels.
will check this out - if the t.p will stay locked for long enough .

had to take the temporary dish setup down last night due to the strong winds here .
a pity , as the signal strengths, early evening last night, were very good here .
i have a 90 c.m. fibo dish in the garage -- think i may try with that next time i setup for this sat

regards --
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,216
Reaction score
7,464
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Not getting that Mongolian mux here - although every other TP on that satellite comes in loud and clear!
 

RimaNTSS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
5,141
Reaction score
5,485
Points
113
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
Some SAT-related hardware.
My Location
N-E from Riga
hvdh said:
The Mongolian mux DOES have something FTA! Check out Radio 5.
I checked that radio early morning, really crappy sound with 96 kbit/s audio bitrate.
 

aceb

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 2, 2007
Messages
1,521
Reaction score
818
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Prof Tuner 7301 /
1.25m Gibertini + Inverto B.Ultra/C1W, Moteck H180, 68.5E-67W Ku/C-Band /
1.8m Precision PF + ESX241/Inverto Black Pro, 66E-63W Ku/C-band /
2.4m Fortec Star+Titanium C1W/Pride plate, 49E-58W
My Location
Sussex
Captain Jack said:
Not getting that Mongolian mux here - although every other TP on that satellite comes in loud and clear!
I'll give him along the road a poke on Skype, see if he can get it :)
 

aceb

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 2, 2007
Messages
1,521
Reaction score
818
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Prof Tuner 7301 /
1.25m Gibertini + Inverto B.Ultra/C1W, Moteck H180, 68.5E-67W Ku/C-Band /
1.8m Precision PF + ESX241/Inverto Black Pro, 66E-63W Ku/C-band /
2.4m Fortec Star+Titanium C1W/Pride plate, 49E-58W
My Location
Sussex
Had a brief message from him about the MNG signal, Godsquad transponders are 100% Q on the 6925, Mongolia down around 40-60% and with terrible audio. Will wait for some clear skies tomorrow PM if the forecast is accurate and try again with more accurate scans.
 

nelson_b

Contributor
Joined
Jul 27, 2008
Messages
1,831
Reaction score
1,754
Points
113
Age
70
My Satellite Setup
Strong 4375 driving a 2.4 m Channel Master dual focus offset + Invcom Quad C120 K/U l.n.b. + BSC 421 and Zinwell C band l.n.b.,s - DR HD F15 - TM5302 - Octagon SX88+Optima - GT Media V7 - HD receivers. + other dishes currently in use - Antique 3.0 m Prodelin P.F. - Channel Master 1.8 m offset - Channel Master. 1.2 m.
My Location
North West Yorkshire - near Lancashire & Cumbria borders.
aceb said:
Had a brief message from him about the MNG signal, Godsquad transponders are 100% Q on the 6925, Mongolia down around 40-60% and with terrible audio. Will wait for some clear skies tomorrow PM if the forecast is accurate and try again with more accurate scans.

hi -
had some time to spare yesterday - whilst waiting for the dishwasher repair man - l.o.l.
so set a dish up again - as the wind has eased a bit now --
used a 1 metre c.m. this time -- much improved signal,over that 90c.m. prime focus -
mongolian t.p. holding a better lock - still getting dropouts but the weather is poor here cloud and light snow flurries, and at 2.4 elevation its to be expected i guess . :)
will keep this setup over easter now i think -- and if i get the chance i will "borrow " the 1.2 dish-face as it will bolt staight on to this mount and setup C band on it - i dont expect to see any channels -
but i,m interested to see if there is any sign of t.p. activity, with a view to importing the 1.8 Alcoa down to this site for a test sometime in the future.
i,v always wanted to see something in C band from this sat :D

regards ---
 

Attachments

  • cm 1 metre.jpg
    cm 1 metre.jpg
    310 KB · Views: 209
  • 11008 tp 1.jpg
    11008 tp 1.jpg
    175.5 KB · Views: 185

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,216
Reaction score
7,464
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
I was getting intermittent lock on that Mongolian to this morning on my Penta...drifting in and out. That's a very low dish! If you put the 1.2m there you'll have to turn it upside down.
 

nelson_b

Contributor
Joined
Jul 27, 2008
Messages
1,831
Reaction score
1,754
Points
113
Age
70
My Satellite Setup
Strong 4375 driving a 2.4 m Channel Master dual focus offset + Invcom Quad C120 K/U l.n.b. + BSC 421 and Zinwell C band l.n.b.,s - DR HD F15 - TM5302 - Octagon SX88+Optima - GT Media V7 - HD receivers. + other dishes currently in use - Antique 3.0 m Prodelin P.F. - Channel Master 1.8 m offset - Channel Master. 1.2 m.
My Location
North West Yorkshire - near Lancashire & Cumbria borders.
Captain Jack said:
I was getting intermittent lock on that Mongolian to this morning on my Penta...drifting in and out. That's a very low dish! If you put the 1.2m there you'll have to turn it upside down.
yes - CJ
i used to get drifting in and out alot with the 80 x 90cm i used a couple of years ago -- even in good clear weather on the strong signals .
your elevation to this sat should be quite a bit better than mine though - from your location .

you made me doubt about getting the 1.2 dish face on there -- so just been to have another measure up - l.o.l.
i should just get it though ( i hope ) - but it wouldn,t be the first time i,ve got it wrong :)

cheers ----
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,216
Reaction score
7,464
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
All other Ku TPs on that satellite are fine - it's just the Mongolian one that's rather weak.

I remember you putting your 1.2m dish on the same mount for C band when you were testing 49E and you couldn't get the elevation low enough for satellites beyond 57E. That's why I mentioned it :)
 
Top