Adding satellites

philtivvy

Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
80
My Satellite Setup
comag portable system
My Location
uk
Hi
This is my first time out having just bought a portable system for use in my caravan. It is quite possible I am in the wrong forum if so please redirect me.
The problem:-
The receiver for this system is a Comag SL 65/12 and the user manual states that in addition to the preprogrammed satellites it is possible to add new ones, but fails to say how this is done.
I wish to add Eurobird to the list of available satellites and would be grateful for a simple step by step program on how to do it.
Please note the simple in the middle. My knowledge of radio/tv/satellites is close to zero.
regards
phil
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,080
Reaction score
1,455
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Eurobird at 28.5 degrees East should be included under the Astra 2 banner.
 

philtivvy

Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
80
My Satellite Setup
comag portable system
My Location
uk
Hi Rolf
Thanks for the reply.
I have searched all the preinstalled channels on my receiver and cannot find any which were included in a list of eurobird channels which I found elsewhere on the net.
I am assuming that I need to do something to get these additional channels.
The preprogrammed satellites are
Astra 19 East
Hotbird 13E
Turksat 42E
Sirius2 5E
Amos 4W/Atlantic4-5W
Astra2 28 East
Eutel W2 16E
AtlanticBird3
HispaSat 30 W
HellasSat 39E
Astra 23 5E
These satellites appear to have between them some 800 channels, 795 of which are of no immediate use to me.
The user manual says the device can store 4500 channels so this should not be a problem.
What I am looking for is a simply described procedure for tuning in Eurobird.
regards
phil
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,080
Reaction score
1,455
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
What satellite is your dish pointing at right now?

Eurobird is co-located with Astra 2, so find one and you find the other, you may need to add a couple of transponder frequencies, but normally the Astra 2 satellites listing has the Eurobird ones as well.

_http://www.lyngsat.com/28east.html
 

philtivvy

Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
80
My Satellite Setup
comag portable system
My Location
uk
Hi Rolf
My dish is pointed at Astra 2.
I think the answer lies in the missing transponder freqencies.
How do I go about adding these?
Regards
phil
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,080
Reaction score
1,455
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Do you have a menu option called transponder edit?
 

philtivvy

Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
80
My Satellite Setup
comag portable system
My Location
uk
Hi Rolf
There is a menu called <Table for the TP index> and in that table is an item <Add> with the description <Create new transponder frequency>.
Is this what you mean?
regards
phil
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,080
Reaction score
1,455
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Yep, that's it. :) You will need to add the frequency, polarity and symbol rate (22000 or 27500), possibly also the FEC rate, it is expressed as a fraction 2/3, 5/6 etc. :)
 

philtivvy

Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
80
My Satellite Setup
comag portable system
My Location
uk
Hi Rolf
Thanks for the quick reply.
Where do I find the info that needs to be added?
Cheers
phil
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
15,486
Reaction score
3,757
Points
113
Age
78
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
Take your pick from these -

_www.lyngsat.com/eb1.html

Llew
 

philtivvy

Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
80
My Satellite Setup
comag portable system
My Location
uk
Hi Llew
Thanks
It will take some time to assemble the set in the caravan but when I have tried it I will let you know how I got on.
regards
phil
 

philtivvy

Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
80
My Satellite Setup
comag portable system
My Location
uk
Hi
I have looked at the link you gave and immediately came stuck.
OK on symbol rate and FEC but could find only <Transponder C5-11.390>, would this be the frequency? Could not find any reference to <Polarity>, is it important?
I was brought up in the days when the only transmissions readily available came from the BBC and find todays technology hard to grasp but please bear with me.
regards
phil
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,033
Reaction score
382
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
East Midlands, UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
From 11.222h to 12.643h as stated below

_http://www.lyngsat.com/eb1.html :D

Full list of transponders from the 28e slot : _http://www.flysat.com/28east.php OR _http://www.lyngsat.com/28east.html
 

philtivvy

Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
80
My Satellite Setup
comag portable system
My Location
uk
Hi Satelliteman
The site you gave me seems more comprehensible.
Thanks
phil
 
Top