Additional Receiver for my system

Riverblue

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Near Brighton
I've had my set up for a few months now, and I'm very pleased with it. I always had the intention of adding another receiver and all cabling is installed and connected to the lnb. I am after a single HD tuner, possibly linux based, PVR via USB, price £100/£200, sensitive tuner if possible. I've tuned in my dish, to what I think , is the max I can get. I have no experience of linux or other receivers apart from those I currently own, but having read many articles/threads about various topics feel confident that (with some help from this forum) I can cope. I would like to be able to "tinker" more with the receiver ie; BISS keys, more options with bird scanning/tp's/frequencies/fec/modulation etc, program info/listing/epg. Basically I'm looking for a bit more of a challenge than my Protek (which is quite basic) but, still doable! Many thanks for any input or opinions :D

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Skybox F3 will give you a good HD box that can make use of BISS keys and has USB PVR.

And they are only £50.

Some of your other requirements won't be met though!

Riverblue

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Near Brighton
Skybox F3 will give you a good HD box that can make use of BISS keys and has USB PVR.

And they are only £50.

Some of your other requirements won't be met though!
As I am newish to this I am open to all suggestions and feedback, but I would like to meet all of my requirements ( if possible! ) especially the additional "tinkering" aspect.

Riverblue

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Near Brighton