Another frustrating set up problem

Marcas

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Fracarro penta 85cm dish, motek motor and Technomate 5200D receiver
My Location
Belfast
I am relatively new to satellite and have got some very useful advice on this forum to date. I have been using an old Sky dish and a cheap Metronic Touch Box 4 receiver from Maplins to get started and managed to get The 19E Astra Satellite and Hotbird in Belfast with that setup. Having looked at the recommendations of the forum I bought a Motek motor and an 85cm penta dish which came with a 0.6LNB of the same make. I haven't tried the motor yet, but can't get much improvement over my original setup with the bigger dish. I had hoped to be able to get the Atlantic Bird Satellite as I've been learning French for many years, but the closest I have come, even after spending many hours with a sat finder, is Sirius 2 on 4E. Any ideas what I'm doing wrong? Could it be the LNB or the receiver or is it just inexperience?

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
Northants, Midlands UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
Hi,

A good choice of satellite equipment.

The Penta 85cm high quality dish will perform much better than a 60cm standard dish.

Maybe your set up /alignment is not correct.

SM :)

Marcas

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
My Location
Belfast
Thanks for the response. Do you think I need to change the lnb or receiver? It also seems to be possible to move the LNB back and forward by a few centimetres. Is adjustment here critical?

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
Hi, this adjustment wouldn't make much difference at all really, it's called F/D.

I suggest starting a fresh with the motor and follow the installation guides.

> Use dishpointer.com to obtain your longitude & latitude.
> Your reference satellite will be 5W of which is your starting point.