Are Both Amazonas 2 & 3 at the same location ?

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,663
Points
113
Age
66
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
I'm puzzled by this ..
I know there used to be a data transponder only at this extreme west location ..
but having centred up Amazonas3 12642 H ...I now find there is a large spike several clicks west of this 11468H to be precise
SR17867 ..32PSK sometimes
Blank carrier ..nothing showing up with the TBS card ..
So perhaps this transponder is on Amazonas 2 ...and the 2 sats aren't co located ...exactly at 61W
Here is a picture of the spike ????

Also worth mentioning the 12642H and 12522H (Amazonas 3) are nowhere to be seen when I'm centred on the spike.
rgds
VS
 

Attachments

  • unknown spike.JPG
    unknown spike.JPG
    136.6 KB · Views: 90
Last edited:

Fisty McB

Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2012
Messages
440
Reaction score
644
Points
93
My Satellite Setup
See my signature...
My Location
County Tyrone, N. Ireland
Just a guess, but could the "spike" be Telstar at 63 west?
It has an "Atlantic" beam which IIRC is the furthest domestic satellite west to have a Ku beam intended to cover at least part of Europe.
 

hvdh

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
2,371
Reaction score
3,357
Points
113
Age
60
Website
gso-satellites.nl
My Satellite Setup
Dr.HD F16, TBS 5927, T-55, Laminas 120 cm
My Location
Oss, NL (5.5°E 51.8°N)
Yes that's Telstar 14R at 63.0 West, that MIS transponder is reported by others already.
Sometimes you might catch a frame of some TV station (meant for Transatlantic travellers) .

Had you checked my page, it's clear in a glance that frequency can only be Telstar 14R! :)
http://members.ziggo.nl/hvdh16/Sats/Sats.htm
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,663
Points
113
Age
66
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
Thanks guys ..Telstar 14R eh ...
Quite a catch for me and proves I'm following the arc quite well with Carl my 1.5m Fortec Star.
rgds
VS
 

Captain Jack

Retired human
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,832
Reaction score
8,017
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Furthest west anyone has ever been in UK! I do have visibility of 63W from my garden but not where my dish is.

Nice catch.
 

hvdh

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
2,371
Reaction score
3,357
Points
113
Age
60
Website
gso-satellites.nl
My Satellite Setup
Dr.HD F16, TBS 5927, T-55, Laminas 120 cm
My Location
Oss, NL (5.5°E 51.8°N)
I let my list go all the way to 80 West for you guys, otherwise 70 West would be enough here on the continent. ;)
Here is definitely a challenge! Maybe the three Star One's at 65, 70 or 75 West have some leakage outside their footprints?
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,663
Points
113
Age
66
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
Now it's daylight I can take this shot from an upstairs room ...ie Mission Control ;)
Shows Carl pointing at 63 West ..and once again ...peeping over fences..
He's being both Nosey and Neighbourly..
:)
rgds
VS
 

Attachments

  • DSCF0135.JPG
    DSCF0135.JPG
    317 KB · Views: 101

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,663
Points
113
Age
66
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
Ok ...did a blindscan of Telstar14R ...and was surprised as 2 more transponders popped up ..
Both are currently blank or carrying data the Analyser can't interpret..
So that makes 3 in Horizontal
11468H
11662H
11680H
the images are attached
rgds
VS
 

Attachments

  • Telsar 14R.JPG
    Telsar 14R.JPG
    74.7 KB · Views: 72
  • Telstar 14R a.JPG
    Telstar 14R a.JPG
    91.3 KB · Views: 65
  • Telstar 14R b.JPG
    Telstar 14R b.JPG
    87.2 KB · Views: 59
  • Telstar 14R c.JPG
    Telstar 14R c.JPG
    89.5 KB · Views: 68

pride21

Regular Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2006
Messages
611
Reaction score
443
Points
63
Age
79
My Satellite Setup
150cm gibertini dish,echostar 8700 analogue receiver to move dish,motor jaeger 1224,also black ultra ku lnb and esx241 c-band lnbf and technomate 5402hd ci+ super also added a Dr HD f15 receiver
My Location
Sandown Isle of Wight
hi VS it looks like telstar at 63W I got a data channel on 11667H sr5000 also 11468H sr22000,when I scanned this sat on the horizontal I got two transponders which went up to 98% quality but did not lock so no sr
 

pride21

Regular Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2006
Messages
611
Reaction score
443
Points
63
Age
79
My Satellite Setup
150cm gibertini dish,echostar 8700 analogue receiver to move dish,motor jaeger 1224,also black ultra ku lnb and esx241 c-band lnbf and technomate 5402hd ci+ super also added a Dr HD f15 receiver
My Location
Sandown Isle of Wight
hi hvdh I tried sats at 65W and 67W with Ku and c-band but no luck
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,663
Points
113
Age
66
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
hi hvdh I tried sats at 65W and 67W with Ku and c-band but no luck
I suspect you were pushing your luck there buddy..
Unless of course they _do_ have European beams..
No chance with the tight conus dth beams ..
Still at least we can push a bit further West now..
rgds
VS
 

hvdh

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
2,371
Reaction score
3,357
Points
113
Age
60
Website
gso-satellites.nl
My Satellite Setup
Dr.HD F16, TBS 5927, T-55, Laminas 120 cm
My Location
Oss, NL (5.5°E 51.8°N)
I guess it won't be as easy as Telstar 14R since all footprints beyond 63 West aim for the Americas.
But especially C-band often cover a whole continent and the footprint maps won't bother about minor sidelobes that may reach into Europe.
Note that 70 West Star One C2 still uses some Analogue (PAL)!
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,105
Reaction score
8,687
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Shows Carl pointing at 63 West ..and once again ...peeping over fences..
He's being both Nosey and Neighbourly..

May I suggest you rename him "Chad" .................. ???
 

pride21

Regular Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2006
Messages
611
Reaction score
443
Points
63
Age
79
My Satellite Setup
150cm gibertini dish,echostar 8700 analogue receiver to move dish,motor jaeger 1224,also black ultra ku lnb and esx241 c-band lnbf and technomate 5402hd ci+ super also added a Dr HD f15 receiver
My Location
Sandown Isle of Wight
Hi VS I did a slow scan on Telstar 14R the transponder 11468H sr22000 I have changed the sr to 17867 and now it comes in at 96% quality no lock,11662H sr 1500 comes in at 71% no lock,11667H sr 5000 comes in at 62% locked,11680H sr 13500 comes in at 76% no lock,i also picked up 11634H 18000 at 92% no lock and there is a transponder at around 11713H at 78% but cannot find the sr when you have time could you please check these transponders.cheers
 

hvdh

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
2,371
Reaction score
3,357
Points
113
Age
60
Website
gso-satellites.nl
My Satellite Setup
Dr.HD F16, TBS 5927, T-55, Laminas 120 cm
My Location
Oss, NL (5.5°E 51.8°N)
That 11713 H is totally odd and I would chase it endlessly, if it really comes from 63 West!
Could only be US beam or Brazil beam.

If it were from the neighbours at 61 or 65 West, would also be amazing!
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,663
Points
113
Age
66
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
Hi VS I did a slow scan on Telstar 14R the transponder 11468H sr22000 I have changed the sr to 17867 and now it comes in at 96% quality no lock,11662H sr 1500 comes in at 71% no lock,11667H sr 5000 comes in at 62% locked,11680H sr 13500 comes in at 76% no lock,i also picked up 11634H 18000 at 92% no lock and there is a transponder at around 11713H at 78% but cannot find the sr when you have time could you please check these transponders.cheers
Yes I can see the transponder at 11634H ...getting a good 10db here ..but no lock..
The TBS card is making no sense of it..
No sign at all of the other one 11713H ..not even a hint.
rgds
VS
 

Costactc

Regular Member
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
811
Reaction score
763
Points
93
Age
58
My Satellite Setup
3m channel master mesh-24" vonweise actuator-ps1 x2 lnbf(L)-pansat ap3500 positioner-x2 premium III-vu+solo2.
2.4m fortec solid-24" vonweise actuator-esx 241 lnbf(c)-vbox 7 positioner- dm800.
1.2m fortec-24"sj actuator-invacom snh-031--tm 5402 m3.
My Location
Canada
I'm amazed that you peeps are picking anything up on T14 from your neck of the woods as this sat footprint is mainly for South and Central Ameica. A couple of years back there used to be a Pbs mux that was attainable here in North America but it just disappeared and I haven't seen anything since. I get a lock on the 11668 tp but not enough signal quality for a lock on the others, this is with a crippled motor that I have to have changed this Spring.
 

lovelyperson

Dreamer
Joined
Sep 8, 2004
Messages
1,035
Reaction score
1,859
Points
113
Location
Alicante, España
My Satellite Setup
2.0m PF dish
1.8m PF Famaval
1.8m PF Marrafa
1.4m Tecatel offset
1.2m dish + Stab HH120
TBS 5925 USB
Octagon SF8008 4k Twin + SF8008 SUPREME + Uclan Ustym 4K PRO Twin
GTMedia V8 UHD
GTMedia GTcombo x 2
Goldmaster SR525 HD
Geant-OTT 750 ALLURE EVO 4K + Sat-illimitè F300 hyper
62.0ºE - 63.0ºW
My Location
Alicante, España
Yes I can see the transponder at 11634H ...getting a good 10db here ..but no lock..
The TBS card is making no sense of it..
No sign at all of the other one 11713H ..not even a hint.
rgds
VS


Thanks,
Alicante, España---1.2m.......scan today at 16.00hrs revealed:-


63.0ºW   05-03-2014 16.00hrs.JPG

Still interesting.

Best wishes
 

Fisty McB

Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2012
Messages
440
Reaction score
644
Points
93
My Satellite Setup
See my signature...
My Location
County Tyrone, N. Ireland
The beam that can be received in Europe, at least without massive dishes, from Telstar 14R is the North Atlantic Region KuBand beam with an EIRP in the UK of 45dbw though it might be a bit low on the horizon for those in eastern parts of the country. There's no standard TV or radio broadcasts on that beam presently that I know of.

http://www.telesat.com/our-fleet#telstar-14r
 
Top