Astra 28 In Kuwait

icecube

Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2011
Messages
18
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
47
My Satellite Setup
CM 1.8
My Location
Kuwait
yesterday i managed to get astra 28 on old 1.8m chanel master in Kuwait.
17 channels from 2a north europe
but the signal is not that good
is it because of the LNB that i am using?
 

excollier

Bikes, Booze, Rock & Blues
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
962
Reaction score
469
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
TD 64 and Humax Foxsat HDR with Raydon's custom firmware
My Location
County Donegal - furthest outpost of the EUSSR
It's more likely that you are on the extreme edge of the footprint.
You probably need a much bigger dish - size matters.
 

smoggy07

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2008
Messages
945
Reaction score
384
Points
63
Age
40
My Satellite Setup
Sky minidish and Sky + HD 250gig Anytime+ box with full ish appart from sports and movies, Dreambox DM500s clone (Pli Jade3 max var F/W), Motorised 1.1Meter Dish
My Location
middlesbrough, teesside, northeast coast, uk
WOW!!!! Well done you ;o)

What channels are you getting and are the channels locked and watchable?

I am very very surprised you can get 28 at your locations, especially since people closer to the footprint (in Europe) are having problems getting signal fron the 28E location
 

Captain Jack

Burnt out human
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,791
Reaction score
7,976
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
The LNB looks OK but not sure of its performance compared to others out there. Perhaps a matched Channel Master feedhorn will help.

The most likely reason for low signal and number of channels is a grossly undersized dish. Kuwait is way outside 28E's cluster of footprints.
 

icecube

Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2011
Messages
18
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
47
My Satellite Setup
CM 1.8
My Location
Kuwait
Thanks
the channels are watchable , they do break in the afternoon but at night the signal is good and the picture never breaks,
i placed an order for a matched feedhorn and c120
i can get



 

wod

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2005
Messages
4,213
Reaction score
238
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
1m channel master, jaeger smr1224, Inverto black ultra twin, technomate tm-1500ci, broken receiver vantage x221ci, New additions Skybox F5s and technomate tm-5402 HD arriving soon.
My Location
yorkshire
Wouldn't have thought you would get anything on a dish smaller than 3.5m.

Get a channel master feed and a decent c120 lnb on the dish.

What satellites can you get on the dish, is it motorised ?
 

icecube

Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2011
Messages
18
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
47
My Satellite Setup
CM 1.8
My Location
Kuwait
I can get most of the sarellites from 105e to 30w
No its not motorized.
The lnb that i am using made for prime focus. Maybe thats the problem ?
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,068
Reaction score
8,661
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
So if it isn't motorised and you have a single LNB, how do you get more than one Satellite?

Is the dish hand-cranked for Azimuth and Elevation?
 

icecube

Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2011
Messages
18
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
47
My Satellite Setup
CM 1.8
My Location
Kuwait
Yes its hand crancked.
So if i want to change sat i have to spend at least an hour on the roof to change position.
 

wod

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2005
Messages
4,213
Reaction score
238
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
1m channel master, jaeger smr1224, Inverto black ultra twin, technomate tm-1500ci, broken receiver vantage x221ci, New additions Skybox F5s and technomate tm-5402 HD arriving soon.
My Location
yorkshire
icecube said:
The lnb that i am using made for prime focus. Maybe thats the problem ?

Yes this won't help but beware though changing the lnb and using the matched feed will only just probably make the channels you get on 28e a little stronger or not.
 

kungu

Regular Member
Joined
May 24, 2009
Messages
63
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Age
48
My Satellite Setup
2.4 M offset dish, 1.5 offset dish, 2.4 m prime focus dish 1.8 meter prime focus dish, Lnbs-- Inverto sliver tech quad, Inverto ultra black quad, invercom quad + 120 attachment, Receivers-- Strong 4010 hd, Dreambox 800 Hd, Dreamworld DM750 Hd, Vanta
My Location
Africa, kenya, Limuru
icecube said:
yesterday i managed to get astra 28 on old 1.8m chanel master in Kuwait.
17 channels from 2a north europe
but the signal is not that good
is it because of the LNB that i am using?

Good Afternoon Icecube,

Congrats on your achievement.

The StarGold Fuji lnb you are using is meant for use on a Prime focus Dish.

I would suggest you use the normal offset ku lnb on your setup as your chanel master dish is also offset.

Try and report back with your findings.
 

Hixxy1

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
457
Reaction score
111
Points
43
My Satellite Setup
DM800/7020Si/7000S, VU+ Duo, Skybox F3 & F5, TM1000D, Skystar 2 DVBdream, Triax TD110, Darkmotor, Inverto Black, Hotbird 13 Zone 2 MK 4, 28.2 Zone 1 MK4
My Location
East Midlands
Excellent catch icecube. Goes to show what can be achieved with a bit of perseverance. As for lnbs either a matched offset feedhorn or an Inverto black ultra should help. Just out of interest the skew angle of the lnb in the pictures looks way off as you're still in the northern hemisphere or is it pointing at a different sat in the pictures?
 

icecube

Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2011
Messages
18
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
47
My Satellite Setup
CM 1.8
My Location
Kuwait
kungu , Hixxy1 Good Afternoon and thanks,
i guess ill have to wait for the feedhorn and lnb to arrive it should take less than 10 days :(
i cant use any other lnb because the lnb holder made for 23mm not 40mm .
at the picture the sat pointing to 28 , i tryed to change the skew angle but i keep on losing signal , this is the best position .
where should it be ? now its pointing at 5 o'clock.
 

Hixxy1

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
457
Reaction score
111
Points
43
My Satellite Setup
DM800/7020Si/7000S, VU+ Duo, Skybox F3 & F5, TM1000D, Skystar 2 DVBdream, Triax TD110, Darkmotor, Inverto Black, Hotbird 13 Zone 2 MK 4, 28.2 Zone 1 MK4
My Location
East Midlands
Good Afternoon icecube.
I would have thought the lnb would need rotating 90 degrees clockwise so that the bottom is at 7 o'clock rather than 5, but if that's the best position for you then I'd leave it there.
Also if you're running a long coax feed, good quality coax cable will help a bit.
As excollier stated in the second post, to get a big improvement you'll need a much larger dish but I'm still impressed by what you're picking up.
Hopefully you'll get your lnb & feedhorn in less than 10 days :)

Hixxy
 

BM300

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2007
Messages
207
Reaction score
80
Points
28
Age
58
My Satellite Setup
Dreambox 7000, 7020, 800HD
HD-USB
8 Dishes
My Location
UAE
kungu said:
Good Afternoon Icecube,

Congrats on your achievement.

The StarGold Fuji lnb you are using is meant for use on a Prime focus Dish.

I would suggest you use the normal offset ku lnb on your setup as your chanel master dish is also offset.

Try and report back with your findings.

kungu is right.
I have also noticed that you are using an LNB made for prime focus dish on an ofset dish.
This is not the most effecient combination.

Try using an LNB that matches your dish, may be an inverto black.
You would then have a more stable image.
A larger dish will surely improve the quality of the channels and maybe even more.
This side-lobe is also receivable in Bahrain.
 

icecube

Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2011
Messages
18
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
47
My Satellite Setup
CM 1.8
My Location
Kuwait
yes i am waiting for the feed horn to arrive .
today i was checking Dishpointer
i decided to use the inclinometer app in my phone
so according to the web site Elevation should be 49.5
azimuth 216.5

my reading was elevation 25 , azimuth 240 !
is it because of the feed horn ? maybe its not pointed correctly ?
 

DragonSat

Regular Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2010
Messages
135
Reaction score
5
Points
18
Age
49
My Satellite Setup
Sky+HD (DRX890C with 2TB Drive) connected to a boring basic sky dish
BFBS - Not yet connected
AFN - Not yet connected
Sky ITA - Not yet connected
My Location
York
The offset of the dish will add 20 or so degrees to your elevation. The azimuth could well be right, as the calculated is based on a true bearing, but your phone will be using a magnetic bearing, the 2 are different. Also the metal in the dish will put off your compass in the phone too.
 

iandoh

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
307
Reaction score
64
Points
28
Age
33
Location
Pärnu. Estonia/Burgas, Bulgaria
My Satellite Setup
1m Mutlibracket (19e, 13e, 10e, 9e, 4.8e) & 1.2m @ 28e
My Location
Pärnu. Estonia/Burgas, Bulgaria
Just wanted to point out that these two transponders are the strongest at 28e. That is likely why you are getting them.
 

icecube

Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2011
Messages
18
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
47
My Satellite Setup
CM 1.8
My Location
Kuwait
yesterday i decided to move the dish from its current location because the wall was blocking half the dish
so i moved the dish to a higher place ,with clear sky view.
and the result was amazing , i am getting more channels now the signal is mid 30's almost all the time
still waiting for the LNB to arrive , maybe i ll get better result with the new lnb and feed horn.
[URL=http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/29/20120903172736.png/] [/URL]
[URL=http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/594/20120903173040.png/] [/URL]
 

icecube

Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2011
Messages
18
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
47
My Satellite Setup
CM 1.8
My Location
Kuwait
View attachment 44462today i received the LNB and feed horn....
and the result was AMAZING.... the signal jumped to 45-50
and now i can get 105 channels ..
some of the new channels are weak 23-26
but that's great i can get skysport ant sky f1 .
now i should upgrade to channel master 2.4m .
_http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/43/20120904185228.jpg

Please upload your images, do not link to them. Admin
 
Top