Astra 2E launch may be delayed (Proton M Launch Failure: Merged)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,318
Reaction score
9,950
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
2E is due to launch on a Proton from Baikonur early next year.

However last nights Yamal 402 launch on an identical Proton was a partial failure - the final stage didnt perform correctly (again!) and has left the bird stranded in a useless orbit.

There are always failure review boards after these events which delay subsequent launches. I cant see the December 27th Satmex 8 launch going ahead now, and that will impact on the Anik G1, Eutel 7B, & Express AM5 launches. All these are in the Baikonur queue before 2E.

So do SES wait for a delayed Proton slot, or do they try to slot 2E onto a Ariane????
 

C0re

Specialist contributor
Joined
Oct 28, 2011
Messages
461
Reaction score
121
Points
43
Age
40
Location
Ede
My Satellite Setup
Technisat Multytenne 28/23/19/13 E
VU+ Solo SE
My Location
Gelderland, The Netherlands
Therefore probably more expensive...
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,318
Reaction score
9,950
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Last rtime Ariane dropped a bird it was Stentor/Hottie 7 in 2002 on flight v157
 

andrewcrawford

Regular Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2011
Messages
272
Reaction score
10
Points
18
Age
39
Website
www.computersupportservicescs.co.uk
My Satellite Setup
Dual DVB-2S computer system and DUal Qbox HD Mini with oscam
My Location
scotland
C0re said:
Therefore probably more expensive...
yip and if they choose ariane again that will say something that there needing either 2e there asap because of 2a or 2b failing or because they need those two as backup somewhere else one of the birds might be failing, or any the other birds they have there just temporary as back to 2a/2b/1n and 2f jsut now
 

dxhound2003

Regular Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2006
Messages
604
Reaction score
162
Points
43
Age
65
My Satellite Setup
Az Box Premium.
Triax 110 cm dish motorised.
Black Ultra LNB. Nov 2011 DrD F15.
My Location
Dundalk Ireland
The other thread about Yamal is saying it's orbit is going to be corrected but it will result in a shorter lifespan.
 

andrewcrawford

Regular Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2011
Messages
272
Reaction score
10
Points
18
Age
39
Website
www.computersupportservicescs.co.uk
My Satellite Setup
Dual DVB-2S computer system and DUal Qbox HD Mini with oscam
My Location
scotland
dxhound2003 said:
The other thread about Yamal is saying it's orbit is going to be corrected but it will result in a shorter lifespan.
yeah i wouldnt expect a bird to have it same lifespan if they have to use more fuel to correct it orbit, that why if they develop a bird that could correct itself via eletrcity from solar panels they might be in luck
 

solly

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 18, 2004
Messages
5,235
Reaction score
3,073
Points
113
Age
51
My Location
Tel Aviv, Israel
will be next few days more info about proton scedual launch what will be
if it delyed launch can be month or more to found problem from roket
let hope not change time of launch
 

Gunes

Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2008
Messages
42
Reaction score
15
Points
8
My Satellite Setup
CT HD4100
My Location
.
Express-AM5 launch is not expected before 2E.
2E possibliy will shift April or May.
Ariane backlog is full until September 2013.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,318
Reaction score
9,950
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
It will cause delays solly - there wont be any more Proton launches until the cause has been determined by the Failure Review Board.

And they need to look at this carefully as this is the third faulty launch caused by Breeze M problems in 18 months

August 2011 - Express AM4 left in useless orbit after Breeze M failure. AM4 was destroyed by de-orbiting in March 2012
August 2012 - Express MD2 & Telkom 3 left in wrong orbits after Btreeze M failure. To make matters worse the Breeze M exploded on October 16th leaving a hazardous debris cloud

www.spaceflight101.com/proton-launch-updates-express-md2-telkom-3.html

December 2012 - Yamal 402 left in wrong orbit after Breeze M shutdown 4 minutes early.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,318
Reaction score
9,950
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Commander S said:
Express-AM5 launch is not expected before 2E.
2E possibliy will shift April or May.
Ariane backlog is full until September 2013.
Fair enough - I looked at the Lyngsat launch list which obviously needs updating

And no launch manifest is set in stone - money talks & it wouldnt be the first time a satellite has been bounced onto a later slot.
 

davidcmadrid

Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2012
Messages
218
Reaction score
48
Points
28
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
40cm offset 19e, 1.5m 28e 1.2 M motor vu+
My Location
Madrid Spain
I found a news report that says they can get the satellite back on track with 2 burns.

" Experts believe two additional engine firings of the propulsion system will be required to place the Yamal 402 communications satellite in its desired orbit, "

_ttp://www.examiner.com/article/engineers-announce-recovery-plan-for-yamal-402-satellite?cid=rss
 

welshman234

Regular Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2011
Messages
332
Reaction score
21
Points
18
Age
57
My Satellite Setup
sky hd uk, 80cm kathrein dish,vu+ solo, humax f1 fox for hotbird 13
My Location
frankfurt
I wasnt sure whether to start a new thread on this or post here- but here goes. What will be different about the UK Astra 2E and 2G spotbeams compared to the Astra 2F one?

Is current successful reception of the, albeit limited, offerings on the Astra 2F spot a likely indicator of successful future reception of the 2E and 2G spots?
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,318
Reaction score
9,950
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Thats the $100,000 question. We reckon current reception is a likely indicator, although as the craft will be located a few dozen miles away from 2F there are bound to be very slight coverage differences in extreme fringe areas even if the downlink dishes are absolutely identical on all 3 craft
 

welshman234

Regular Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2011
Messages
332
Reaction score
21
Points
18
Age
57
My Satellite Setup
sky hd uk, 80cm kathrein dish,vu+ solo, humax f1 fox for hotbird 13
My Location
frankfurt
Have there been any other satellites launched to the same orbital position but all with the same spotbeams as far as you are aware?
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,318
Reaction score
9,950
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Cant think of any with spots - the nearest I can think of were some of the old Eutelsats (Hotbird 2-5) were nominally identical. However I dont think there really was really much interest in the variations between them in extreme fringe areas as the beam coverage was so wide anyway
 

welshman234

Regular Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2011
Messages
332
Reaction score
21
Points
18
Age
57
My Satellite Setup
sky hd uk, 80cm kathrein dish,vu+ solo, humax f1 fox for hotbird 13
My Location
frankfurt
Thanks AS I googled this too and didnt come up with anything either........ I guess that it will be the lower frequencies which will be the more difficult ones to get outside the UK. It maybe that all the BBC channels end up on the lowest frequencies on perhaps 2E making it the future holy grail for the expats.....whereas ITV etc end up staying on 2F at their current frequencies ....who knows?
 

tothbros

Member
Joined
May 18, 2012
Messages
250
Reaction score
75
Points
28
Age
47
My Satellite Setup
150cm Gibertini, Andrews (CM) feedhorn, LNB: C120 flange Invacom QDF-031, Sky+HD box
My Location
Budapest, Hungary
lets hope, there won't be too much space on 2E&G UK spot beams, because then even sky might move from PE to UK beams - and that would truly be a dark day for us
 

skomedal

Regular Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
2,108
Reaction score
2,112
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
This and that
My Location
thule
tothbros said:
lets hope, there won't be too much space on 2E&G UK spot beams, because then even sky might move from PE to UK beams - and that would truly be a dark day for us
No chance sly relies on grey zone customers ( read expats ) with subssssssssssssssssssss
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,318
Reaction score
9,950
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Looking at the provisional footprint maps for the Pan European beams there are going to be some unhappy Sky subscribers in some areas - the main coverage area is western Europe, not Pan Europe!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top