Astra

heavensent

Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
47
Reaction score
2
Points
8
Age
42
My Satellite Setup
1.2 meter dish
technomate box

I can move the dish manually if I
want to change sat
But since the change over to digi
I find it difficult to find satellites
(must be the digi delay )
My Location
N England
Just wondering who owns Astra ? is it American owned ?
Have vague mem of reading that it was started off in Luxemberg or somewhere...
by the American ambassador to that country .... I could be wrong.

But what an amazing set up... its tv signals must cover all of Europe and prob
a lot of N Africa and the middle east.
Must be broadcasting to a billion people or more.... beaming down the signals from space !

And the Number of TV stations it can transmit !! must be in the 1000s , many free to air.
Its mindblowing .....
 

2cvbloke

Bulbs need shelter too...
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,768
Reaction score
1,806
Points
113
Age
36
My Satellite Setup
No satellite stuff for the moment (aside from a 43cm minidish that was on the house already), Samsung SyncMaster T27B550 Smart TV & Monitor, and a few computers...
My Location
Near Pontop Pike, Co. Durham
SES owns the Astra satellite fleet... :)

Plenty of information on the SES website:

_http://www.ses.com
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,610
Reaction score
8,305
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
And don't forget the other major player, Eutelsat.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,307
Reaction score
9,941
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Its a private company HQ'd at Chateaux Betzdorf in Luxembourg.

SES-Astra is part of SES-Worldwide which covers most major countries around the world.
 

heavensent

Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
47
Reaction score
2
Points
8
Age
42
My Satellite Setup
1.2 meter dish
technomate box

I can move the dish manually if I
want to change sat
But since the change over to digi
I find it difficult to find satellites
(must be the digi delay )
My Location
N England
Murdoch must have gone with them to launch his sky group way back in the 60s,
using a tried and tested system

Whereas the Squarial guys seemed to be inventing it as they went along and they lost out
to Murdoch and lost a ton of money in the process.
 

william-1

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 2, 2005
Messages
10,692
Reaction score
11,111
Points
113
Location
Epping Forest
My Satellite Setup
OP Gibertini 100 XP+ Inverto Premium PLL Lnb
Superior Dark Motor (160° max)
(50 east to 34.5 west)
TM6902HD (A/B switch) Octagon SX88+Optima
TM5302HD + Inverto Premium PLL Lnb for compiling Ch lists.

Raven 88cm Mesh Dish + Inverto Black Ultra
Stab100 H to H (120° max)
(53 east to 45 west)
Octagon SX88+ (A/B switch) Edision S2

45cm dish V8 Golden 28E FreeSat Quad Lnb
Virgin Media FreeSat
My Location
Epping Forest Essex
Squarial guys known as BSB the ITV consortium would have worked had not the dirty tricks of the dirty digger network hacked & published all the CAS key codes of all their channels on the internet leading to loss of revenues & the collapse of the company thus reducing the competition so that only one satellite company survived 'O'-red
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,126
Reaction score
1,489
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Think you're confusing your providers there, plus stating as fact something which is unproven. As far as I know, BSB weren't hacked, they simply lost out in the contest with Sky. No disputing that ITV digital (the terrestrial platform) were hacked, but what didn't help was the stupid amount they paid for football rights which not as many people wanted to watch as they'd planned on.
 

heavensent

Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
47
Reaction score
2
Points
8
Age
42
My Satellite Setup
1.2 meter dish
technomate box

I can move the dish manually if I
want to change sat
But since the change over to digi
I find it difficult to find satellites
(must be the digi delay )
My Location
N England
I guess in the end the Dirty Digger won the game.
Sky must be one of the biggest sat organizations in Europe
and I think he is sat broadcasting big time in Asia too !

Compared with these mega organizations, the Sun and the News of the World must seem
like small fry .
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
32,661
Reaction score
7,410
Points
113
Age
57
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
heavensent said:
Compared with these mega organizations, the Sun and the News of the World must seem
like small fry .

But reading their journals would give you worthwhile reading that the small fry mentioned just don't want to offer. Why waste the money/effort in buying the stuff unless you have a wood burning stove ?
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,307
Reaction score
9,941
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
heavensent said:
Murdoch must have gone with them to launch his sky group way back in the 60s,
using a tried and tested system

Whereas the Squarial guys seemed to be inventing it as they went along and they lost out
to Murdoch and lost a ton of money in the process.



The story is available in the book SES book "High Above" which tells the entire SES story. A fascinating read - and you are 20 years out in your dates as SES didnt really get started until Astra 1A launched in 1989.

BSB failed because of UK rules - they had to build and operate their satellites as well as provide programming. And they could only run 5 channels - and to run all 5 at high power they had to have 2 satellites!

Sky just bought capacity on Astra 1A which saved them £millions in startup costs, had the capacity to provide multiple channels on cheap equipment


Now we realise Sky & the Murdochs can be heartily disliked but we wont allow anyone to grind an axe about them on this forum. If you want to blame anyone for the BSB failure blame the mid 1980s Government.
 
Top