Best Sky HD box?

newgen2005

Dream-Believer
Joined
Jan 30, 2006
Messages
249
Reaction score
2
Points
18
Age
47
My Satellite Setup
LG 60" 3D Plasma TV
Thomson SKY+ HD
My Location
Guernsey Channel Islands
I think I am going to replace our old Thomson Box, which is the best box to go for?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
 

denis1501

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 13, 2003
Messages
483
Reaction score
57
Points
28
Age
57
Location
Lazio, Italy
My Satellite Setup
1.25m offset dish for Astra 2 28deg. using Inverto Black Ultra 0.3 quad lnb, Amstrad Sky+ HD, 80cm dish for Hotbird, Sky Italia, Tivùsat, Lenovo Ideapad Z570, 10 mbits broadband.
My Location
Sunny Italy
Amstrad all the way! I replaced a Thomson with one and it's great.
 

Captain Jack

Retired human
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,826
Reaction score
8,014
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Amstrad is good - haven't had any issues with my 890 one.
 

newgen2005

Dream-Believer
Joined
Jan 30, 2006
Messages
249
Reaction score
2
Points
18
Age
47
My Satellite Setup
LG 60" 3D Plasma TV
Thomson SKY+ HD
My Location
Guernsey Channel Islands
Thanks for the info guys! Do you know of any decent suppliers online for the Amstrad?

Cheers

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Tapatalk 2
 

timo_w2s

Retired Mod
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,359
Reaction score
2,883
Points
113
Website
www.timo.me.uk
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
I didn't think there was much choice of manufactures these days? It's more down to what hard disk size you want.
 

newgen2005

Dream-Believer
Joined
Jan 30, 2006
Messages
249
Reaction score
2
Points
18
Age
47
My Satellite Setup
LG 60" 3D Plasma TV
Thomson SKY+ HD
My Location
Guernsey Channel Islands
The size of the Thomson hdd would be fine, I think that would be 500gb?

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Tapatalk 2
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
50,943
Reaction score
11,382
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Thommy's are notorious for the power supply capacitors blowing. If yours hasnt been upgraded its a miracle its still operational!
 

newgen2005

Dream-Believer
Joined
Jan 30, 2006
Messages
249
Reaction score
2
Points
18
Age
47
My Satellite Setup
LG 60" 3D Plasma TV
Thomson SKY+ HD
My Location
Guernsey Channel Islands
I brought my boxed used from ebay as I needed component out for my HD PVR! The seller said it had upgraded capasitors!
 
Top