C band LNB re-attached to my Channel Master 1.8

scopus

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Mar 25, 2005
Messages
3,218
Reaction score
3,865
Points
113
Age
59
My Satellite Setup
Primesat/Famaval 1.8 PF C/ku/Ka, Octagon SX8HD1, SX88, Openbox S3 Mini HD-V8S Freesat V7 HD-V8 Finder, Amiko A4K Combo, Satlook Colour HD Spectrum, Sansui A909 Amp and BOSE Acoustimass speakers for the audio.
My Location
Staffs UK
After much experimenation with Ka band I have re attached my C Band back on top of my Ku LNB with a coach bolt and a perfect fit bracket from the local Tyre and Battery fitters. Good signals from 10E,20E,27W,22W,5W,3E,26E and 18W on the F15 which is now my dedicated C Band receiver.
 

Attachments

  • P1010049.JPG
    P1010049.JPG
    170.2 KB · Views: 129
  • P1010050.JPG
    P1010050.JPG
    186.9 KB · Views: 129

timo_w2s

Retired Mod
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,359
Reaction score
2,883
Points
113
Website
www.timo.me.uk
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
Neat setup. How have you modified your support arms to allow for the extra LNB on the side? I've been thinking of doing something similar for my CM 1.2m.
 

scopus

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Mar 25, 2005
Messages
3,218
Reaction score
3,865
Points
113
Age
59
My Satellite Setup
Primesat/Famaval 1.8 PF C/ku/Ka, Octagon SX8HD1, SX88, Openbox S3 Mini HD-V8S Freesat V7 HD-V8 Finder, Amiko A4K Combo, Satlook Colour HD Spectrum, Sansui A909 Amp and BOSE Acoustimass speakers for the audio.
My Location
Staffs UK
Neat setup. How have you modified your support arms to allow for the extra LNB on the side? I've been thinking of doing something similar for my CM 1.2m.

Yes, I did that when I was experimenting with the Ka. I might do the same to the other side in the spring, when the weather gets better, and get the C band on the other side of the Ku.
 

Captain Jack

Retired human
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,826
Reaction score
8,014
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
How have you modified your support arms to allow for the extra LNB on the side? I've been thinking of doing something similar for my CM 1.2m.
This mod is more complicated on the 1.2m because of the way the side arms are attached to the dish (in the hole on the 1.2m rather than on the sides on the 1.8m, which allows you to move the arms down).
 

timo_w2s

Retired Mod
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,359
Reaction score
2,883
Points
113
Website
www.timo.me.uk
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
This mod is more complicated on the 1.2m because of the way the side arms are attached to the dish (in the hole on the 1.2m rather than on the sides on the 1.8m, which allows you to move the arms down).
I see, damn. OK thanks. It's something to work on next summer I think.
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,590
Points
113
My Location
uk
You would only have to spin it out of the way the bend on it will naturally do that for you with the 1.2 same difference really as the 1.8, if your only doing one side.
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,590
Points
113
My Location
uk
What I don't understand is why no one has done rx/tx dish arms mod, it looks so easy to do, its what I will be doing:).
 

Captain Jack

Retired human
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,826
Reaction score
8,014
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Skyware does do these mods.. Here's one with a Fibo-type sub-reflector.
type_184.jpg


You're right, though, Martin - not difficult to do these yourself. Thinking about the 1.2m one, you could probably do what you're saying too.
 

scopus

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Mar 25, 2005
Messages
3,218
Reaction score
3,865
Points
113
Age
59
My Satellite Setup
Primesat/Famaval 1.8 PF C/ku/Ka, Octagon SX8HD1, SX88, Openbox S3 Mini HD-V8S Freesat V7 HD-V8 Finder, Amiko A4K Combo, Satlook Colour HD Spectrum, Sansui A909 Amp and BOSE Acoustimass speakers for the audio.
My Location
Staffs UK
Neat setup. How have you modified your support arms to allow for the extra LNB on the side? I've been thinking of doing something similar for my CM 1.2m.

As CJ has said they are only bolted to the side on the 1.8 so the drop easily, but they actually go through the dishface on the 1.2. Spinning them might be an option like Martin-f has suggested.
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,590
Points
113
My Location
uk
Genuine channel master 1.8 rx/tx arms :) I will just mod what I have:).
56430-3b4a042940a597d53be9f24f91ba4099.jpg
 

Captain Jack

Retired human
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,826
Reaction score
8,014
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
I wonder how much they cost from Skyware (not good with modding stuff myself)
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,590
Points
113
My Location
uk
I wonder how much they cost from Skyware (not good with modding stuff myself)

They will be a few on ebay Alex, once I've done one :). I've not forgot about the pole bracket he was not in the office Friday the few times I called, I will try again Monday.
 

RimaNTSS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
5,614
Reaction score
6,102
Points
113
Age
58
My Satellite Setup
Some SAT-related hardware.
My Location
N-E from Riga
Feedarms for those dishes were designed first only for one LNB, and secondly- for 20 or 23mm diameter of the feedhorn or LNB's neck. So if you just place 40mm LNB in original holder that means that LNB automatically will be out of focus and system will not be abble to perform at it's possible maximum.
I think, that it is not so difficult to make completely new feedarms, so antenna will be OK for multifeeds and central LNB will also be placed in the focus.
There my old feedarm on Prodelin 1,8m before and after. Before I could not adjust position of LNB, but now I can.
Before.JPG After.JPG feedarms.JPG
If somebody needs my old feedarms can have them free of charge, only post costs.
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,590
Points
113
My Location
uk
that means that LNB automatically will be out of focus and system will not be abble to perform at it's possible maximum.

I will just make a 4 point laser jig to pin point the LNB before I start the mod, doing it like that i cant get it wrong and the LNB will be sat were it should be after the mod :).
 

RimaNTSS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
5,614
Reaction score
6,102
Points
113
Age
58
My Satellite Setup
Some SAT-related hardware.
My Location
N-E from Riga
I will just make a laser jig to pin point the LNB before I start the mod, doing it like that i cant get it wrong and the LNB will be sat were it should be after the mod :).
That is right, but can be not enough. If yo move LNB any direction, lets say 20mm, than you will still be able to point LNB to same spot on surface of your antenna. Pointing LNB to right spot ("Le point G") it is important, bet position of LNB in space when LNB's phase center located exactly in focal point of antenna is also very important. One more thing, which is important- LNB's illumination angle is same to antenna's opening angle.
:)
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,590
Points
113
My Location
uk
The G spot changes with different types of setup/LNB type, so you will never get this spot on only on a fixed dish using one LNB,
 

RimaNTSS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
5,614
Reaction score
6,102
Points
113
Age
58
My Satellite Setup
Some SAT-related hardware.
My Location
N-E from Riga
Sorry Martin, did not get you.... G spot for central LNB newer change it's position, that is concrete point on the surface of the dish.
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,590
Points
113
My Location
uk
It does not mean you will get the best signal pointing to this spot, that's why some lnb types move electronically to hit another spot to pull the signals in better,

I am not going to get into a debate on this and I will leave it at that :).
 

beavs2112

Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2012
Messages
168
Reaction score
404
Points
63
Age
57
Location
Canada
My Satellite Setup
see signature
My Location
London, Ontario Canada
I wonder how much they cost from Skyware (not good with modding stuff myself)
mods should we open a new thread for discussing how to mod the dish for new arms? rather than cluttering Scopus's thread on his CM1.8 with off topic discussion? Not to single out CJ or anyone else. or has one already been opened? I have some input on the modding topic I can share.
 

scopus

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Mar 25, 2005
Messages
3,218
Reaction score
3,865
Points
113
Age
59
My Satellite Setup
Primesat/Famaval 1.8 PF C/ku/Ka, Octagon SX8HD1, SX88, Openbox S3 Mini HD-V8S Freesat V7 HD-V8 Finder, Amiko A4K Combo, Satlook Colour HD Spectrum, Sansui A909 Amp and BOSE Acoustimass speakers for the audio.
My Location
Staffs UK
It does not mean you will get the best signal pointing to this spot, that's why some lnb types move electronically to hit another spot to pull the signals in better,

I am not going to get into a debate on this and I will leave it at that :).

I have always found the theory is not always what you get in practice:);)
 
Top