Advice Needed C120 lnb

A

Archive-8

Guest
All I can find is an inverto or the rt is this the only choices?

Do sharpe or alps ect make any c120 's?
 

Huevos

Satellite Freak
Joined
Sep 11, 2008
Messages
6,004
Reaction score
1,260
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
57E to 58W, C-band and Ku, DVB-S2, 4:2:2 and blindscan.
My Location
38.5ºN, 0.5ºW
The Invacom is a bit more expensive, but well worth the difference.
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,216
Reaction score
7,464
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Is that a new one or the same as SNF-031 with two outputs? Any difference between a converted BU and this on something like a CM feedhorn?
 

timo_w2s

Retired Mod
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,359
Reaction score
2,883
Points
113
Website
www.timo.me.uk
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
I think I need to invest in a new C120 LNB too after one of mine has started behaving oddly. I'll get another Invacom QDF-031 to replace the broken one as they work well on larger dishes.
 

sonnetpete

Grumpy Old Moderator and quiz inquisitor..
Staff member
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
8,673
Reaction score
3,309
Points
113
Age
70
Website
wordpress.com
My Satellite Setup
Laminas 1.2M fibre dish with an IBU, on a Clarke Tech USALS motor, covering 57E - 24.5W to an Octagon SX88. Displayed on a 20" Dyon LED TV.

Seperate 80 cm dish on 28E with a Humax Freesat for SWMBO.
Free Sat V8 meter. Sony Bravia 46" LCD, Sony BluRay and Home Cinema.
My Location
Normandy, France

Mickha

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
5,638
Reaction score
668
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
1.2M Channel Master, 1224 motor, VU+ Duo 2
My Location
North West
I'm currently using an Inverto twin LNB, very light, and easy to fit, had it for over 3 years now, so there might be some newer version available.
Code:
http://www.inverto.tv/products/product.php?id=175&typ=3&PHPSESSID=baa46f945bcd82fa19f9288a0fb55b8a
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,216
Reaction score
7,464
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
That's a Black Pro Mick - I would favour the Invacom or a Black Ultra C120 conversion.
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,216
Reaction score
7,464
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
I like MTI.... Their "Blue" 0.6dB one from years ago was one of the best I've used.
 

Burnham Beech

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
1,033
Reaction score
49
Points
48
I have an unused Invacom single SNF-031 here. I tested it against an Inverto on my 1.2m dish but never put it in use. PM if interested. £10 + P&P.
 
A

Archive-8

Guest
I was told that the invacom was very good on short lengths of cable. I am running about 22/25 meters of it.

Had one of the .7db invacom a years ago and was very happy.

But I am still 50/50 as I am also told the h/v pin placement can make the invacom good for horizontal and not so good at vertical and the rt is the other way around.

Has any one else heard of this?
 

Huevos

Satellite Freak
Joined
Sep 11, 2008
Messages
6,004
Reaction score
1,260
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
57E to 58W, C-band and Ku, DVB-S2, 4:2:2 and blindscan.
My Location
38.5ºN, 0.5ºW
20m is a short length. You've got to remember most people using a c120 LNB have the dish quite a distance from the house. On my dish I've got a quad Invacom, 30m of cable going via 1 committed and 1 uncommitted switch. Signal is fine.

I fit the Black Pro for people on a budget. On my meter SNR is about 0.7dB lower than the Invacom.
 

Mickha

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
5,638
Reaction score
668
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
1.2M Channel Master, 1224 motor, VU+ Duo 2
My Location
North West
I also have an Invacom C120 Uni Twin LNB, TWF-031,which was on prior to the Inverto, and I didn't notice that much difference, as the signal quality readings, on both Echostar 3600 and Spiderbox 9000, remained about the same.
Don't forget this was almost 4 years ago, and the Invacom might even be older than that.
 
Top