cams - ???

S

satstar

Im very new to this - but would I be correct in saying that if i bought a viaccess, or any other type of cam then i could watch any channel that uses that kind of encryption???

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Yes, in most cases, but providing you have the correct smartcard to unlock the particular packages.

F

flash

what you need satstar is either a irdeto freecam or a magic cam both are reprogrammable for future updates if software is available

Shaun

Reaction score
My Location
Hampshire, UK
I also am very new to this subject. I'm interested in viewing some of the encrypted channels on Hispasat (e.g. TVE1 and TVE2). I have a GbSat motorised system and would be graeful if someone could explain what my options are. What bits and pieces do I need and where can I get them from? I've seen mention of re-programming and patching mentioned else where, is this related? Many thanks in advance.

2old4this

Honorary Admin
Reaction score
My Location
Cloud Cuckoo Land
Suggest you read through the posts on this board.
What your options are depends on what kind of receiver and CAMs you have, as well as what yoiur budget is and how inclined you are to pursue the -ahem- hobby.

Most interesting stuff on Hispasat is encrypted in Nagravision, and that is hacked. However, the codes change fairly frequently (every few days) and so you woujld need to keep updating your card.