coax

portly

Regular Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2008
Messages
119
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
57
My Satellite Setup
Bush freesat hd box, iss 70cm dish,single passion lnb , goodmans GDB15HD freeview box
My Location
heathrow
OK i no the coax im using is a load of crap and im thinking of replacing it:confused but is it really nessesary i have 90% signal and 70-75% quality for 28.8 and 28.5, the coax is RG6u, i know its crap because i have 50ohm rg6 for my old cb setup and its superior to 75ohm stuff.
So replacing it , will it improved any thing:-biglaugh
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,081
Reaction score
1,455
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
How long is the run? If it is less than 20m, then you will probably notice very little difference.
 

aba

Regular Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2007
Messages
173
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
67
My Satellite Setup
chaparral montery 40 fully loaded
ehcostar ad3600ipvia
3 dishes zone 2 / 1 mt motorized / 2.3 m motorized
My Location
nottingham
portly said:
OK i no the coax im using is a load of crap and im thinking of replacing it:confused but is it really nessesary i have 90% signal and 70-75% quality for 28.8 and 28.5, the coax is RG6u, i know its crap because i have 50ohm rg6 for my old cb setup and its superior to 75ohm stuff.
So replacing it , will it improved any thing:-biglaugh

rg6 is 75 ohm coax not 50 ohm coax

i have 90% signal and 70-75% quality for 28.8 and 28.5, thats good enoth why do you want to change
 

portly

Regular Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2008
Messages
119
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
57
My Satellite Setup
Bush freesat hd box, iss 70cm dish,single passion lnb , goodmans GDB15HD freeview box
My Location
heathrow
aba said:
rg6 is 75 ohm coax not 50 ohm coax

i have 90% signal and 70-75% quality for 28.8 and 28.5, thats good enoth why do you want to change

I know its not is 75ohm ,but there is a 50 ohm version used in cb setups:p which is higher quality, hence why i said it was cheap:eek:
 

portly

Regular Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2008
Messages
119
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
57
My Satellite Setup
Bush freesat hd box, iss 70cm dish,single passion lnb , goodmans GDB15HD freeview box
My Location
heathrow
rolfw said:
How long is the run? If it is less than 20m, then you will probably notice very little difference.

Its around 15-20 mtr, i actually got 30mtrs of cable with my kit instead of 10 :-rofl2 bonus;)
 

aba

Regular Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2007
Messages
173
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
67
My Satellite Setup
chaparral montery 40 fully loaded
ehcostar ad3600ipvia
3 dishes zone 2 / 1 mt motorized / 2.3 m motorized
My Location
nottingham
portly said:
I know its not is 75ohm ,but there is a 50 ohm version used in cb setups:p which is higher quality, hence why i said it was cheap:eek:
sorry to say this but there isnt a 50 ohm version of rg 6 only 75 ohm
for cb we use rg 58 or rg 58u or rg 213 low loss coax both are 50 ohm
i sort of did my apprentaship for aerial starting in 1981 with a cb shop in nottingham called good buddies
and still fitting them now 27 years later not so many cb aerials now though as its past its sell by date here in nottingham

if some one has sold you rg6 as 50 ohm coax take it back and ask for your money back
 
Top