Data retrieval - loss of extensions

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
35,770
Reaction score
8,646
Points
113
Age
60
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
I've had to pull out an old hard drive that got seriously corrupted a decade or so ago, to find documents relevant to a court case.

Using PC file inspector I've now got a list of about four hundred files that look as though they were within the 'my documents' section at the dates of importance, and are all about the correct size to be word documents. However these are listed as files only, with no extension (doc/docx).

I've transferred these to the main PC and commenced adding the '.doc' extension manually before opening each individually, but this is taking an eon, I'm currently up to thirty or so after an hour.

Is there something within the Windows (XP pro) arsenal that I can use to add the extensions in bulk ?
 

timo_w2s

Retired moderator
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,360
Reaction score
2,885
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Vu+ Duo 4K SE
Dr.HD F15
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
18,035
Reaction score
4,051
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
Why not revert to DOS commands?

Open a CMD or Comand Prompt box (or whatever they're calling it nowadays) and navigate to the relevant directory (folder) using the CD command and remembering to use backslashes instead of forward slashes.

Once you're in the right directory use

ren *. *.doc
and all will have a .doc extension.

Probably best to take a copy onto an empty pen drive. That'll make navigating easier as well.
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,663
Points
113
Age
66
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
I use Stellar Phoenix for hd data recovery ..but of course it is not free ..
Cheaper tho than having data recovered by professional outfits..
I think you can download a free version which will scan the drive and list what is recoverable ..but to actually perform the recovery ..you need to buy it.
No changes actually made to the hard drive during the scan..
rgds
VS
 

hexah

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 7, 2009
Messages
2,838
Reaction score
680
Points
113
Age
17
My Satellite Setup
motorized Gibertini 85cm, fixed dishes from 1m to 64cm, generic FTA HD RX, TBS DVB-S2 PC card, a pile of bits and pieces
My Location
Hadrians Wall

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
35,770
Reaction score
8,646
Points
113
Age
60
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Maybe I was not accurate in my request.

I now have all the files (plus more) collected by the File Inspector programme in a nice folder named 'retrieved'. These are however just files with no extension to them.

Nothing I have seen in the Microsoft help guide allows me to change the file to something that is compatible with Word, though simply adding .doc to about fifty of these files has liberated 20 valid documents, though trawling through each one, then highlighting, then adding.doc before opening is a real pain, moreso knowing there are about 430 in total. I need only eight to ten out of the total, but liberating them manually can't be the only method available, afterall it is a processing system that got them there in the first place.
 

2cvbloke

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,768
Reaction score
1,808
Points
113
Age
38
My Satellite Setup
No satellite stuff for the moment (aside from a 43cm minidish that was on the house already), Samsung SyncMaster T27B550 Smart TV & Monitor, and a few computers...
My Location
Near Pontop Pike, Co. Durham
If they are all known to be Word documents, then do what PaulR said, use good ol' DOS (or the Command prompt at least) to do a batch rename...

Start - Run... - CMD - Enter

Navigate to the folder:

Code:
CD \
enter
CD \yourfolderaddress
enter

Then batch rename as PaulR stated:

Code:
ren * *.doc
enter

It'll change all the filenames that lack an extension to have .doc on the end in one fell swoop, there's something to be said for the old ways... :)
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,663
Points
113
Age
66
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
Making more sense now CH ..and I think 2cv has the answer...
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
35,770
Reaction score
8,646
Points
113
Age
60
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Thanks, I will try it when I get back to the office.

Not all the files are word documents though, as File Inspector does not know what it retrieves from a corrupted drive, but these are the only ones I am interested in. Any others converted to .doc will not open under word.
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
18,035
Reaction score
4,051
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
Actually, depending on the version of Word and Excel, Word can open .xls files. The trouble comes when you save that file under Word as Excel won't understand it at all after that.

I used to have the very devil of a job trying to convince people NOT to use Word's Open a File window as an option to Windows own Explorer window. Because the system was set up to hide known file extensions they had very little idea of what they opening that way.
 
Top