DB 500 files permissions problem

wpfreaky

Member
Joined
May 8, 2008
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
43
My Satellite Setup
DB 500
My Location
Middle East
Hello,

I can't upload files to any folder at my dreambox except /tmp/ folder.

Please look at these screen shots:

1. Uploading a file to the /tmp/ directory:
_http://www.rasheed-b.com/tmp/tmp-success.gif

2. Uploading a file to another directory:
_http://www.rasheed-b.com/tmp/failed.gif

I tried to change the folder permission to 777 but it is not resolving the problem.

I hope to find here the solution.

Thanks.
 

mhku

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
4,712
Reaction score
20
Points
38
My Satellite Setup
TM Nano ~ sg2100
My Location
Midlands
How much space is left in /var?

Blue Panel > addons > setup

Welcome to the forum :)
 

wpfreaky

Member
Joined
May 8, 2008
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
43
My Satellite Setup
DB 500
My Location
Middle East
Hello mhku,

Thanks for your quick reply.

It shows 96%.

To be sure please look at this fresh screen shot:
_http://www.rasheed-b.com/tmp/var.jpg
 

mhku

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
4,712
Reaction score
20
Points
38
My Satellite Setup
TM Nano ~ sg2100
My Location
Midlands
You've run out of space. You need the figure to be less than 85% (ideally less than 80%).

Delete everything from /tmp and delete and copies or .bak files from var/keys and var/scce. Also delete all emus except the one you use (CCcam?).

How to take a screenshot
 

wpfreaky

Member
Joined
May 8, 2008
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
43
My Satellite Setup
DB 500
My Location
Middle East
I deleted the content of:

/tmp
/var/keys
/var/scce

The size of all the above content is about ~ 5 KB.

It shows now 95%.

How can I delete the (emus) ? (Sorry I am not familiar with DB just got it yesterday).

Thanks mhku for your cooperation .
 

mhku

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
4,712
Reaction score
20
Points
38
My Satellite Setup
TM Nano ~ sg2100
My Location
Midlands
Have you had a look through The Guide?

To delete installed stuff:

Menu > addons > delete

Is your box a clone and if it's been setup for you for CS be careful what you delete.
 

wpfreaky

Member
Joined
May 8, 2008
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
43
My Satellite Setup
DB 500
My Location
Middle East
Yes, it is a clone.

I found that i deleted also some necessary keys ... np !

It's a new box I don't know why it is full (96%).

There are 3 Camd's, I do not know if their size is large and they are causing the problem.
 

mhku

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
4,712
Reaction score
20
Points
38
My Satellite Setup
TM Nano ~ sg2100
My Location
Midlands
You can only use one emu (cam) at a time -which one do you use?

A Dreambox with 96% of var used will not work properly. Have you emailed the person you bought it from?

Also, are you motorised and have you scanned lots of satellites or used the AutoSat.xml plugin?
 

Sharkadder

Regular Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2005
Messages
440
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Age
35
My Satellite Setup
Dreambox 8000 HD PVR+DVD, 80cm Dish, 1.2 Compatible Motor, Quad LNB, Samsung 22" 1080p HD TV/monitor, Yamaha RX-V765 Amplifier, Tannoy Mercury FC Centre Speaker, 2 x Tannoy F1 Custom Speakers, 2 x Tannoy FR Custom Speakers, EPOS ELS Sub Woofer
My Location
Teesside (North East England)
p.s. a dreambox with 3 cams onboard should not take up 96%.

What did you do, download every plugin you could find or something? Your best bet is to start fresh from that.

I've not known a clone take up 96% with only 3 cams onboard before....but they do have strange effect's to an original.

Tell us all the plugin's you currently have on the box, also what the cams are and also if you have modified the satellites.xml file with an updated version.
 

wpfreaky

Member
Joined
May 8, 2008
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
43
My Satellite Setup
DB 500
My Location
Middle East
Hello friends,

It OK now, I called the guy i bought from him.

He connected to my receiver and made a factory reset.

Now I have 36% instead of 95%.

I upload files to var without problems.

Thanks !
 
Top