Digiturk Reception Eutelsat 7A - Rain Fade

Godmaster

Member
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
25
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
35
My Satellite Setup
1.1m Dish on Turksat, Triax 88 on Eutelsat 7A, Minidish pointing at Turksat
My Location
London, UK
Hey everyone,

I have a Triax 88 pointing to Eutelsat 7A at 7E.

My Digiturk set top box shows 100% SQ all the time, but when there is heavy rain, I lose signal and get signal weak error. Is this normal?

Cheers
 

Mickha

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
5,681
Reaction score
699
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
1.2M Channel Master, 1224 motor, VU+ Duo 2
My Location
North West
Different receivers give different signal strength, and quality, readings, I tend to mistrust one that gives 100%, especially with a 88cm dish on 7E. Do you have a signal meter, with which you can peak the signal?
 

Godmaster

Member
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
25
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
35
My Satellite Setup
1.1m Dish on Turksat, Triax 88 on Eutelsat 7A, Minidish pointing at Turksat
My Location
London, UK
My installer said his meter gave a reading of 98%, but that could have been from the Europe A beam, not Europe B. Is 88cm even enough for 7E?
 

Mickha

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
5,681
Reaction score
699
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
1.2M Channel Master, 1224 motor, VU+ Duo 2
My Location
North West
Godmaster said:
My installer said his meter gave a reading of 98%, but that could have been from the Europe A beam, not Europe B. Is 88cm even enough for 7E?

That's difficult to say, the Triax 88cm is reported to be a very good dish, but in very heavy rain you will even lose the signal using a bigger dish, the same goes with snow.
How heavy was the rain, when you lost signal?
Does it lose signal often, or just occasionaly, or even just once?
What were your readings, for signal loss, on your 1.1M dish?
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,126
Reaction score
1,489
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Godmaster said:
My installer said his meter gave a reading of 98%, but that could have been from the Europe A beam, not Europe B. Is 88cm even enough for 7E?

Any meter which gives a percentage reading on quality is not what I'd call a professional meter, adequate for alignment, but not a calibrated unit, mine gives several quality readings for BER, MER, CNR etc, all in DB and on a per frequency basis, not a percentage and not on a fixed transponder, so easier to home in on weaker frequencies..
 

Godmaster

Member
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
25
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
35
My Satellite Setup
1.1m Dish on Turksat, Triax 88 on Eutelsat 7A, Minidish pointing at Turksat
My Location
London, UK
It was pretty heavy, but it had to lighten for it to come back. I think it was the rain a week or so ago. Hasn't really rained since. I am just cautious as the footprint for Eutelsat 7A on the Europe B says 46db... Its happened twice so far. Once a few weeks back and once last week - both were heavy rain.

The 1.1 is fixed at 42E at the moment...
 

BM300

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2007
Messages
207
Reaction score
80
Points
28
Age
56
My Satellite Setup
Dreambox 7000, 7020, 800HD
HD-USB
8 Dishes
My Location
UAE
You have 3 options:

1- Accept things as they are.
2- Use a larger dish.
3- Use a more sensetive LNB.
 

wod

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 7, 2005
Messages
4,213
Reaction score
235
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
1m channel master, jaeger smr1224, Inverto black ultra twin, technomate tm-1500ci, broken receiver vantage x221ci, New additions Skybox F5s and technomate tm-5402 HD arriving soon.
My Location
yorkshire
Yes try another lnb first such as the inverto black ultra.

off topic, do digiturk show 3 x 3pm games on Saturday ?
 

Godmaster

Member
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
25
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
35
My Satellite Setup
1.1m Dish on Turksat, Triax 88 on Eutelsat 7A, Minidish pointing at Turksat
My Location
London, UK
We had a choice of Man City and Man Utd on Saturday. I think sometimes they show 3. I have to use the Digiturk LNB, as it is a special one for distributing to a PVR using a single output.

I have a 1.1 facing Turksat at the moment; it's my parents'. Is the 88 really not enough? I don't mind it if it's exceptionally heavy rain..
 

Mickha

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
5,681
Reaction score
699
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
1.2M Channel Master, 1224 motor, VU+ Duo 2
My Location
North West
You can try the wet tea towel trick, wet a tea towel and put it over the LNB, see what signal loss you get.
 

Godmaster

Member
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
25
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
35
My Satellite Setup
1.1m Dish on Turksat, Triax 88 on Eutelsat 7A, Minidish pointing at Turksat
My Location
London, UK
I don't get the tea-towel?
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,312
Reaction score
9,943
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Wet the tea towel, and drape it over the lnb - it mimics a heavy shower! :D
 

mariust5

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Dec 8, 2005
Messages
507
Reaction score
120
Points
43
Age
44
My Satellite Setup
Cristor Atlas 100HD , motorised 1.1 Triax on Stab H-H
My Location
hastings , uk
Make sure your lnb setting is set to MDU4 and the skew is very near to the 28 degrees one .
The skew adjustment is critical for these receivers .
 

Godmaster

Member
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
25
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
35
My Satellite Setup
1.1m Dish on Turksat, Triax 88 on Eutelsat 7A, Minidish pointing at Turksat
My Location
London, UK
Sorry where do I change this setting? Is that 28 clockwise? I asked my installer and he said it didn't need any skew!
 

mariust5

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Dec 8, 2005
Messages
507
Reaction score
120
Points
43
Age
44
My Satellite Setup
Cristor Atlas 100HD , motorised 1.1 Triax on Stab H-H
My Location
hastings , uk
The lnb setting should be in the Installation Menu , where it shows you the signal strenght for each tuner there is a LNB type setting .

What i ment by 28* is the lnb should have the same skew as an lnb on a sky minish pointing at 28* .
 

Godmaster

Member
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
25
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
35
My Satellite Setup
1.1m Dish on Turksat, Triax 88 on Eutelsat 7A, Minidish pointing at Turksat
My Location
London, UK
It shows 100% for all, but 100% 83% and 63% for signal strength for each tuner.
 

Godmaster

Member
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
25
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
35
My Satellite Setup
1.1m Dish on Turksat, Triax 88 on Eutelsat 7A, Minidish pointing at Turksat
My Location
London, UK
I set the LNB similar to that of a minidish and it gave me a loss in signal of 2-3%. With very little/no skew, receiver shows 100%
 

Steve Stras

Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2011
Messages
51
Reaction score
11
Points
8
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
W2 astra
My Location
Strasbourg
In answer to the football question I also have digiturk and English football is shown on LigTV2, 3 and the Premier League channel, though the premier league channel is normally showing a game which is also being screened on 2 or 3. Most weekends there are 5-6 games (in English as well) being shown in total, basically all the games covered by Sky plus 2 x 3pm kickoffs.

I have the basic package plus the LigTV package which, as a second system, costs me 24 turkish lira per month which I think is about 9 uk pounds. They insisted on coming to the apartment in ankara and installing the box (and activating the card) Obviously, I then unistalled it and brought back to France. It does not need to be connected to a phone line like some second system packages.
 
Top