dish size calculator

tas153

Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2011
Messages
13
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
42
My Satellite Setup
1mt dish with hotbird 13eand astra 4a (sirius) 5e with diseq
My Location
paphos, cyprus
does anyone know if there is a formula to calculate the dish size required if you are out of the footprint of a specific satellite? if you have the distance, elevation, azimuth,etc...
 

hairybadger

Bricoleur
Joined
Jul 20, 2012
Messages
1,370
Reaction score
779
Points
113
Location
46.1N 6.4E
My Satellite Setup
see sig
My Location
near Geneva, Haute-Savoie, France
If you know the power levels at the required location then you can simply look it up - google -> satellite dish size dbw . If you don't (out of official footprint, like you say) then the best you can do is make an educated guess according to other people's experience as it's very dependent on how the beam is shaped. What are you trying to receive and where? :)
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,109
Reaction score
1,478
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
There have been dish calculators around, but they are at best inaccurate and speculative and the further you are from the published footprint, the less accurate and more speculative they are.
 

tas153

Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2011
Messages
13
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
42
My Satellite Setup
1mt dish with hotbird 13eand astra 4a (sirius) 5e with diseq
My Location
paphos, cyprus
im just trying to see whats possible from cyprus. thinking of amos2 (4w) and 36e...
 

hairybadger

Bricoleur
Joined
Jul 20, 2012
Messages
1,370
Reaction score
779
Points
113
Location
46.1N 6.4E
My Satellite Setup
see sig
My Location
near Geneva, Haute-Savoie, France
Is Lyngsat no good? I know it isn't 100% accurate but might give you an indication. A quick look at it shows that you can get a fair amount from 36E and probably 4W as well. Your best bet is to get hold of somebody else from Cyprus and see what they can see.
 

Hixxy1

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
457
Reaction score
111
Points
43
My Satellite Setup
DM800/7020Si/7000S, VU+ Duo, Skybox F3 & F5, TM1000D, Skystar 2 DVBdream, Triax TD110, Darkmotor, Inverto Black, Hotbird 13 Zone 2 MK 4, 28.2 Zone 1 MK4
My Location
East Midlands
I often use this list to compare with the footprint maps. It works fine for me.
_http://www.flysat.com/dish.php
 

deepbluesky

Specialist Contributor
Joined
May 28, 2003
Messages
1,026
Reaction score
76
Points
48
Age
46
My Satellite Setup
Octagon Quad Optima OQSLO @ Laminas OFC-1100 @ Powertech DG-380 @ Vu+ Solo²(OpenATV) / Technotrend S2-1600
Sony KDL32W656A / TBS 6220 (DVB-C)
Terratec T-Stick+ (DAB+)
My Location
Stuttgart (48.79N/9.19E)
There is no way to calculate precisely the minimum dish size. You can only be sure if you ask somebody nearby you that has a well aligned dish towards 4W and 36E. Be aware, latter can be improved if you are using an LNB for circular polarisation, otherwise you're losing roughly 3dB which means a 2.4m will work like a 1.8m.

Maybe _http://www.titosat.com/ can answer your questions.
 

smartypants69

Member
Joined
May 19, 2010
Messages
44
Reaction score
4
Points
8
Age
34
My Satellite Setup
sky plus laptop
My Location
eastbourne
Back of what satellite magazine has a useful channel directory.

This includes minimum dish sizes for north and south of the UK.
 

deepbluesky

Specialist Contributor
Joined
May 28, 2003
Messages
1,026
Reaction score
76
Points
48
Age
46
My Satellite Setup
Octagon Quad Optima OQSLO @ Laminas OFC-1100 @ Powertech DG-380 @ Vu+ Solo²(OpenATV) / Technotrend S2-1600
Sony KDL32W656A / TBS 6220 (DVB-C)
Terratec T-Stick+ (DAB+)
My Location
Stuttgart (48.79N/9.19E)
The question poster lives in Pafos/Cyprus where no satellite magazine can tell exactly which dish size is available about the minimum diameter needed. These values always base on experience and i can tell you for sure that even greek satellite magazines don't cover the real conditions as they are since the differences from place to place can differ a lot, so why should this be in Cyprus different ?
 
Top