DM500s-help

larnerj

Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2006
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
70
My Satellite Setup
dreambox
My Location
east london
i thought my DB was dead. but i have just managed to download a new image using dream up-the only problem i have is that the DB still only shows the little red light on and will not go to green .i have not got it connected to the LNB i had it sitting on the table next to my PC. the image definatly loaded ok-any help anyone please
 

mhku

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
4,712
Reaction score
20
Points
38
My Satellite Setup
TM Nano ~ sg2100
My Location
Midlands
What image is it? Did you use a null modem cable to flash the image?
 

larnerj

Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2006
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
70
My Satellite Setup
dreambox
My Location
east london
its the-DS team image-i just used this to see if it would work.yes i used null modem cable
 

mhku

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
4,712
Reaction score
20
Points
38
My Satellite Setup
TM Nano ~ sg2100
My Location
Midlands
Have you pulled the power cable out, left it for 60 seconds and reconnected it?

If that doesn't help, have you tried connecting again with DreamUP (following the correct power off, start DreamUP, connect lead, power up sequence)?
 

larnerj

Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2006
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
70
My Satellite Setup
dreambox
My Location
east london
thanks for your help ill try what you said right now.
 

larnerj

Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2006
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
70
My Satellite Setup
dreambox
My Location
east london
ive just used dream-up and it seems fine it says the -box is alive and speaking to us-but ive still only got the red light on. on the DB
 

mhku

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
4,712
Reaction score
20
Points
38
My Satellite Setup
TM Nano ~ sg2100
My Location
Midlands
If it can speak to the Dreambox I'd suggest tryin to flash with another image as your current one seems to be corrupt. Why did you previously think it was dead (post #1)?

Try flashing with Gemini 4.20 (just in case it's a clone) and see if it works or not. If it doesn't it would suggest a hardware issue.
 

larnerj

Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2006
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
70
My Satellite Setup
dreambox
My Location
east london
ok ill try that in the morning and see what happens.ill let you know tomorrow-thanks very much for your help
 

mhku

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
4,712
Reaction score
20
Points
38
My Satellite Setup
TM Nano ~ sg2100
My Location
Midlands
Hopefully we can help you get it sorted :)
 

larnerj

Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2006
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
70
My Satellite Setup
dreambox
My Location
east london
hi there bit late tonite been enjoying the sun-i downloaded the gemini image like you suggested perfect.i cnnected the DM to my tv and LNB and the gemini picture came on the screen the next option was what picture format i wanted -pal ect-i pressed the green button to ok and nothing, and this is when the red light is on the DM i cannot get it to start up it cant be that much wrong with it can there?many thanks
 

mhku

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
4,712
Reaction score
20
Points
38
My Satellite Setup
TM Nano ~ sg2100
My Location
Midlands
Have you tried swapping the power supply unit or tested it?

And there's nothing silly like a stuck button on the remote? Have you tried disconnecting the coax from the back of the back (the cable to the LN:cool:?
 

larnerj

Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2006
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
70
My Satellite Setup
dreambox
My Location
east london
yes ive tested everything you said -its strange i can turn it on using the- DCC-dreambox control center- i can just see the green light .so it is there.this is very strange and its driving me mad im using my technomate100c1 which is a very good box but i miss my dreambox
 
Top