Emp Centauri Switch With Azbox ?

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,661
Points
113
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
Having an issue with the recently purchased EMP centauri switch ...which works just fine with the F15 ..the Openbox and the TBS card..etc..
but refuses to acknowledge diseqc 1.1 commands sent by the AZ box ..
Ok ..to prove the AZbox was producing commands I swapped back to a Gecen disqc 1.1 switch ..
All receivers were happy _including_ the AZbox ..
Quite simply the AZbox doesn't operate the EMP switch..
Something different about the way the command is constructed ?..possibly non standard diseqc 'speak' ..I just don't know..
Has anyone else got an AZ box and EMP centauri 8 port diseqc switch ? ...are there known problems ? ...can anybody confirm or deny my findings ?
Any help appreciated ..as this one I simply cannot fathom.
rgds
VS
 

A nonymous

Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2006
Messages
3,586
Reaction score
913
Points
113
May be worth asking Analoguesat about this. I know he managed to get his working with his Dreambox.

I know it had something to do with a different setting of committed and uncommitted switch commands. It may well be the same with the AZBox.

Nano
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,080
Reaction score
9,813
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Someone called? :D

Long ago I put a sticky up in the DB section with details of how I got mine working with my 7020 - lets see if I can find it
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,080
Reaction score
9,813
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Here we go

http://www.satellites.co.uk/forums/topic/71701-up-to-8-lnbs-on-your-dreambox-in-pictures/
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,661
Points
113
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
Thanks AS...I'll investigate further but since I'm not using fixed lnbs on one dish ...but multiple dishes ..some with motor control ..in various forms (both diseqc 1.2 and usals ...it may well be the EMP simply isn't suitable for this purpose..
I may well end up using 2 Gecen switches in parallel..as these pass muster on any configuration.
Pity really as the EMP has excellent port isolation but is less versatile.
The Irony is that only the AZbox has issues.
I'm summising the chip used is less compliant with simple port switching ...ie ...one or t'other of the switches is not actually 1.1 compatible ...or the command structure sent by the AZ box isn't truely diseqc 1.1.
Very frustrating indeed.
rgds
VS
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,661
Points
113
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
...After much messing and tweaking ..I had no choice but to give up on the EMP if I wan't the AZbox in the system.
Went back to using 2xGecen diseqc 1.1.... 8 port switches in parallel..
No issues at all except the the Cuberevo ..which never worked correctly with diseqc 1.1 anyway..
Its now looped through the AZbox ...thus the AZbox is in control of the signals the AB9000HD receives.
An expensive stb at the time but very limited control and always has been.
rgds
VS
 

Rick

Retired Mod
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
636
Reaction score
6
Points
18
Age
41
My Satellite Setup
Fibo 1.2m HH, Wavefield T90. AzBox HD Premium, Vu+ Duo
My Location
Blackburn, Lancs
Sorry I missed this VS, I maybe could have saved u alot of time. I've tried both the 8 and 16 way EMP switches with the AZ, and both worked fine with uncomitted commands. What I could never get to work though was cascading switches and or motors. I tried Committed - Uncomitted, Uncomitted - Committed, Uncomitted - Motor all with no luck. The exact same hardware works flawlessly with my Vu.
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,661
Points
113
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
Thanks for the reply Rick ...
You more or less confirmed my findings ..and frustrations ..
What we need is 'standardisation'..when it comes to diseqc..
Some use cropped commands in the software I believe..and this isn't acceptable to certain chips in some switches...thus the problems arise.
Another similar issue can be found whed comparing say and SG2100 to a stab motor ..
dvbviewer and Crazyscan have 2 entirely seperate control structures for what are supposed to be the same usals motor control..
This is the sort of thing that highlights incompatibilities and conflicts.
rgds
VS
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,661
Points
113
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
Well after much messing and tweaking ..
Ditched the EMP switch and went for 2x Gecens ..
One in control of all LNB inputs ..and one in control of diseqc 1.2 motor control
The gecen will pass either ..but seperating diseqc 1.2 with 2nd switch using complementary ports allow only the required motor to be used without confusion..and both sets of Vboxes driving unselected motors.
Had to alter the Master Slave arrangement on the 3 SPS switches in use so as to get minimum losses and integrate all receivers..
I tried a 4th switch in place of one of the manual A/B switches ..but it severely restricts the return path for 22khz carrier and thus control of motors or ports.
Using this setup ..any of the receivers _including_ the AZbox ..AND the IP9000HD ...can access and control Any dish/motor ..fixed or moveable.
rgds
VS
 

Attachments

  • dish farm3.JPG
    dish farm3.JPG
    67.6 KB · Views: 122

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,410
Reaction score
8,153
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Superb!

So, no worries about whether or not you'll be able to view East Enders tonight.
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,661
Points
113
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
Superb!

So, no worries about whether or not you'll be able to view East Enders tonight.

Ewww ...not that desperate to watch TV G ..
but there are a few Shows I can recommend ..if you can catch 'em
Person of Interest
Grimm
Homeland
All from the good 'ole US of A
;)
 
Top