Equipment recommendation please....

beebbasic32k

Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2012
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
46
My Satellite Setup
HUMAX FOXSAT HDR
2 Fixed Dishes (19.2,28.2)
My Location
Scotland
Hi,

I have a HUMAX FOXSAT HDR and two dishes with twin cables on each. One dish pointing at 19.2 and the other at 28.2.

I would like to use the 28.2 for Freesat and the 19.2 for Formula 1 (via RTL).

Rather than buy a separate box for the 19.2 feed is it possible to buy some kind of adaptor/switch than can take the twin feeds from each dish and input into the Humax HDR receiver which will allow me to view Freesat and RTL seamlessly?

Thanks.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
32,670
Reaction score
7,414
Points
113
Age
57
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
You should be fine if you use two twin DiSEqC switches in line with the cables.
 

beebbasic32k

Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2012
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
46
My Satellite Setup
HUMAX FOXSAT HDR
2 Fixed Dishes (19.2,28.2)
My Location
Scotland
Channel Hopper said:
You should be fine if you use two twin DiSEqC switches in line with the cables.


Thanks for reply. Would you recommend anything in particular?
 

beebbasic32k

Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2012
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
46
My Satellite Setup
HUMAX FOXSAT HDR
2 Fixed Dishes (19.2,28.2)
My Location
Scotland
I have located a supplier of Technomate diseqc switches. Could someone kindly tell me what I should order and how it should all be wired in? Which cable goes where etc...

Many thanks.
 

Huevos

Satellite Freak
Joined
Sep 11, 2008
Messages
6,010
Reaction score
1,265
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
57E to 58W, C-band and Ku, DVB-S2, 4:2:2 and blindscan.
My Location
38.5ºN, 0.5ºW
Using a Freesat receiver in non-Freesat mode is no fun at all, so personally I'd recommend using a different receiver for 19.2E.
 

beebbasic32k

Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2012
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
46
My Satellite Setup
HUMAX FOXSAT HDR
2 Fixed Dishes (19.2,28.2)
My Location
Scotland
I only want to use the 19.2 for Formula One. Combining the two LNb feeds into one box keeps things tidier for me. What problems do you see?
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,613
Reaction score
8,308
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Huevos said:
Using a Freesat receiver in non-Freesat mode is no fun at all, so personally I'd recommend using a different receiver for 19.2E.




The Foxsat is fine in non-Freesat mode.

I have used mine both directly with an H-H Motor and now with multi-LNBs (One of which is from a Motorised system positioned by another box .... don't ask!).

Input A is connected via a DiSEqC switch to either the remotely positioned motorised dish or to a feed from a fixed 28E dish and Input B is permanently connected to a feed from the fixed 28E dish.

SWMBO can drive it quite happily between Modes and between Satellites.
 

beebbasic32k

Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2012
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
46
My Satellite Setup
HUMAX FOXSAT HDR
2 Fixed Dishes (19.2,28.2)
My Location
Scotland
Tivù said:
The Foxsat is fine in non-Freesat mode.

I have used mine both directly with an H-H Motor and now with multi-LNBs (One of which is from a Motorised system positioned by another box .... don't ask!).

Input A is connected via a DiSEqC switch to either the remotely positioned motorised dish or to a feed from a fixed 28E dish and Input B is permanently connected to a feed from the fixed 28E dish.

SWMBO can drive it quite happily between Modes and between Satellites.


So Input A takes feed from diseqc which has one feed from 19.2 and 28.2. Input B has single feed from 28.2. Is that my setup?
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,613
Reaction score
8,308
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Your arrangement is up to you, for your needs, but it is essential to use Input 1 (I said A before, but hey-ho) for any DiSEqC related purposes.

There is some useful info here _http://www.astra2d.com/diseqc.html

and yet more attached
 

beebbasic32k

Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2012
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
46
My Satellite Setup
HUMAX FOXSAT HDR
2 Fixed Dishes (19.2,28.2)
My Location
Scotland
Tivù said:
Your arrangement is up to you, for your needs, but it is essential to use Input 1 (I said A before, but hey-ho) for any DiSEqC related purposes. There is some useful info here _http://www.astra2d.com/diseqc.htmland yet more attached
Thanks for help so far.My needs are to watch freesat with twin tuner benefits (record, watch another etc...) and minimum watch RTL. Don't mind freesat being unanvailable during this time.
 

beebbasic32k

Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2012
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
46
My Satellite Setup
HUMAX FOXSAT HDR
2 Fixed Dishes (19.2,28.2)
My Location
Scotland
All setup now thanks. Switching between freesat mode and non-freesat is no bother.
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,613
Reaction score
8,308
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Very good.

The Foxsat is perfectly adequate for your purposes and, as you've found, there's no particular problem with mode switching (If you look at multi-Sat as a bonus, rather than as a thorny problem, then it's even better).
 
Top