New Channel ERT 1 HD / ERT 2 HD / ERT 3 HD

Adam792

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
1,260
Reaction score
1,152
Points
113
Age
31
My Satellite Setup
Dishes: 80cm (5°W), 80cm (30°W), 60cm Zone 2 (13°E/19.2°E/28.2°E)
Receivers: HTPC w/ TBS6905 4x DVB-S2 PCIe tuner card running TVHeadend, Octagon SF8008 mini.
My Location
Cheltenham
The Greek public service broadcaster has launched all three of its main channels in HD on the digital terrestrial feed transponders on 39°E (12223H and 12241H).

All 1920x1080i. They're BISS/ConstantCW encrypted in exactly the same way as the ERT SD channels are (ERT1 HD replaces ERT Sport HD).

Picture quality seems very good. There's an HD version of a black and white film on ERT 2 currently.

The upscaling of SD is pretty decent on ERT 3 HD - certainly looks nicer than the ropey TVE Internacional upscale on 13°E or LCI on 19.2°E.
 

Attachments

  • vlcsnap-2020-12-05-12h15m00s243-min.png
    vlcsnap-2020-12-05-12h15m00s243-min.png
    740.3 KB · Views: 13
  • vlcsnap-2020-12-05-12h16m38s539-min.png
    vlcsnap-2020-12-05-12h16m38s539-min.png
    509.1 KB · Views: 13
  • vlcsnap-2020-12-05-12h18m09s343-min.png
    vlcsnap-2020-12-05-12h18m09s343-min.png
    708.6 KB · Views: 14

Adam792

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
1,260
Reaction score
1,152
Points
113
Age
31
My Satellite Setup
Dishes: 80cm (5°W), 80cm (30°W), 60cm Zone 2 (13°E/19.2°E/28.2°E)
Receivers: HTPC w/ TBS6905 4x DVB-S2 PCIe tuner card running TVHeadend, Octagon SF8008 mini.
My Location
Cheltenham
We can't really go into that here - if you can already watch the SD versions, your receiver is compatible. The necessary data to clear the channels is widely available elsewhere online.

In my view these ERT (and the private channels on 3.1°E) seem to be encrypted in this unsecure way to allow a kind of "unofficial" satellite infill service on the cheap, while still being able to point out to rights holders that the services are technically encrypted to stop overspill. I say this because they could have made them multistream or encapsulated them in a more complex way to avoid the public watching them (they're technically only intended to feed the DVB-T transmitter network in Greece), but they didn't do so.
 

ozumo

te wo tsuite
Staff member
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
5,203
Reaction score
2,605
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham

william-1

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 2, 2005
Messages
12,203
Reaction score
12,278
Points
113
Location
Epping Forest
My Satellite Setup
OP Gibertini 100 XP+ Inverto Black Ultra Lnb
Superior Dark Motor (160° max)
(50 east to 45 west)
Octagon SX88+Optima (A/B switch) Edision primo IP S2

Raven 88cm Mesh Dish + IBU Twin output
Stab100 H to H (120° max)
(53 east to 45 west)
Octagon SX88+ Ultra HD (A/B switch) Golden Interstar Alpha_X
My Location
Epping Forest Essex
Any further mention of how to receive these channels & this thread will be closed.
 

solly

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 18, 2004
Messages
6,411
Reaction score
3,654
Points
113
Age
53
My Location
Tel Aviv, Israel
it mean sd cchannell fromm ert it cclose ?
 

Adam792

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
1,260
Reaction score
1,152
Points
113
Age
31
My Satellite Setup
Dishes: 80cm (5°W), 80cm (30°W), 60cm Zone 2 (13°E/19.2°E/28.2°E)
Receivers: HTPC w/ TBS6905 4x DVB-S2 PCIe tuner card running TVHeadend, Octagon SF8008 mini.
My Location
Cheltenham
it mean sd cchannell fromm ert it cclose ?

I don't think so for a while. Maybe in a year or two.

Apparently the private stations on 3.1°E may be added in HD soon too (the 12702H and 12720H versions would switch to HD and the new versions on 12737H remain in SD).

It's all to do with the 5G 700MHz terrestrial clearance in Greece, as has happened in other European countries including the UK, but they're using the opportunity to increase the rollout of HD.
 

ozumo

te wo tsuite
Staff member
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
5,203
Reaction score
2,605
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham
Anyone know if the F1 changed channel or has it been farmed off to pay TV? Believe it was on ERT Sports HD.
 

william-1

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 2, 2005
Messages
12,203
Reaction score
12,278
Points
113
Location
Epping Forest
My Satellite Setup
OP Gibertini 100 XP+ Inverto Black Ultra Lnb
Superior Dark Motor (160° max)
(50 east to 45 west)
Octagon SX88+Optima (A/B switch) Edision primo IP S2

Raven 88cm Mesh Dish + IBU Twin output
Stab100 H to H (120° max)
(53 east to 45 west)
Octagon SX88+ Ultra HD (A/B switch) Golden Interstar Alpha_X
My Location
Epping Forest Essex
F1 is now on ERT-1 HD & ERT-1 SD @ 39 east. Currently, live practise Russell has gone 2nd in Hamiltons car :):Y

Valtteri Bottas takes pole position at the Sakhir Grand Prix.
22-year-old George Russell is on the front row for the very first time.
It was so tight! Three hundredths and George Russell would have been on pole. As it is, that's the first time in his Formula 1 career that Russell has been out-qualified by a team-mate!

Mercedes will be really impressed with that.
 
Last edited:

MCelliotG

Specialist Contributor
Joined
May 10, 2015
Messages
1,012
Reaction score
1,199
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
TBS 5925, Mut@nt HD51, EDISION OSMINI, MABO 130X144, DRAGONSAT DS3000 LED MOTOR, INVERTO BLACK ULTRA TWIN LNB
My Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
All channels play native 1080i, including ERT3 where the sources are also available in native HD. Most graphics remain low resolution plus a few programs, but will soon switch as well!
It was long due, we must have had the only European public broadcaster without HD transmissions.
Now if only the logos were better! Way too big for HD without any transparency, completely unacceptable for HD transmissions!
 

ozumo

te wo tsuite
Staff member
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
5,203
Reaction score
2,605
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham
Now if only the logos were better! Way too big for HD without any transparency, completely unacceptable for HD transmissions!

Totally agree. Anyone with an OLED television is going to get screen burn in no time at all.
 

pipino

Back from the dead
Joined
May 5, 2005
Messages
913
Reaction score
144
Points
43
Age
54
My Satellite Setup
2X Channel Master 1.20 , 1X Channel Master1.80 ,1X Channel Master 2.40, Motorized Gibertini OP150 , Motorized Fibo MF90 ,, 70cm eliptical raven ..hirschmann fibre glass 1.20m
My Location
Comunidad Valenciana..ESPAÑA
you can forget about it iv heard it will be all under PISS 2 :D
 

william-1

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 2, 2005
Messages
12,203
Reaction score
12,278
Points
113
Location
Epping Forest
My Satellite Setup
OP Gibertini 100 XP+ Inverto Black Ultra Lnb
Superior Dark Motor (160° max)
(50 east to 45 west)
Octagon SX88+Optima (A/B switch) Edision primo IP S2

Raven 88cm Mesh Dish + IBU Twin output
Stab100 H to H (120° max)
(53 east to 45 west)
Octagon SX88+ Ultra HD (A/B switch) Golden Interstar Alpha_X
My Location
Epping Forest Essex

Captain Jack

Burnt out human
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,803
Reaction score
7,988
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
@Adam792 just out of interest and off topic.. How many languages do you speak enough to understand the broadcasts?
 

Adam792

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
1,260
Reaction score
1,152
Points
113
Age
31
My Satellite Setup
Dishes: 80cm (5°W), 80cm (30°W), 60cm Zone 2 (13°E/19.2°E/28.2°E)
Receivers: HTPC w/ TBS6905 4x DVB-S2 PCIe tuner card running TVHeadend, Octagon SF8008 mini.
My Location
Cheltenham
@Adam792 just out of interest and off topic.. How many languages do you speak enough to understand the broadcasts?

French, Spanish and also German to an extent.

Otherwise I'm just interested in what's up there like these feeds, and for what purpose! :D
 

Captain Jack

Burnt out human
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,803
Reaction score
7,988
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
I do wish I spoke more than just English and useless Russian...
 

rodscha

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
1,381
Reaction score
384
Points
83
Age
68
Location
carcassonne south France(Languedoc)
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
carcassonne south france,700ks south of Paris ,300k N of Barcelona
well,there are a lot of Russian channels on hotbird easy to get,
and a big load of Ukranians on 4 East equally strong signals.So plenty of Russian practice at hand!
 
Top