ESX242 How to setup.

macx

Regular Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2013
Messages
19
Reaction score
3
Points
3
My Satellite Setup
tm6902hd-t2 super receiver
6ft c.master dish.
My Location
county down.
Hi everyone, at a local Charity shop I picked up a Dual output Digital C Band LNBF ESX242 and have managed to mount it alongside the other LNB on my offset dish. I have tried 5W and no matter which way I try to adjust the LNB there is no response. All advice most welcome.

macx.
 

nelson_b

Contributor
Joined
Jul 27, 2008
Messages
1,969
Reaction score
2,038
Points
113
Age
73
My Satellite Setup
Strong 4375 driving a 2.4 m Channel Master dual focus offset + Invcom Quad C120 K/U l.n.b. + BSC 421 and Zinwell C band l.n.b.,s - DR HD F15 - TM5302 - Octagon SX88+Optima - GT Media V7 - HD receivers. + other dishes currently in use - Antique 3.0 m Prodelin P.F. - Channel Master 1.8 m offset - Channel Master. 1.2 m.
My Location
North West Yorkshire - near Lancashire & Cumbria borders.
hi - macx

i see you have a 1.8 channel master -- good dish -- very sturdy --

what receiver are you using ? --- and is its l.n.b settings set correct for receiving the C band l.n.b. -- eg -- frequency , single 5.150 ?

also did you get a feedhorn with the l.n.b. -- the offset channel master dish uses a cone shaped feed. although on a stronger sat like 5 west you should probably get some channels without one .

cheers
 

nelson_b

Contributor
Joined
Jul 27, 2008
Messages
1,969
Reaction score
2,038
Points
113
Age
73
My Satellite Setup
Strong 4375 driving a 2.4 m Channel Master dual focus offset + Invcom Quad C120 K/U l.n.b. + BSC 421 and Zinwell C band l.n.b.,s - DR HD F15 - TM5302 - Octagon SX88+Optima - GT Media V7 - HD receivers. + other dishes currently in use - Antique 3.0 m Prodelin P.F. - Channel Master 1.8 m offset - Channel Master. 1.2 m.
My Location
North West Yorkshire - near Lancashire & Cumbria borders.
just an after-thought - the 5 west transmissions are L and R circular
did you get a polarising plate with your l.n.b. ?

cheers -
 

Huevos

Satellite Freak
Joined
Sep 11, 2008
Messages
6,038
Reaction score
1,277
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
57E to 58W, C-band and Ku, DVB-S2, 4:2:2 and blindscan.
My Location
38.5ºN, 0.5ºW
macx said:
no matter which way I try to adjust the LNB there is no response.
How do you know the LNB is in working order?
 

Costactc

Regular Member
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
811
Reaction score
763
Points
93
Age
58
My Satellite Setup
3m channel master mesh-24" vonweise actuator-ps1 x2 lnbf(L)-pansat ap3500 positioner-x2 premium III-vu+solo2.
2.4m fortec solid-24" vonweise actuator-esx 241 lnbf(c)-vbox 7 positioner- dm800.
1.2m fortec-24"sj actuator-invacom snh-031--tm 5402 m3.
My Location
Canada
I've had an esx242 dual lnbf before on my 3m mesh bud. It gave me excellent results and I found it quite light in comparison to other lnbfs I have used. The esx242 is meant for a prime focus dish in use with a scalar ring.
 

Huevos

Satellite Freak
Joined
Sep 11, 2008
Messages
6,038
Reaction score
1,277
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
57E to 58W, C-band and Ku, DVB-S2, 4:2:2 and blindscan.
My Location
38.5ºN, 0.5ºW
Costactc said:
The esx242 is meant for a prime focus dish in use with a scalar ring.
There are scalar rings made so that LNB can be used on an offset dish and still work properly.
 

macx

Regular Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2013
Messages
19
Reaction score
3
Points
3
My Satellite Setup
tm6902hd-t2 super receiver
6ft c.master dish.
My Location
county down.
Thanks to everyone who has responded.

I have a Technomate TM-6902HD-T2 Super receiver, the 6ft off set dish is fitted with a Invacom NF 0.3dB LNB. The ESX242 is brand new complete with a Conical Scalar Ring, and a dielectric plate plus all the nuts and bolts. Searching the forum I found fotos which gave me some idea of how to mount the ESX 242 to the side of the Invacom LNB. At the dish I fitted a Technomate TM-25 Diseqc 2x1 switch.
I added a new Sat for 5W and found my way in the menu to add c-band transponders. In the menu I changed the LNB setting from Universal to OCS, then to Single this is as far I have got and need to be pointed in the right direction.

macx.
 

Costactc

Regular Member
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
811
Reaction score
763
Points
93
Age
58
My Satellite Setup
3m channel master mesh-24" vonweise actuator-ps1 x2 lnbf(L)-pansat ap3500 positioner-x2 premium III-vu+solo2.
2.4m fortec solid-24" vonweise actuator-esx 241 lnbf(c)-vbox 7 positioner- dm800.
1.2m fortec-24"sj actuator-invacom snh-031--tm 5402 m3.
My Location
Canada
Sounds like your getting there, I'm sure you'll scan it in in no time.
 

nelson_b

Contributor
Joined
Jul 27, 2008
Messages
1,969
Reaction score
2,038
Points
113
Age
73
My Satellite Setup
Strong 4375 driving a 2.4 m Channel Master dual focus offset + Invcom Quad C120 K/U l.n.b. + BSC 421 and Zinwell C band l.n.b.,s - DR HD F15 - TM5302 - Octagon SX88+Optima - GT Media V7 - HD receivers. + other dishes currently in use - Antique 3.0 m Prodelin P.F. - Channel Master 1.8 m offset - Channel Master. 1.2 m.
My Location
North West Yorkshire - near Lancashire & Cumbria borders.
hi -
the L.N.B setting sounds ok if its on (type) -- single .(frequency)-- 5.150 .
your Diseqc settings should be straight forward enough on a 2x1 switch.
the channel master dish is not the easiest to mount a offset C band l.n.b. to though, as to get the C band l.n.b. and its feed at the correct height the side support arms need to be lowered or set wider . have you managed to do that ok ?. if you have then you should be able to get signals ok . 5 west is a strong signal on a 1.8 dish - signals are circular so the dielectric plate will need to be in the l.n.b. -- if you have got the c band l.n.b mounted as close as you can to the k/u one the offset is roughly 6 degrees - mine is mounted to the left of the k/u one as you look toward the dish face. - and even picks up signals no problem from 5 west when the ku l.n.b is receiving from 12.5 west -- the C band signal spread from some transponders at 5 west is about 3 degrees wide.
try - tele sahel 3646 R(V) 2170 i find that is strong here for me

cheers --
 

Huevos

Satellite Freak
Joined
Sep 11, 2008
Messages
6,038
Reaction score
1,277
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
57E to 58W, C-band and Ku, DVB-S2, 4:2:2 and blindscan.
My Location
38.5ºN, 0.5ºW
nelson_b said:
if you have got the c band l.n.b mounted as close as you can to the k/u one the offset is roughly 6 degrees
BTW, Nelson is using a CM feedhorn for Ku. With an LNBf the closest will probably be about 4º. On my 1.5m it is at about 4.5º.
 

macx

Regular Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2013
Messages
19
Reaction score
3
Points
3
My Satellite Setup
tm6902hd-t2 super receiver
6ft c.master dish.
My Location
county down.
Hi,

I have checked everything several times over, with the dielectric in place, and then again without it. I mounted the C band lnb to the left side as you have, and lowered the side arms, and tried tele sahel 3,646 R (V) 2170. and did not get any signal. So maybe my ESX242 is flawed, and should purchase a new ESX241.

macx.
 

nelson_b

Contributor
Joined
Jul 27, 2008
Messages
1,969
Reaction score
2,038
Points
113
Age
73
My Satellite Setup
Strong 4375 driving a 2.4 m Channel Master dual focus offset + Invcom Quad C120 K/U l.n.b. + BSC 421 and Zinwell C band l.n.b.,s - DR HD F15 - TM5302 - Octagon SX88+Optima - GT Media V7 - HD receivers. + other dishes currently in use - Antique 3.0 m Prodelin P.F. - Channel Master 1.8 m offset - Channel Master. 1.2 m.
My Location
North West Yorkshire - near Lancashire & Cumbria borders.
hi -
maybe you "have" been unlucky and got a faulty l.n.b. ?
if your dish is lined up ok - and diseqc settings are ok etc -- you should indeed be getting something by now .

are there 2 sets of grooves 90 degrees opposed in the throat of the ESX242 to fit the plate in. - if so have you tried it both ways ? -

- or placing the plate at a different depth rather than all the way in . the position of the l.n.b in its holder (forward or back) can make a difference -- and how far forward or back the feedhorn is on the l.n.b. --- although these last adjustments are usually more critical with weaker signals . or just for enhancing the signal that you already have

regards --

edit --- try 3727 R(V) 29950 it is even stronger here than "tele sahel"
 

macx

Regular Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2013
Messages
19
Reaction score
3
Points
3
My Satellite Setup
tm6902hd-t2 super receiver
6ft c.master dish.
My Location
county down.
Hi,

Yes I have tried everything and as Costactc suggested the LNBF must be faulty, so maybe members could suggest a suitable replacement.
I have tried several times to reply to nelson_b and got the following “An error occurred with the SQL server” but after a short period things returned to normal.

macx.
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,105
Reaction score
8,687
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
SQL Server Errors were precursors to the implementation of this new Forum Software.

All should come good within a day or two.
 

nelson_b

Contributor
Joined
Jul 27, 2008
Messages
1,969
Reaction score
2,038
Points
113
Age
73
My Satellite Setup
Strong 4375 driving a 2.4 m Channel Master dual focus offset + Invcom Quad C120 K/U l.n.b. + BSC 421 and Zinwell C band l.n.b.,s - DR HD F15 - TM5302 - Octagon SX88+Optima - GT Media V7 - HD receivers. + other dishes currently in use - Antique 3.0 m Prodelin P.F. - Channel Master 1.8 m offset - Channel Master. 1.2 m.
My Location
North West Yorkshire - near Lancashire & Cumbria borders.
Hi,

Yes I have tried everything and as Costactc suggested the LNBF must be faulty, so maybe members could suggest a suitable replacement.
I have tried several times to reply to nelson_b and got the following “An error occurred with the SQL server” but after a short period things returned to normal.

macx.

hi --
on holiday at the moment using a laptop with a painfully slow GPRS connection ----

i,m using the -- BSC421 in fact i,m using 2 one with a plate and one without for linear sats -- good results on the whole -- i think "Pride 21" is still using an ESX241-- he,s had some good results.
" vipersan" has used one of each-- if i remember correctly ---
not sure about anyone else -- maybe they will reply here ?

cheers - nelson.b.
 

pride21

Regular Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2006
Messages
611
Reaction score
443
Points
63
Age
79
My Satellite Setup
150cm gibertini dish,echostar 8700 analogue receiver to move dish,motor jaeger 1224,also black ultra ku lnb and esx241 c-band lnbf and technomate 5402hd ci+ super also added a Dr HD f15 receiver
My Location
Sandown Isle of Wight
hi macx i have been using esx241, and out of seven other c-band lnbfs the esx241 is the best so far.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
35,770
Reaction score
8,646
Points
113
Age
60
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
I have a Technomate TM-6902HD-T2 Super receiver, the 6ft off set dish is fitted with a Invacom NF 0.3dB LNB. The ESX242 is brand new complete with a Conical Scalar Ring, and a dielectric plate plus all the nuts and bolts. Searching the forum I found fotos which gave me some idea of how to mount the ESX 242 to the side of the Invacom LNB. At the dish I fitted a Technomate TM-25 Diseqc 2x1 switch.
I added a new Sat for 5W and found my way in the menu to add c-band transponders. In the menu I changed the LNB setting from Universal to OCS, then to Single this is as far I have got and need to be pointed in the right direction.

macx.

If you have mounted the LNB to one side then you will have to move the positioner the same number of degrees away from the prime focus of the Ku band reception in order to get signal from the satellite. Don't forget the dish is a reflector, and the focus is a mirror image of where the satellite is transmitting from.

The correct LO setting for a C band LNB will be 5150MHz, once you have this programmed in the receiver memory, and you have selected the right switch setting (assuming you you are combining the two LNBs with one) you should start getting signals in from new band.
 

Costactc

Regular Member
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
811
Reaction score
763
Points
93
Age
58
My Satellite Setup
3m channel master mesh-24" vonweise actuator-ps1 x2 lnbf(L)-pansat ap3500 positioner-x2 premium III-vu+solo2.
2.4m fortec solid-24" vonweise actuator-esx 241 lnbf(c)-vbox 7 positioner- dm800.
1.2m fortec-24"sj actuator-invacom snh-031--tm 5402 m3.
My Location
Canada
The esx422 worked great for me, bummer you can't get it going. I'm presently using the dual bsc422 and have been for almost 2 years now without any issues.
 

macx

Regular Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2013
Messages
19
Reaction score
3
Points
3
My Satellite Setup
tm6902hd-t2 super receiver
6ft c.master dish.
My Location
county down.
The esx422 worked great for me, bummer you can't get it going. I'm presently using the dual bsc422 and have been for almost 2 years now without any issues.


Thanks everyone for your advice, I am waiting fro a reply from two suppliers for prices to send an ESX 421 to Northern Ireland, have tried a few UK suppliers who advertise these LNB’s but they are either out of stock or are I think far to expensive.

macx.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
35,770
Reaction score
8,646
Points
113
Age
60
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Thanks everyone for your advice, I am waiting fro a reply from two suppliers for prices to send an ESX 421 to Northern Ireland, have tried a few UK suppliers who advertise these LNB’s but they are either out of stock or are I think far to expensive.

macx.


You could post the alleged non-working LNB to somebody here to check out
 
Top