Help Required Faulty TBS6925

beavs2112

Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2012
Messages
168
Reaction score
404
Points
63
Age
57
Location
Canada
My Satellite Setup
see signature
My Location
London, Ontario Canada
Hi fellow sat enthusiasts :)

Where is TBS support in Europe? I am going to send the card in for an RMA. I'll search the forum here for an address or info but it can't hurt to ask also.

I wanted to share this annoying experience. I purchased another TBS-6925 card earlier this month that is causing me oodles of frustration. The PC works normally but as soon as I try to scan a TP or tune a channel or move my dish motors or even update a satellite list it causes a reboot with a BSOD. My other TBS-6925 tuner card works great in either desktop I have. One is an Asus G30AB HTPC & the other is an Asus M32 desktop.

The windows BSOD error info (SYSTEM_SERVICE_EXCEPTION TBS6925_64.SYS with stop code 0000003b) on the internet suggests an outdated video card driver which is not my case (the video card is a NVIDIA GTX770 & gets automatic updates). I've tried everything I can think of ..... updated & re-loaded tuner, video, audio card drivers, updated bios, rolled back tuner driver, different PCIe slot, different PC , several different DVB viewing programs in several different file locations, different sat inputs on the multiswitch) and it still causes reboots. CrazyScan says the tuner card failed to initialize and was busy.

Contacted the Amazon seller in the USA today for a replacement & received this reply
"Sorry to hear about this. There is a contact email address printed outside of the package, which comes from the manufacturer for professional technical support and other services. Please contact them directly. If it proves to be defective finally, we guarantee to give you a new replacement or a refund according to your request. regards DTV SHop"

At least you folks seem to have TBS support on the same continent. There seems to be very little (or very poor) in North America. End of current rant :)

Kevin
 

moonbase

Small Dish Man
Joined
Mar 29, 2004
Messages
4,403
Reaction score
4,514
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
.
My Location
UK
I do not think there is a TBS support centre in Europe, I think it is China?
 

pontiend

Contibruter
Joined
Dec 12, 2007
Messages
3,071
Reaction score
3,550
Points
113
Age
81
Location
South Yorkshire
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
south yorkshire
I got my first card from .DTV europe.when I had problems, it was sent to the address below.

Correction. It was DTV.EUROPE.


Mme DENG Shuxia
TBS EUROPE
10, jardin Boieldieu, appt 8
92800 Puteaux
France
Tel: 09 73 13 15 46
 
Last edited:

satesco

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 10, 2008
Messages
2,030
Reaction score
2,848
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
seven antennas,one toroidal with 16 lnbs,
6 satellite receivers,2 Meters,9 PC cards(tbs6983,6903,6590,6504,6522,6209,2603,6909X,6903X,6902se,skystar hd2),2 tuners usb-tbs5927 & tbs5925,Skystar HD.
Satellite reception between 100.5E-50.0W
My Location
Romania
beavs2112 said:
Where is TBS support in Europe? I am going to send the card in for an RMA. I'll search the forum here for an address or info but it can't hurt to ask also...

Here's the address of a representative of TBS in Europe,in Bulgaria: euro_support@tbsdtv.com.
TBS6925's card drivers have been solved a long time ago and don't think the error that comes from one of the last versions.Maybe you have a conflict between drivers installed.I don't know which one of them.One of them uses the same driver,probably,like you said,the one who can not initialize the tuner.
ps_There are some motherboards that are not working well with TBS cards.And in this case, you must contact the technical service of TBS
 
Last edited:

beavs2112

Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2012
Messages
168
Reaction score
404
Points
63
Age
57
Location
Canada
My Satellite Setup
see signature
My Location
London, Ontario Canada
I do not think there is a TBS support centre in Europe, I think it is China?
thank you moonbase for your help.. there was a misunderstanding on my part. since the e-mail said euro_support I thought there was a third party shop in Europe providing support. I have since learned support is in China.
 

beavs2112

Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2012
Messages
168
Reaction score
404
Points
63
Age
57
Location
Canada
My Satellite Setup
see signature
My Location
London, Ontario Canada
Here's the address of a representative of TBS in Europe,in Bulgaria: euro_support@tbsdtv.com.
TBS6925's card drivers have been solved a long time ago and don't think the error that comes from one of the last versions.Maybe you have a conflict between drivers installed.I don't know which one of them.One of them uses the same driver,probably,like you said,the one who can not initialize the tuner.
ps_There are some motherboards that are not working well with TBS cards.And in this case, you must contact the technical service of TBS
thank you satesco for the help. I doubt it's the MB since another TBS6925 in another PCIe slot on the same MB works fine. I put a PCIe wireless modem in the suspect PCIe slot and it works fine so its definitely not the pcie slot.
 

beavs2112

Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2012
Messages
168
Reaction score
404
Points
63
Age
57
Location
Canada
My Satellite Setup
see signature
My Location
London, Ontario Canada
I got my first card from .DTV europe.when I had problems, it was sent to the address below.

Correction. It was DTV.EUROPE.


Mme DENG Shuxia
TBS EUROPE
10, jardin Boieldieu, appt 8
92800 Puteaux
France
Tel: 09 73 13 15 46
thanks very much pontiend for your help. much appreciated :) hopefully TBS will just send me a replacement.
 

pontiend

Contibruter
Joined
Dec 12, 2007
Messages
3,071
Reaction score
3,550
Points
113
Age
81
Location
South Yorkshire
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
south yorkshire
Yes support was via email.It was pretty painless.My problem was the card not scanning 8PSKs.I was offered a repair or refund.
I was a bit depressed,so took a refund.
Soon got bored and bought another one.:)
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,663
Points
113
Age
66
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
Yes support was via email.It was pretty painless.My problem was the card not scanning 8PSKs.I was offered a repair or refund.
I was a bit depressed,so took a refund.
Soon got bored and bought another one.:)
Exactly the same issue I had with my first TBS card ...and even though it was close to guarantee expiry they replaced it very quickly..
A common fault I believe.
rgds
 

beavs2112

Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2012
Messages
168
Reaction score
404
Points
63
Age
57
Location
Canada
My Satellite Setup
see signature
My Location
London, Ontario Canada
Thanks for pointing me to that thread BF I had forgotten about that issue.

So I checked my Asus motherboard & its a Z87 version made in 2014. The thread lists Z77 versions having an issue in 2012. So probably not the issue. Also as mentioned before another 6925 card works perfectly on that MB in the pcie slot right next to the bad one so very doubtful its the MB or BIOS or PCIe at fault. Both cards (the good & bad ones) seemed cool temp wise & no issues according to the Asus temp & voltage monitors. Also the card doesn't work in a completely separate Asus desktop with a A55BM-A motherboard which is different again. I'm 99.9999% sure the card is bad so I'm sending it in for replacement to the seller in the USA today. They will confirm its faulty then send me a replacement no charge to me. They also offered a refund but I'm kinda hooked on these cards warts & all.
 

beavs2112

Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2012
Messages
168
Reaction score
404
Points
63
Age
57
Location
Canada
My Satellite Setup
see signature
My Location
London, Ontario Canada
Yes support was via email.It was pretty painless.My problem was the card not scanning 8PSKs.I was offered a repair or refund.
I was a bit depressed,so took a refund.
Soon got bored and bought another one.:)
That seems a common fault. One of the members @ Ricks reported this exact issue recently.
 

beavs2112

Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2012
Messages
168
Reaction score
404
Points
63
Age
57
Location
Canada
My Satellite Setup
see signature
My Location
London, Ontario Canada
replacement 6925 received from seller today. I'm happy to report it is working well. so it was a bad card.
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
16,241
Reaction score
4,214
Points
113
Age
81
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
My TBS6925 drops its voltage output to LNB's randomly. I now use a TBS5925 with no problems in the same PC.

I contacted TBS support and asked them to repair it - it's out of guarantee by a few months. They were reluctant to do this, but said I could have another one. Optimistically I thought they might be offering one at perhaps a reduced price considering I've been a good customer (also got a TBS6220), but no luck there, just a bit off the carriage price.
 
Top