Finally locked down Aden @62 East

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,661
Points
113
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
Tricky one for me ..as I can only get beyond 57 degrees with the TD88...so always a bit restrictive..plus I have to switch to diseqc 1.2 rather than usals to get beyond 60 degrees.
Intelsat 902 has never been the most consistant of sats at my location ...mush like NSS12 @ 57 East ..
So ..the signal locks at a respectable 6db on the F15 roughly every 3 to 4 minutes ...then promptly drops to about 1db ...sometimes vanishing completly..
The lock duration being 30 seconds at best ..
Still it was long enough to log Aden Live in at 11174H...and take a couple of photos..
rgds
VS
 

hvdh

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
2,226
Reaction score
3,114
Points
113
Age
57
Website
gso-satellites.nl
My Satellite Setup
Dr.HD F16, TBS 5927, T-55, Laminas 120 cm
My Location
Oss, NL (5.5°E 51.8°N)
Vipersan said:
I have to switch to diseqc 1.2 rather than usals to get beyond 60 degrees.
Did you actually try recently to go beyond 60 East on USALS with your F15 ?
Because I also used to have that limitation (65 East here in NL) with my F16.
But since a year or so, I can happily go beyond 72 degrees with USALS, until the Moteck limit.
So the software limitation in USALS must have been removed since some F16 software version (now I have 2.60p).
Might be the F15 is a different "family" though.

Here with my TD110, Intelsat 902 is quite easy of course. Other data-only transponders you may lock are 11064H 3100 and 11089H 2500.
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,661
Points
113
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
Hi Hvdh ...
Got to admit I haven't tried pushing past 60 with usals ...
Since no other set top box I've owned has had this restriction ...I just assumed it too is limited ...but I'll give it a go soon.
Not that there's much for me at this elevation and position ..
Only MIR @66 and that truely is my limit eastward..
MIR is also very intermittent for me ...but a good 5db when it cooses to lock.
rgds
VS
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,216
Reaction score
7,464
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
I can get to 70.5E with USALS. Nice catch Viper - it's a tricky channel here but relatively stable once locked (about 40% SNR on the Uno)
 

far78

Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2011
Messages
143
Reaction score
64
Points
28
Age
42
My Satellite Setup
1m Orbital and Supreme Intelligent Dark Motor, TBS 6925 and Tevii S464 PC cards, TM5402 M1
My Location
York, North Yorkshire
68.5E is my definite reception limit so far but since my motor was replaced, the signal is quite strong (70-80% on Press TV there on my TM-5200!). I might try 70.5E again one day - looking at dishpointer, theoretically anyway, its possible for me.

By the way, using a PC card and SmartDVB software, I can get to 72E in theor anyway via USALS. Technomates have the same issue of 60E-60W being the limit for USALS.
 

hvdh

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
2,226
Reaction score
3,114
Points
113
Age
57
Website
gso-satellites.nl
My Satellite Setup
Dr.HD F16, TBS 5927, T-55, Laminas 120 cm
My Location
Oss, NL (5.5°E 51.8°N)
That's right my TBS 6925 also does USALS over the full range, while all my previous receivers had that limitation of +/- 60 degrees.
IIRC it's caused by Stab's USALS software that is incorporated in many receiver firmwares.

70.5 east shows lots of activity in spectrum, but has little lockable signals to offer apart from an occasional feed and the (usually encrypted) Canadian transponder, that is much weaker than 68.5 east BTW. 72 east is even more disappointing...
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,216
Reaction score
7,464
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
There's nothing on 72E at the moment though, right?
 

hvdh

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
2,226
Reaction score
3,114
Points
113
Age
57
Website
gso-satellites.nl
My Satellite Setup
Dr.HD F16, TBS 5927, T-55, Laminas 120 cm
My Location
Oss, NL (5.5°E 51.8°N)
Something is out there...
Here there is a clear peak around 11598H, about 10 MHz wide, but even qwer can't lock it, unknown modulation also.
Also reported by qwer:
12512H 6750 3/4 32APSK
12645H 28000 3/4 16APSK
 

RimaNTSS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
5,141
Reaction score
5,485
Points
113
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
Some SAT-related hardware.
My Location
N-E from Riga
Intelsat 902 @ 62*E was not in my list at all. So changed sattelites.xml file using _http://satellites-xml.org/. It appears that Aden live is not in active transponder's of the database. Added frequency manually and locked that bird with almost 8dB.
2Vipersan: Where did you get time-machine if date on your receiver (picture #3, post #1) is October 2014? :confused
 
Top