1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Firefox 57

Discussion in 'Computer Discussion' started by Lazarus, Nov 12, 2017.

  1. Lazarus

    Lazarus Tout Rond Bon Oeuf Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    23,410
    Likes Received:
    6,443
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    80cm Motorised.
    Several small Dishes.
    Much else.
    My Location:
    North York Moors
    Wow!

    Manually downloaded it two days before roll-out.

    Just wow!
     
    Llew and Chris1979 like this.
  2. Lazarus

    Lazarus Tout Rond Bon Oeuf Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    23,410
    Likes Received:
    6,443
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    80cm Motorised.
    Several small Dishes.
    Much else.
    My Location:
    North York Moors
    Good: Sleek, fast, responsive, really smooth scrolling.

    Bad: Legacy Extensions cannot be used. Still a resource hog.

    But I like it. Thought I wouldn't, hence going Pale Moon recently, but who can resist seeing what all the hype is about ?

    For those with Auto-updating enabled, it should be delivered tomorrow 14 Nov.
     
    Chris1979 and 4wd like this.
  3. hairybadger

    hairybadger Bricoleur

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,336
    Likes Received:
    768
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    46.1N 6.4E
    My Satellite Setup:
    see sig
    My Location:
    near Geneva, Haute-Savoie, France
    I can't notice much difference for now. I'll see how it goes over the course of the next few days - memory consumptions always used to be a bugbear.

    The only extension I've lost is downthemall but over the past few months I've made sure all my extensions are either up-to-date or I've found WebExtensions alternatives (legacy extensions being XUL).
     
    Lazarus likes this.
  4. pontiend

    pontiend senile member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    2,808
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    See Signature
    My Location:
    south yorkshire
    Edit I have 56.02 installed not 57.Though this probably still Applies if your options menu has changed.
    You can change back to the old version if you want to.
    Firefox Old Menu
    In address bar type.
    about:config.
    If happy to take risk. Ignore warning.
    Scroll down to.
    Browser Preferences.Use Old Organization.
    Double click to change false to true.
    Or true to false to change it back to the new version.
    exit
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2017
    Chris1979 and Lazarus like this.
  5. 4wd

    4wd Getting the picture

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,165
    Likes Received:
    1,748
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    5 W, 9-13-19-28 E
    My Location:
    Bergen, Norway \ Alpes Maritimes, France
    Would really like to start using it, but still wating to see some much used extensions maybe getting updated, especially noscript, before committing.
     
  6. Lazarus

    Lazarus Tout Rond Bon Oeuf Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    23,410
    Likes Received:
    6,443
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    80cm Motorised.
    Several small Dishes.
    Much else.
    My Location:
    North York Moors
    Ok, the public release is now live on the update channel.
     
  7. Channel Hopper

    Channel Hopper Suffering fools just so you don't have to Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    23,200
    Likes Received:
    4,677
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
    My Location:
    UK South East
    Not here is's not, still saying 56 is the latest
     
  8. Lazarus

    Lazarus Tout Rond Bon Oeuf Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    23,410
    Likes Received:
    6,443
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    80cm Motorised.
    Several small Dishes.
    Much else.
    My Location:
    North York Moors
    Have you gone to the "About Firefox" option nested under the "?" or "Help" Menu?

    It'll allow a latest version check and offer you 57.

    If not, I don't know why! Maybe because I was previously using the Beta Version?

    Anyhow, you'll get it soon enough.
     
  9. Channel Hopper

    Channel Hopper Suffering fools just so you don't have to Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    23,200
    Likes Received:
    4,677
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
    My Location:
    UK South East
    The former
     
    Lazarus likes this.
  10. aceb

    aceb Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    Prof Tuner 7301 /
    1.25m Gibertini + Inverto B.Ultra/C1W, Moteck H180, 68.5E-67W Ku/C-Band /
    1.8m Precision PF + ESX241/Inverto Black Pro, 66E-63W Ku/C-band /
    2.4m Fortec Star+Titanium C1W/Pride plate, 49E-58W
    My Location:
    Sussex
    Here's mine

    ff.jpg
     
  11. Lazarus

    Lazarus Tout Rond Bon Oeuf Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    23,410
    Likes Received:
    6,443
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    80cm Motorised.
    Several small Dishes.
    Much else.
    My Location:
    North York Moors
    Yes, it seems I'm honoured having been a Beta user.

    Ah, well, it'll come .....
     
  12. Topper

    Topper Amo Amas Amant Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    20,899
    Likes Received:
    2,962
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    IDD CI24 ECONO MM Penta 1.20 Galaxy II
    1.2Mtr Polar MTG yes it has been on the arc for 25 years and is now fixed on 13 East using two pairs of rusty molegrips. Unlike me they never groan but always perform.
    My Location:
    Blackburn, Lancashire

    Nope my test installation updated using the 'about Firefox' method although which programmer thought of that ridiculous method of updating rather than just an update link to click on, needs the finger of both hands hitting with a coal hammer

    EDIT I have to say I much prefer the simplicity of Epic, despite it not working with every application
     
  13. Lazarus

    Lazarus Tout Rond Bon Oeuf Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    23,410
    Likes Received:
    6,443
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    80cm Motorised.
    Several small Dishes.
    Much else.
    My Location:
    North York Moors
    Second Attempt ..... it is deffo available now, on the Mainstream Update Channel as well as the Beta Channel :D


    Capture.JPG
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2017
    Chris1979 likes this.
  14. hairybadger

    hairybadger Bricoleur

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,336
    Likes Received:
    768
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    46.1N 6.4E
    My Satellite Setup:
    see sig
    My Location:
    near Geneva, Haute-Savoie, France
    argh - I was trying to click on that to make it go away. Thanks @Lazarus ! :)
     
    Lazarus likes this.
  15. Lazarus

    Lazarus Tout Rond Bon Oeuf Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    23,410
    Likes Received:
    6,443
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    80cm Motorised.
    Several small Dishes.
    Much else.
    My Location:
    North York Moors
  16. hairybadger

    hairybadger Bricoleur

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,336
    Likes Received:
    768
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    46.1N 6.4E
    My Satellite Setup:
    see sig
    My Location:
    near Geneva, Haute-Savoie, France
    I even wondered why it was showing 32-bit when mine is installed 64 :(
     
  17. Chris1979

    Chris1979 Super Moderators Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,859
    Likes Received:
    5,855
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    Gibertini OP150, Motek H180 H2H.
    Amiko S100 SMR99G H2H.
    Technomate 88cm Mesh SMR99G H2H.
    Sky Mini Dish on 28.2°E as Freesat.
    ISS 1.0m, Triax TD88, Gibertini 125.

    Dr HD D15, TBS6983, TM5302 x2, Vu Duo.
    My Location:
    South Somerset.
    Anyone tried foxmarks with it?
     
  18. Lazarus

    Lazarus Tout Rond Bon Oeuf Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    23,410
    Likes Received:
    6,443
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    80cm Motorised.
    Several small Dishes.
    Much else.
    My Location:
    North York Moors
    Now called Xmarks, lest anyone be confused ;)
     
    Chris1979 likes this.
  19. Lazarus

    Lazarus Tout Rond Bon Oeuf Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    23,410
    Likes Received:
    6,443
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    80cm Motorised.
    Several small Dishes.
    Much else.
    My Location:
    North York Moors

    SWMBO's Laptop is still awaiting the 64 bit release for Linux. Takes longer as I prefer to use the Repositories for Linux, rather than via a third-party link.

    But she's also happily been using Pale Moon of late.
     
  20. william-1

    william-1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    6,059
    Likes Received:
    8,004
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Epping Forest
    My Satellite Setup:
    100cm Gibertini + Inverto Black Ultra
    (50 east to 45 west)
    TM6902 HD / Octagon SX88 /TM5502HD

    88cm Dish
    (53 east to 45 west)
    TM5302HD / TM5402HD M1

    45cm + Quad Lnb for 28.2E = SpiderboxHD9000+Eaglebox 800HD

    VM Modem/ZooStorm PC
    My Location:
    Epping Forest Essex
    Likewise 64 bit installed here,
    I prefer it to the other 4 browsers installed & it is faster than MS Edge despite their boasts that theirs is better :-rofl2
     
    Lazarus likes this.

Share This Page

Click here to support our sponsors