Advice Needed First motorised dish

Sat-Junky

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
2 x SkyBox F3 + 28.2E fixed, VU+ Solo + Triax TD110 +
Inverto Black Ultra High-Gain Single LNB + Alsat Supreme Intelligent LED DiSEqC DarkMotor, Slingbox Pro HD
My Location
Manchester
Finally decided go for a motorised dish planning on placing the order for the kit today just need some advice. I’m not aiming for any specific channels or satellites I just want as many channels as I can from as many different satellites as possible with a Triax TD110. I have never used a motorised dish before and don’t know much about it.

Here’s what my list is looking like now feel free to suggest alternatives

Triax TD110

Inverto Black Ultra High-Gain Single LNB

Alsat DiSEqC Motor Dark Gear Supreme LED
Is it any better than Alsat Superior DiSEqC DarkMotor All Metal Gears other than having LED? If not I’ll go for Alsat Superior DiSEqC DarkMotor All Metal Gears

I’ll be using it with a Cloud Ibox do I need Alsat V-Box 400 GBOX v2000 DiSEqC Positioner?

What sort of pole and brackets will I need and where do I get these from for above the gutter install?

Will I need a single feed or twin feed and what are the best cables to use?

Captain Jack

Burnt out human
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
I am unfamiliar with a Cloud IBox but you don't need a GBox for a DiSEqC motor. It's only needed for old-school 36v motors, which your selected motor isn't, so they can be controlled by receivers without 36v positioner (all current receivers).

The dish you selected is a great performer but please be aware that it's really, very awkward to adjust elevation on it as the bracket is stupid. When you think you have the best signal and go to tighten it up, the alignment is lost. For your needs, I would go for a 1m Gibertini or maybe even an Orbital one - especially as the TD110 might be a little on the heavy side for over the gutter installation.