freesat in france

vonnie

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
axil kit with boston dvb 4500 receiver
My Location
south west france
is this the right place for asking set up questions- am a first timer to all this! we have moved to france and need to access freesat to get some uk tv as can't get through winter with just french tv!! we have bought a kit from brico depot that includes an 80cm Axil dish and a boston DVB4500 free to air receiver and an LNB that seems to be for receiving astra and hotbird. can we set it up to receive free to air from uk- not sure if have to get this on astra 2A or eurobird. we live near carcassonne in france and want some help as we are total novices at this game(we had cable in the uk so no set up problems!!). any answers will be very helpful- thanks for all we have read so far on a great forum.
vonnie:confused

HB13DISH

Retired Mod
Reaction score
My Location
Middle East - Israel
You need to point the dish to Astra 28.2E
_http://www.lyngsat.com/28east.html
The LNB you bought is probably for Astra 19.2E and Hot Bird 13E (6 degrees difference)
The dish size 80cm is probably too small for all weather conditions, but I am sure that someone living in France might give a more precise size.

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
An 80cm is probably at the lower limit for all weather reception, a 90cm would probably be better. You can use the monobloc LNB, but you will only receive one satellite with it, try and identify which side is the default side and mount that side in the LNB clamp.

Did the kit come with a little satellite meter?

philbury

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
W7MC - FireDTV and hauppauge S2 tuners
My Location
London & Languedoc
Hi