Freesat problems in Brittany, France

Joined
Jun 7, 2012
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Hi, can anyone help please. We are staying in Brittany and owing to the not so nice weather this week decided to get our satellite dish up and running. We have installed the dish, using a signal finding meter found what we thought was the signal we wanted, the freesat receiver (Triax SR110) can only find german, dutch, french and even far east channels but nothing from the UK. What are we doing wrong??
 

woborny

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
1,086
Reaction score
270
Points
83
Age
48
My Satellite Setup
1.8m Dish, most Sky and Freesat receivers, 80cm on Illusion motor and Dreambox DM7025, TDT, TDT HD, Ariva 100e,
My Location
Gandia, 70kms south of Valencia, Spain
You are on the wrong satellite.
Your dish is more than likely pointing towards Astra 1 group of satellites at 19 east.
For Freesat, you need the group of satellites at 28 east.

So, from behind the dish it needs to be moved to the left and down a bit.

Your signal meter will only tell you when it is on a satellite, not on the correct satellite.
 
Joined
Jun 7, 2012
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Thank you, will give it another try when hubby comes back from Super U, I have sent him out for a "time out" as he was getting frustrated!!!
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,410
Reaction score
8,153
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Well finding a Satellite at all is cause for celebration!

Shifting it a bit further should now be a relatively simple matter.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,080
Reaction score
9,813
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
As Tivu says you have done the difficult bit, and thats getting ANY signal. Make sure you mark up the bolts & mountings with a pencil, tippex or similar so if you get hopelessly lost you can easily reset.
 
Joined
Jun 7, 2012
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Hi Guys
Just want to say A BIG THANK YOU to all of you that helped. After abandoning the satellite problem due to weather conditions (heavens opened!!) yesterday, we have tried again this morning and success......we now have located the right satellite and have now got all our UK channels. Thanks again xx
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,410
Reaction score
8,153
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Excellent!

Please leave it up for our own hol over there in ten days time .................
 
Top