freeview abroad

alfa12

Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2007
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
48
My Satellite Setup
HUMAX5400 GILBETRINI 1.65
My Location
GREECE
goodmorning to everybody, could you please tell me how shall request for a freeview card and a decoder so i can have through sat the channel 4-5 -skyone etc away from uk? because in my first effort they thought that i was asking for freeview via cable - any suggestions? thanks in advance
 

Mickha

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
5,626
Reaction score
663
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
1.2M Channel Master, 1224 motor, VU+ Duo 2
My Location
North West
Freeview only covers channel 4, channel 5 and Sky 3, not Sky one.
For Sky One you need to subscribe to the basic package.
Can you please specify exactly which type of card you require, are you trying to get the new Freesat package?
Freesat is a joint venture between ITV and the BBC, claiming to have more than 80 channels, which I have not seen listed.
 

Zorba

Regular Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2003
Messages
2,201
Reaction score
7
Points
38
Age
60
My Satellite Setup
3m(28.2E),1.5m(19.2E.13E,10E),1m (4W ,7W)1m (?).diseqc 10,sky plus,VU+,telergy iptv.
Satlook nit colour + Horizon hdsm.
My Location
Limassol, Sunny Cyprus
Freeview is only digital terrestial in the UK.
You mean Freesat. Sky will sell you a freesat card (ch4,five,sky three,five us and five life) to an address in the UK and connect it to any sky digibox,probably activated in the UK first before you take it away.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
48,885
Reaction score
9,738
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
This is getting very complicated what with all the Free****** names

FreeView is the DTT service only available through the UK transmitter network

Freesat is the NEW service about to launch which will eventually carry all the UK PSB channels and any other channels which want to join in with the fun but with no scrambling of any sort.

FreesatfromSky is the current non subscription service from SkyUk which uses a 20 quid card to decrypt a limited choice of channels on a sky digibox. This one is likely to be quietly phased out once Freesat launches.
 

koansrc

Regular Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2006
Messages
315
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
57
My Satellite Setup
CM 3.0m @ 28.2 w PACE
My Location
Athens-Greece
alfa12 said:
goodmorning to everybody, could you please tell me how shall request for a freeview card and a decoder so i can have through sat the channel 4-5 -skyone etc away from uk? because in my first effort they thought that i was asking for freeview via cable - any suggestions? thanks in advance

Hi alfa12, look here ;)

_http://www.xe.gr/pages/Results.aspx?cat_id=47&SC_GUID=7890241b-de27-496a-9570-e15a2b54ea9b

Are you in Greece ? where ? PM if you like.
 

alfa12

Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2007
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
48
My Satellite Setup
HUMAX5400 GILBETRINI 1.65
My Location
GREECE
koansrc,thanks for your apply i cant find the choice to send you a pm i am from kos, i have a frfiend in uk who is paying my subscription and from him i have ordered the freesat we are talking for about 150 euro do you think that i can find it cheaper in greece?
eyxaristv gia thn apanthsh sou
 

koansrc

Regular Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2006
Messages
315
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
57
My Satellite Setup
CM 3.0m @ 28.2 w PACE
My Location
Athens-Greece
You're welcome. If you can sort it out through a friend in the UK, then that is your best choice. For PM I think you can go to "Private Messages" under your name top-right and then new message.

Good Luck & Happy Easter!
 

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
23,497
Reaction score
3,792
Points
113
Age
66
My Satellite Setup
1.2Mtr Polar MTG yes it has been on the arc for 35 years and is now fixed on 13 East using two pairs of rusty molegrips. Unlike me they never groan but always perform.
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire

mariust5

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Dec 8, 2005
Messages
507
Reaction score
120
Points
43
Age
43
My Satellite Setup
Cristor Atlas 100HD , motorised 1.1 Triax on Stab H-H
My Location
hastings , uk

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,077
Reaction score
1,453
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Ahh, that explains that then. :)
 
Top