Frosty cobwebs

timo_w2s

Retired Mod
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,359
Reaction score
2,883
Points
113
Website
www.timo.me.uk
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
I took a couple of photos during the recent cold snap by my old minidish that I use for Astra 1 at 19.2E in Buckinghamshire.
 

Attachments

  • frost1.jpg
    frost1.jpg
    188.9 KB · Views: 243
  • frost2.jpg
    frost2.jpg
    85 KB · Views: 231

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,034
Reaction score
383
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
East Midlands, UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
Yes, can look very pretty. Missed an opportunity to get some pictures myself over the last few days.
Nice Mk4 LNB on a Triax Mk2 dish :cool:
 

timo_w2s

Retired Mod
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,359
Reaction score
2,883
Points
113
Website
www.timo.me.uk
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
satelliteman said:
Nice Mk4 LNB on a Triax Mk2 dish :cool:
It certainly performs very well. Never had any issues with it looking at 19.2E unless it's a serious downpour.

Drilling through that paving slab was a real bitch though, nearly went deaf with the screeching even with ear plugs...
 

Piltdownpaul

No.1 Spike Milligan Fan
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
2,010
Reaction score
685
Points
113
Age
53
My Satellite Setup
Skybox F3,Icecrypt S3500HDCCI, Technomate TM3000D,TM5400Ci Super, Samsung HD HDD Freesat Box,60cm dish for freesat, TD88 dish on a Skybox F3 57E to 45W.
My Location
South Leicestershire (Fleckney)
Must be only 2 foot off the ground surely? Thats some going.
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,034
Reaction score
383
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
East Midlands, UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
I have a similar temp set up for 19e here.
 

Piltdownpaul

No.1 Spike Milligan Fan
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
2,010
Reaction score
685
Points
113
Age
53
My Satellite Setup
Skybox F3,Icecrypt S3500HDCCI, Technomate TM3000D,TM5400Ci Super, Samsung HD HDD Freesat Box,60cm dish for freesat, TD88 dish on a Skybox F3 57E to 45W.
My Location
South Leicestershire (Fleckney)
Still its a booming signal-if your LOS is okay than Bobs your uncle-though not in my case!
 

timo_w2s

Retired Mod
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,359
Reaction score
2,883
Points
113
Website
www.timo.me.uk
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
Piltdownpaul said:
Must be only 2 foot off the ground surely? Thats some going.
There's a 60cm dish above it for 28.2E which is why that dish is a bit low. Not only that but it is only a few feet from a fairly tall bush and a fence. I have to keep trimming the bush every few months or my 19.2E reception starts to fade but it's one of the few places left in the garden not blocked by trees for a decent south easterly view.
 

Piltdownpaul

No.1 Spike Milligan Fan
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
2,010
Reaction score
685
Points
113
Age
53
My Satellite Setup
Skybox F3,Icecrypt S3500HDCCI, Technomate TM3000D,TM5400Ci Super, Samsung HD HDD Freesat Box,60cm dish for freesat, TD88 dish on a Skybox F3 57E to 45W.
My Location
South Leicestershire (Fleckney)
To the average person it appears an odd situation. The guy at work was asking me the other day how you can pick up freesat resting a dish on a garden chair just off the ground. "Why have an aerial on the roof for tv and you can get away with a dish on the floor?"... I was surprised when i 1st set up atemporary dish in the garden getting hotbird on a garden chair. Now Badr4,that would be an achievement!
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
17,569
Reaction score
3,667
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
... a fairly tall bush and a fence. I have to keep trimming the bush every few months ...
Fnaar, fnaar.

Sorry, back to topic...
 
Top