Getting started

lockettpots

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
60cm Zone 2 dish. Skyline DSR4000 FTA receiver.
Home built PC based around Asus P5B-Plus mobo, Intel Core 2 CPU, NVIDIA GeForce 8800GTS, 2Gig memory in Akasa case.
My Location
Birmingham
Hi all

I'm completely new to all this and I hope I am asking in the right place.

I live in Birmingham(UK) and as part of learning Italian I want to view Italian TV. As far as I know they are on Hotbird.
I would be viewing them on an ordinary TV and I understand I will need a dish and a set top box. I would like to do the setup myself so to start with can someone tell me what size dish I might need and a recommendation for a cheap set top box. I don't think my requirements will ever go any farther than this.
Thanks in advance
John

HB13DISH

Retired Mod
Reaction score
My Location
Middle East - Israel
Hello lockettpots,
You are right. Hot Bird 13E is loaded with Italian channels, a lot are FTA and there is also an encrypted package subscription called Sky Italia which is very difficult to purchase outside Italy.
If by learning you need to listen to the spoken language then this is the place for it. Unfortunately I haven't seen any special TV courses for the Italian language.
It might help to read the subtitles in Italian on some channels while listening to the audio. Most receivers have this function and it can be switched on or off at will using the remote.
Rai Uno, Rai Due and Rai Tre have this occasionally on some programmes.
The teletext can also be a useful language learning tool.
From what I have read, in the UK a small dish is good for HB (60cm-80cm).
Any cheap FTA receiver would be OK, but you should wait for some recommendations on which models to choose.
Just make sure that it has subtitle support.

Robbo

Retired Mod
Reaction score
Website
www.mbcsatellites.co.uk
My Satellite Setup
TM6800HD, TM1000, TM600 Linux,TM2200 motor, Channel Master 1.2m motorised, TD110 dish Meter=Satlook Micro+G2 NIT
My Location