Greek Nova in the UK, can I use communal dish?

dedika

Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2012
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
74
My Satellite Setup
greek nova
My Location
UK
I am planning to move to a new appartment along the south coast and I want to have Greek Nova. The appartment has a communal Sky dish on the roof. My question is: Will I be able to use the existing dish for Nova or will I need to install a separate dish and what type/size. Thanks a lot.
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,126
Reaction score
1,489
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Moved from the site access and membership problems section.

If your communal system is a single satellite installation then it will undoubtedly be pointing at Astra 28.2 for UK Freesat and Sky, you will need a separate dish for Hotbird 13 East and Nova channels.
 

jpsr

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2009
Messages
269
Reaction score
17
Points
18
Age
40
My Satellite Setup
1.2 channel master, cm polar mount, 12 inch actuator, Andrews feedhorn, Inverto lnb, Superjack positioner, Dreambox dm 500s, Protek 9600ip, 1m channel master with black ultra & 1m gibertini with technomate twin output lnb on astra 1/2, TM 5200 & 1000
My Location
Mullingar, Ireland
If you turn that sky dish to 13e you will pick up nova on 13e.
I had a sky mini dish for nova for a bit on 13e with no problem, and that was in ireland.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,318
Reaction score
9,950
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
If he moves that (communal) dish to 13E everyone in the block will lose access to their Sky UK programming! :D And will probably get charged a nice fee for getting it sorted out!

He needs to install a separate dish - eg on a south east facing balcony if he has one
 

A nonymous

Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2006
Messages
3,586
Reaction score
913
Points
113
It all depends on if its a basic 5 wire IRS system or a 9 wire IRS system. if its 9 wire normally the second dish or second lnb is on 13e.

If the system has a second dish or 2 lnbs on the dish you will need a receiver that can do at least DISEqC 1.0 or above as the 13e dish is always DISEqC port A/B.

Sky UK has to be installed on the default port AA as Sky Digiboxes don't do DISEqC.

If the system has only 1 dish/lnb it will be on 28.2e so you will need to fit your own dish

Nano
 

aceb

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 2, 2007
Messages
1,522
Reaction score
819
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Prof Tuner 7301 /
1.25m Gibertini + Inverto B.Ultra/C1W, Moteck H180, 68.5E-67W Ku/C-Band /
1.8m Precision PF + ESX241/Inverto Black Pro, 66E-63W Ku/C-band /
2.4m Fortec Star+Titanium C1W/Pride plate, 49E-58W
My Location
Sussex
nano said:
if its 9 wire normally the second dish or second lnb is on 13e.
Can I just take this OT a bit, is this configuration common because there's a couple of communal systems across town from me that have exactly this arrangement and I've never figured out why? We don't live in an area of high immigrant population, in fact both blocks have many elderly residents so why would the housing associations want to pay the extra amount for the contractor to install two dishes, one of which has not much more than BBC World in English?
 
Top