HDMI or SCART

tdc

Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2011
Messages
31
Reaction score
1
Points
8
Age
68
My Satellite Setup
Dutch receiver
My Location
Horup N. Germany
Hi
Hope some one can help!
I have 2 satellite dishes. Astra1 and Astra 2 for UK and Holland reception.
The NL receiver works via a card that slots into the machine.
The UK receiver is a Humax HD box.
We can receive a good picture from both receivers.
The NL box is not HD. We want to upgrade to HD.
We also have a seperate recorder which is conected to both receivers and works OK.
The UK receiver is AV2 and NL AV1.
The conections are all via scart cables.
Can I replace all these with HDMI cables.
The two receivers both have 2 scart sockets.
I have been looking for an NL HD receiver but can only find them with 1 or no scart sockets.
Seems complicated to me I bet someone can help!
Thanks
Tim
 

timo_w2s

Retired Mod
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,359
Reaction score
2,883
Points
113
Website
www.timo.me.uk
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
For HD output on the TV you need to use HDMI. Many HD boxes only have one scart these days as the HDMI output replaces the second scart output. Chances are the recorder will only accept an analogue SD (eg scart) input but without more details of the unit it's only a guess. HDMI output can be blocked from recorders.
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
17,525
Reaction score
3,641
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
If you want to keep your existing recorder then UK to AV2 (as is) and get an NL HD receiver with a scart out and put this to AV1. Then run HDMI cables from the two receivers to the TV. Presumably the recorder is already connected to the TV from its output to a scart input on the TV.

You haven't said what inputs your TV has but I'm assuming that, as you want to change from SD to HD on the NL receiver it's HD, it has (at least) two HDMI inputs and one scart input. If not then it becomes a bit more tricky.
 

tdc

Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2011
Messages
31
Reaction score
1
Points
8
Age
68
My Satellite Setup
Dutch receiver
My Location
Horup N. Germany
If you want to keep your existing recorder then UK to AV2 (as is) and get an NL HD receiver with a scart out and put this to AV1. Then run HDMI cables from the two receivers to the TV. Presumably the recorder is already connected to the TV from its output to a scart input on the TV.

You haven't said what inputs your TV has but I'm assuming that, as you want to change from SD to HD on the NL receiver it's HD, it has (at least) two HDMI inputs and one scart input. If not then it becomes a bit more tricky.

Thanks for the replies.
The TV is conected to the recorder by a HDMI cable? From your comment I wonder if this is correct.
 

Huevos

Satellite Freak
Joined
Sep 11, 2008
Messages
6,005
Reaction score
1,263
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
57E to 58W, C-band and Ku, DVB-S2, 4:2:2 and blindscan.
My Location
38.5ºN, 0.5ºW
We also have a seperate recorder which is conected to both receivers and works OK.
Nicer would be STBs with HDD. Separate recorders are just not user friendly.
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
17,525
Reaction score
3,641
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
Thanks for the replies.
The TV is conected to the recorder by a HDMI cable? From your comment I wonder if this is correct.
No, I said

Presumably the recorder is already connected to the TV from its output to a scart input on the TV.
Is that not correct?
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
17,525
Reaction score
3,641
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
So, how is it connected?
 

BlindFaith

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 2, 2011
Messages
639
Reaction score
309
Points
63
Age
40
My Satellite Setup
-
120cm Echostar and 70cm (2nd location)
TBS 5925
My Location
52,0°N, 4,3°E and 52,5°N, 13,4°E
Get a new dual tuner HD-receiver with built hard disk.
 
Top