Help for non techies re: lost 5,5usa,5*, 4HD Foretecstar Passion HD in France

hairybadger

Bricoleur
Joined
Jul 20, 2012
Messages
1,377
Reaction score
778
Points
113
Location
46.1N 6.4E
My Satellite Setup
see sig
My Location
near Geneva, Haute-Savoie, France
The 1 metre Gibertini XP Premium I use in my multi sat set up (and prior to that on my motor) is a really excellent, well engineered dish. I'd certainly recommend it...
Hmm that's on my shopping list, either that or the SE variant (if I can work out what the difference is....), although I think I'll have to order it from Germany.
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,081
Reaction score
8,666
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
XP Variant appears to be marketed as a premium quality dish in terms of construction, fittings and corrosion resistance

SE Variant seems to be a lower quality economy variant with less robust fittings etc.
 

hairybadger

Bricoleur
Joined
Jul 20, 2012
Messages
1,377
Reaction score
778
Points
113
Location
46.1N 6.4E
My Satellite Setup
see sig
My Location
near Geneva, Haute-Savoie, France
XP Variant appears to be marketed as a premium quality dish in terms of construction, fittings and corrosion resistance
SE Variant seems to be a lower quality economy variant with less robust fittings etc.
ah - interesting. Bfsat (one of my usual suppliers) lists the 85cm XP at 79EUR and the SE at 89EUR! There is the "L" as well, which I know is inferior.
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,081
Reaction score
8,666
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Maybe I got it the wrong way round! (Working from failing memory)
 

hairybadger

Bricoleur
Joined
Jul 20, 2012
Messages
1,377
Reaction score
778
Points
113
Location
46.1N 6.4E
My Satellite Setup
see sig
My Location
near Geneva, Haute-Savoie, France
Maybe I got it the wrong way round! (Working from failing memory)
OK - from what I can work out from the Gibertini website (.it address but I can only seem to get it in German) the SE (I'm assuming this is the SERIE E) is a lightweight alternative ie weight has been reduced as much as possible. Thus it is more expensive, albeit less robust. According to the site it is only available in 40, 60, 65, 80, not 85, so now I'm even more lost... Either way it isn't available in 100 :)
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,081
Reaction score
8,666
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Well the best of luck making that particular decision!
 

Marp

New Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2013
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Points
1
My Satellite Setup
S/H 80cm dish + PSI LNB, 1 x Konig digital decoder. Acer laptop Win7 x64
My Location
Marseille, France
Hi,

I came across this thread only recently.
I am in Marseille and also have lost the 5 group channels. I can live without them, but I was just wondering:
- how critical is the skew angle (I'm fairly sure it's right, but it may be worth a fiddle...)
- does an expensive dish and LNB really make a big difference? (I got my 80 cm second-hand and it seems no worse than any others - slighly elliptical in shape...)
I receive all the ITV, BBC C4 etc channels fine, even when it's raining. I lost Movies 4 Men and MoreMovies a while back too and couldn't get them back which was a pain. Horror Channel is still there though :)
Some people here in this area seem to be getting by with an 80 or 85, but are we all going to have to upgrade to Jodrell Bank size once this new 2E satellite I've been hearing about comes on stream?

Cheers.

PS: Bonne année and all that
 

hexah

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 7, 2009
Messages
2,838
Reaction score
680
Points
113
Age
17
My Satellite Setup
motorized Gibertini 85cm, fixed dishes from 1m to 64cm, generic FTA HD RX, TBS DVB-S2 PC card, a pile of bits and pieces
My Location
Hadrians Wall

:-welcome1

I came across this thread only recently.
I am in Marseille and also have lost the 5 group channels. I can live without them, but I was just wondering:
- how critical is the skew angle (I'm fairly sure it's right, but it may be worth a fiddle...)

If you are getting the other channels ok then the skew should be fine.

- does an expensive dish and LNB really make a big difference? (I got my 80 cm second-hand and it seems no worse than any others - slighly elliptical in shape...)

The rule with dishes is the bigger the better. You can fiddle about with the other components all you like but the bigger the dish the stronger the signal. I always recommend people go a size up for satellites that are their main viewing so they should never have interruptions.

I receive all the ITV, BBC C4 etc channels fine, even when it's raining. I lost Movies 4 Men and MoreMovies a while back too and couldn't get them back which was a pain. Horror Channel is still there though :)

I think they are somewhat weaker now. Perhaps some one can confirm as I am not sure of changes to that beam.

Some people here in this area seem to be getting by with an 80 or 85, but are we all going to have to upgrade to Jodrell Bank size once this new 2E satellite I've been hearing about comes on stream?

We will have to wait and see!

It is possible to get reasonably priced dishes up to 1.2m though hopefully it won't come to that.
 

sonnetpete

Grumpy Old Retired Moderator and quiz inquisitor..
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
8,949
Reaction score
3,493
Points
113
Age
73
Website
wordpress.com
My Satellite Setup
Laminas 1.2M fibre dish with an IBU, on a Clarke Tech USALS motor, covering 57E - 24.5W to an Octagon SX88. Displayed on a 20" Dyon LED TV.

Seperate 80 cm dish on 28E with a Humax Freesat for SWMBO.
Free Sat V8 meter. Sony Bravia 46" LCD, Sony BluRay and Home Cinema.
My Location
Normandy, France
I'm getting all the 5 group of channels without a problem at the moment, up to 99% SNR. This is on an 88cm dish but with the LNB off focus as I use the dish with four additional LNB's to receive other satellites. I'd suggest that if your receiver has either a blind scan or network scan you use that or check on http://en.kingofsat.net/pos-28.2E.php for the frequencies your missing channels are now occupying and enter new transponders in your receiver.

I doubt that you'll have to go up as far as a 1.2m dish, even though you are at the other end of France from me
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
50,762
Reaction score
11,237
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
There were a lot of frequency changes last November when Sky took over many of Eutelsat's frequency allocations. So make sure your transponder lists are up to date

http://www.flysat.com/28east.php
 

Marp

New Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2013
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Points
1
My Satellite Setup
S/H 80cm dish + PSI LNB, 1 x Konig digital decoder. Acer laptop Win7 x64
My Location
Marseille, France
Great, thanks for all the info!
 

nebeluk

Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2008
Messages
41
Reaction score
1
Points
8
Age
74
My Satellite Setup
Fortecstar Passion HD 83cm Dish
My Location
Ste.Maxime, Var ,France
Hello, just got back from the UK, and have lost all BBC channels. The 5 bouquet are long time gone. Last night I was able to watch ITV3, but now today, almost everything has vanished; I seem to be left with a choice of the Food Channel or Sky News :-( I guess this is the end of Freesat as we know it here in southern France. Anyone got suggestions they would care to share?
Many thanks
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
18,024
Reaction score
4,046
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
Think you're going to have to go to a much larger dish if you can. Maybe 1.2m, 1.5m or something like that.
 

nebeluk

Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2008
Messages
41
Reaction score
1
Points
8
Age
74
My Satellite Setup
Fortecstar Passion HD 83cm Dish
My Location
Ste.Maxime, Var ,France
Think you're going to have to go to a much larger dish if you can. Maybe 1.2m, 1.5m or something like that.

Thanks for that Paul, but I am limited with what I can have as I have an apartment in a co-prop. Just a thought; would I be able to get Sky with the dish I have? I have friends in Spain (Alicante) and they have no problem with their service on Sky .
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
18,024
Reaction score
4,046
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
Thanks for that Paul, but I am limited with what I can have as I have an apartment in a co-prop.
Yes, that's a problem for a lot of people. Some are able to negotiate access to the roof, if it's flat, and put a large dish there.

Just a thought; would I be able to get Sky with the dish I have? I have friends in Spain (Alicante) and they have no problem with their service on Sky .
Yes, absolutely. You'll need your address in the UK and Sky receiver of some kind. Maybe you already have one in UK? You could take it out and back with you as I do with my Foxsat HDR.
 
Top