Homeplug Utility for Linux

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,105
Reaction score
8,687
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Took delivery of a couple of Trendnet 200Mbps Powerline Adapters yesterday.

Plugged them in and away they went. No problem.

Can now stream HD Recordings (With Encryption Flag stripped) from my Foxsat HDR to the other end of the house with no glitching.

BUT they came with a Utility CD suitable only for the dreaded Windows.

Ok, the Utility is really only for stuff like customising Security and for speed monitoring, but it would be nice to have it available.

I've Googled (Other Search Engines are available) and drawn a blank.

Does anyone out there know of a generic Powerline Utility for use with Linux Mint?
 

hairybadger

Bricoleur
Joined
Jul 20, 2012
Messages
1,412
Reaction score
784
Points
113
Location
46.1N 6.4E
My Satellite Setup
see sig
My Location
near Geneva, Haute-Savoie, France
Took delivery of a couple of Trendnet 200Mbps Powerline Adapters yesterday.
BUT they came with a Utility CD suitable only for the dreaded Windows.
Does anyone out there know of a generic Powerline Utility for use with Linux Mint?
Is it worth a try with WINE?
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,105
Reaction score
8,687
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
I can't get on with Wine, but I suppose I could try.

The only successes I have with it are using the more user friendly PlayOnLinux (Picasa and a Bell-Ringing Simulator).

Might give it a try though - thanks for the reminder!
 

sonnetpete

Grumpy Old Retired Moderator and quiz inquisitor..
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
8,955
Reaction score
3,499
Points
113
Age
73
Website
wordpress.com
My Satellite Setup
Laminas 1.2M fibre dish with an IBU, on a Clarke Tech USALS motor, covering 57E - 24.5W to an Octagon SX88. Displayed on a 20" Dyon LED TV.

Seperate 80 cm dish on 28E with a Humax Freesat for SWMBO.
Free Sat V8 meter. Sony Bravia 46" LCD, Sony BluRay and Home Cinema.
My Location
Normandy, France

hairybadger

Bricoleur
Joined
Jul 20, 2012
Messages
1,412
Reaction score
784
Points
113
Location
46.1N 6.4E
My Satellite Setup
see sig
My Location
near Geneva, Haute-Savoie, France
I can't get on with Wine, but I suppose I could try.
It's been some years since I last tried it, but I could never get much more than notepad running with it :)
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,105
Reaction score
8,687
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Managed to Install it, but it seems unresponsive.

A bit more tinkering, then I shall give it up as a bad job.

Not worth the candle.
 

hairybadger

Bricoleur
Joined
Jul 20, 2012
Messages
1,412
Reaction score
784
Points
113
Location
46.1N 6.4E
My Satellite Setup
see sig
My Location
near Geneva, Haute-Savoie, France
Managed to Install it, but it seems unresponsive.
A bit more tinkering, then I shall give it up as a bad job.
Not worth the candle.
How do you connect to them with the Windows tool? USB? Via the network? If they have their own IP addresses *maybe* you can drive them with a browser. Failing that, I find that swearing helps.
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,105
Reaction score
8,687
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Ethernet connection from Netbook to one of the Homeplugs on the system. Not sure if they can be accessed via WiFi.

Anyway, the Utility has Installed now.

Will go test it once Pop Master is over.
 
Top