How does quattro work.

joddle

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jan 12, 2007
Messages
555
Reaction score
106
Points
43
Age
73
My Satellite Setup
2x Pace 2600 C1 (in a box just in case) , 3 x Humax HD Foxstat (2 of which in store as spares) . 3x Manhatten Plaza - Pasat 2.4 PF dish mounted on flat roof with Invacom C120 quad LNB .
My Location
Massanassa, Valencia, Spain
I'm no expert but until now have used a quad lnb to feed 4 receivers in my house for many years here on the fringe.. However I could really do with 3 more feeds to allow use of pvr and to put sat points in 2 more rooms. Reading this forum and other info it seems I could consider using a Quattro lnb and 8 way multi switch. However I have no knowledge of how this would work in practice so have a few questions.

1.. how near to the lnb must the multi switch be ? i.e. Is a run of 15m ok?
2.. would all receivers be able to watch any channel at any time all at the same time?
3.. would there be much loss of signal if I used such a system?
4...is there anything else I need to consider?

I am planning to reuse most of the existing cable runs but of course will need new ones from the multi switch to the new locations.
 

RimaNTSS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
5,596
Reaction score
6,075
Points
113
Age
58
My Satellite Setup
Some SAT-related hardware.
My Location
N-E from Riga
Consider also putting OCTO LNB (LNB with 8 independent outputs). No need for multiswith, just run additional cables from antenna to new receivers.
 

joddle

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jan 12, 2007
Messages
555
Reaction score
106
Points
43
Age
73
My Satellite Setup
2x Pace 2600 C1 (in a box just in case) , 3 x Humax HD Foxstat (2 of which in store as spares) . 3x Manhatten Plaza - Pasat 2.4 PF dish mounted on flat roof with Invacom C120 quad LNB .
My Location
Massanassa, Valencia, Spain
Ah - should have said, I am using a PF dish and never seen a c120 lnb with 8 outputs - do they exist?
 

RimaNTSS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
5,596
Reaction score
6,075
Points
113
Age
58
My Satellite Setup
Some SAT-related hardware.
My Location
N-E from Riga
never seen a c120 lnb with 8 outputs - do they exist?
Perhaps they are not existing out of the shelf, but some people can adjust OCTO LNB for flange.
 
S

Steve Steve

Guest
For multiswich use.....All you need a Quattro LNB.....then 4 cables...( VL,HL VH ,HH )....to the multiswich.............after that ...you can have as many outputs as you like......Dependent on which multiswich you want to buy........But make sure the Multiswich you chose..... is a low through loss make.....

I use a Opticum 12 output multiswitch ....that seems ok......

so to answer your Question's....
1...15 meters is ok....

2...All receivers can receive any channel at any time...

3....maybe very slight signal loss....

4...Some special Multiswiches...can work with Quad LNB's..( to save you money buying a new Quattro LNB )....But ....I'm not sure which multiswitch make & model can do this..... ?....
 
Last edited by a moderator:

joddle

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jan 12, 2007
Messages
555
Reaction score
106
Points
43
Age
73
My Satellite Setup
2x Pace 2600 C1 (in a box just in case) , 3 x Humax HD Foxstat (2 of which in store as spares) . 3x Manhatten Plaza - Pasat 2.4 PF dish mounted on flat roof with Invacom C120 quad LNB .
My Location
Massanassa, Valencia, Spain
Perhaps they are not existing out of the shelf, but some people can adjust OCTO LNB for flange.
a bit of a gamble here on the fringe - I think sticking to a good c120 lnb is a better bet.
 

A nonymous

Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2006
Messages
3,586
Reaction score
913
Points
113
You can use a Vision V5-508 switch with a quattro lnb , you will be able to increase the power output on those switches by 10dB on sat so signal strength loss isn't an issue. It also compensates for signal loss due to the length of cable as the ports don't all output the same strength of signal. If i recall correctly the top four outputs signal strength approximately 2dB higher than the bottom ones.

If the dish is 15m away it won't be a problem. I have used these switches before with a run of 40m between switch and dish with very few problems. Most receivers these days will handle a signal strength as low as 55dB and still lock ok so there is a huge signal margin with these switches. You can also add a DVB-T TV signal into the mix also. The TV & Sat signal can be split up at the wall plate.

If outside of the UK you can use Terra branded switches which are the same units. They are identical switches made in the same factory by the same company, they just badged as Terra rather than Vision for use outside of the UK. They are available as a V5-508 or a V5-508MP (mains powered). The V5-508 uses a remote 18v PSU which can be placed anywhere and the power can be supplied through a run of coax cable.

The receiver connected will see the output port as an individual lnb output so a different channel on a different polarities and on a different local oscillator can be watched from a receiver connected to one port whilst a different channel is watched on another receiver connected to another port.

I have built systems using multiples of this brand of switch that have fed over a 100 properties from one quatrro lnb and one aerial so there shouldn't be any issues with how you are looking to setup your system.

If you wish to add two different satellite positions you can use a V9-908 which will allow you to connect two quatrro lnbs into the system so you could have 28.2e and 19.2e down the same cable. The receiver will need to support DISEqC 1.0 commands to utilise this type of switch.

Receivers without DISEqC will only be able to use the sat/lnb connected to the input A on the switch. The sat/lnb connected to input B will only work if the receiver can send DISEqC commands.


v5-508.jpg

Nano
 

joddle

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jan 12, 2007
Messages
555
Reaction score
106
Points
43
Age
73
My Satellite Setup
2x Pace 2600 C1 (in a box just in case) , 3 x Humax HD Foxstat (2 of which in store as spares) . 3x Manhatten Plaza - Pasat 2.4 PF dish mounted on flat roof with Invacom C120 quad LNB .
My Location
Massanassa, Valencia, Spain
wow - so much info. I now need some time to gen up on it all. Thanks to you all for the fast responses.
 

A nonymous

Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2006
Messages
3,586
Reaction score
913
Points
113
I have used most brands of switches in the past and i have always found Vision switches to be the most versatile brand out of all of them which is why i wouldn't hesitate to recommend them.

Nano
 
Top