How to choose an actuator for (an undocumented) polar mount?

A

archive10

Guest
With the new polar mounted additions to my collection, I need to get me some actuators (Yippie!)

Question is: Which size and configuration to get?
I see Jeager Superjacks all around, probably get some of those.

But should it be 18, 24 or 36 inches travel?
Is there a difference in prceision when going to the larger sizes? I.e. is it a question of getting it just right, or get the biggest that make sense on the mount?

And given mounts may have several points for attachments, where to attach?
(Forgive me if there is a How-To somewhere on this site, but I have not been able to find it yet. Do point to this if I have missed it).
 
A

archive10

Guest
With some rough assesment of stroke possible on my prodelin mount, and some resolution comparison of various sizes, I have now finalised the deliberation, and purchased an 18" actuator.

Have to say that, out of the box, it does look and feel quite substantial for the job.
But then again, it will become an integral part of the what holds the dish, so I suppose it will be fine.

From Jaeger Tech's web-site, i determined that the 24" has lower resolution than the smaller siblings, I speculate that this will translate into better steps on the extremes.

I will try and get the mount up this week-end, if I can manage to get some "quality time" in at some point. :)

Incidentally, I orderd a Jaeger SuperJack at hm-sat-shop.de in Germany. Upon opening the box, it appears that it is not a real Jaeger "SuperJack", but rather a clone or rival, branded "SuperPower Jack". Looking around the web, I am led to believe that this could be a Moteck product, or even some other chinese mfg.

Remarkably, I also orderd a SuperJack V-Box II. The delivered item seems to be a genuine Jaeger Tech poduct, although the thing, manual and packaging fails completely to mention Jaeger Tech...

Although I am not happy with not being sent the real thing (as was otherwise pictured on the website), it was nevertheless quite a bit cheaper than elsewehere (EUR 32), and I want to get the mount done now, not in a fortnight of bickering and sending equipment back and forth.
Can someone comment on if the SuperPower Jack is even comparable to a SuperJack, or is it a preposterous substitution of copy-wares?
 

Attachments

  • IMAG0247q.png
    IMAG0247q.png
    484.1 KB · Views: 139
  • IMAG0249q.png
    IMAG0249q.png
    525.4 KB · Views: 102

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
16,241
Reaction score
4,214
Points
113
Age
81
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
With some rough assesment of stroke possible on my prodelin mount, and some resolution comparison of various sizes, I have now finalised the deliberation, and purchased an 18" actuator.

Have to say that, out of the box, it does look and feel quite substantial for the job.
But then again, it will become an integral part of the what holds the dish, so I suppose it will be fine.

From Jaeger Tech's web-site, i determined that the 24" has lower resolution than the smaller siblings, I speculate that this will translate into better steps on the extremes.

I will try and get the mount up this week-end, if I can manage to get some "quality time" in at some point. :)

Incidentally, I orderd a Jaeger SuperJack at hm-sat-shop.de in Germany. Upon opening the box, it appears that it is not a real Jaeger "SuperJack", but rather a clone or rival, branded "SuperPower Jack". Looking around the web, I am led to believe that this could be a Moteck product, or even some other chinese mfg.

Remarkably, I also orderd a SuperJack V-Box II. The delivered item seems to be a genuine Jaeger Tech poduct, although the thing, manual and packaging fails completely to mention Jaeger Tech...

Although I am not happy with not being sent the real thing (as was otherwise pictured on the website), it was nevertheless quite a bit cheaper than elsewehere (EUR 32), and I want to get the mount done now, not in a fortnight of bickering and sending equipment back and forth.
Can someone comment on if the SuperPower Jack is even comparable to a SuperJack, or is it a preposterous substitution of copy-wares?
My SuperPowerJack 18" actuator did what was required of it - until the seal between the arm and control box perished and leaked water into the box after a year. It's now somewhere on a landfill site.

I then purchased a genuine Superjack 18" from a well-known (and expensive) UK satellite store. Why compromise, you never know what you're getting from some of these retailers.
 
A

archive10

Guest
My SuperPowerJack 18" actuator did what was required of it - until the seal between the arm and control box perished and leaked water into the box after a year. It's now somewhere on a landfill site.

I then purchased a genuine Superjack 18" from a well-known (and expensive) UK satellite store. Why compromise, you never know what you're getting from some of these retailers.

Yes, I see what you mean. Having quality stuff is often important in climates such as ours, with lots and lots of rain, and coastal situations etc.

If I don't get time to put up the mount tomorrow, I may consider returning it for a refund.
 
A

Archive-8

Guest
Hisat in the uk did that to me I ordered a superjack 18" and got a superpower jack.
 

hexah

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 7, 2009
Messages
2,838
Reaction score
680
Points
113
Age
17
My Satellite Setup
motorized Gibertini 85cm, fixed dishes from 1m to 64cm, generic FTA HD RX, TBS DVB-S2 PC card, a pile of bits and pieces
My Location
Hadrians Wall
One useful trick is to use self amalgamating tape to seal on an actuator boot and to cover the other seals. But I don't think you can get them anymore. In the olden days I used a :oops: plastic bag instead.

Channel Hopper recommends motorcycle shocks gaiters. Which look uncannily like the olden actuator boots . . .
 
A

archive10

Guest
One useful trick is to use self amalgamating tape to seal on an actuator boot and to cover the other seals. But I don't think you can get them anymore. In the olden days I used a :oops: plastic bag instead.

Channel Hopper recommends motorcycle shocks gaiters. Which look uncannily like the olden actuator boots . . .
That's an idea. Could also look to reuse the one that came with the Nokia actuator on the SMW dish I got the other week.

Speaking of old actuators - do these thing suffer from "natural decay", or could a 20 year old Nokia actuator be worth lubing up to see if it still works?
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
16,241
Reaction score
4,214
Points
113
Age
81
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
That's an idea. Could also look to reuse the one that came with the Nokia actuator on the SMW dish I got the other week.

Speaking of old actuators - do these thing suffer from "natural decay", or could a 20 year old Nokia actuator be worth lubing up to see if it still works?
Don't see why not. It is an Arkivator after all. Check inside the cable entry box for possible water leaks, and do an off-load bench test with your positioner to check for smooth operation, weighting the piston lug to stop it turning.

I took mine down after 15 years of faultless working as I needed a larger one. Having said that, yours IIRC is the original small reach Arkivator that would have been supplied with your dish, and will most probably be be too small for a decent sweep of the arc.
 

hexah

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 7, 2009
Messages
2,838
Reaction score
680
Points
113
Age
17
My Satellite Setup
motorized Gibertini 85cm, fixed dishes from 1m to 64cm, generic FTA HD RX, TBS DVB-S2 PC card, a pile of bits and pieces
My Location
Hadrians Wall
I agree.

They were designed in the first place to withstand 'rough handling' and vibration from the wind. So they are strong and durable.

Be generous with the self amalgamating tape.
 

Huevos

Satellite Freak
Joined
Sep 11, 2008
Messages
6,038
Reaction score
1,277
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
57E to 58W, C-band and Ku, DVB-S2, 4:2:2 and blindscan.
My Location
38.5ºN, 0.5ºW
But should it be 18, 24 or 36 inches travel?
Is there a difference in prceision when going to the larger sizes? I.e. is it a question of getting it just right, or get the biggest that make sense on the mount?
Length makes no difference to resolution. HD actuators are 32 counts/inch and stand actuators are 48 counts/inch.

I'd use a G-box as the resolution is double the other types of V-box.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
35,759
Reaction score
8,640
Points
113
Age
60
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Length makes no difference to resolution. HD actuators are 32 counts/inch and stand actuators are 48 counts/inch.

It does if you then start modifying the polarmount by moving the mounting lugs further from the main pivot.
 

Huevos

Satellite Freak
Joined
Sep 11, 2008
Messages
6,038
Reaction score
1,277
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
57E to 58W, C-band and Ku, DVB-S2, 4:2:2 and blindscan.
My Location
38.5ºN, 0.5ºW
It does if you then start modifying the polarmount by moving the mounting lugs further from the main pivot.
If you get a 24" standard actuator, and a 24" heavy duty actuator, the standard one will always have better resolution irrespective of how the mount is modified.
 
A

archive10

Guest
Don't see why not. It is an Arkivator after all. Check inside the cable entry box for possible water leaks, and do an off-load bench test with your positioner to check for smooth operation, weighting the piston lug to stop it turning.
Ok - I will take the thing off the SMW mount and bench-test it with the V-box. First though - an unscrew-and-visual-inspect is probably in hand.
I took mine down after 15 years of faultless working as I needed a larger one. Having said that, yours IIRC is the original small reach Arkivator that would have been supplied with your dish, and will most probably be be too small for a decent sweep of the arc.
Oh yes, nowhere near the 36" I would like. But perhaps as an inclination actuator?
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
16,241
Reaction score
4,214
Points
113
Age
81
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
Fit for purpose I would guess. You will of course need a +5V supply for the optical sensor. I considered using mine for elevation control on my SMW polar mount, but it's difficult to find a suitable fixing point other than at the elevation adjustment bolt, but that bolt has a very fine adjustment travel. It would really need to be fixed somewhere away from the mount's axis to allow a greater travel of the actuator. Might get round to trying something one day.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
35,759
Reaction score
8,640
Points
113
Age
60
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Length makes no difference to resolution. HD actuators are 32 counts/inch and stand actuators are 48 counts/inch.

You should have a word with the manufacturer, your supplier may have been screwing (sic) you over with a cheaper cloned device, as Chris found out earlier in this thread
 
A

archive10

Guest
Fit for purpose I would guess. You will of course need a +5V supply for the optical sensor. I considered using mine for elevation control on my SMW polar mount, but it's difficult to find a suitable fixing point other than at the elevation adjustment bolt, but that bolt has a very fine adjustment travel. It would really need to be fixed somewhere away from the mount's axis to allow a greater travel of the actuator. Might get round to trying something one day.
Yes inclination is not easy on the SMW mount.
I was thinking putting a CM120 on the SMW mount, and using is with fixed declination
Then I'd be putting the Arkivator on a different (polar) mount to control declination. Probably means a pro mount.
I'll post with updates when I get around to do it... 8)
 

Huevos

Satellite Freak
Joined
Sep 11, 2008
Messages
6,038
Reaction score
1,277
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
57E to 58W, C-band and Ku, DVB-S2, 4:2:2 and blindscan.
My Location
38.5ºN, 0.5ºW
You should have a word with the manufacturer, your supplier may have been screwing (sic) you over with a cheaper cloned device, as Chris found out earlier in this thread
No, it's a QUAL 3624+. QUAL is heavy duty model. Resolution of that series is 32 counts/inch. Look it up anywhere on the net. HARL 3624+ is the standard duty equivalent, and has 48 counts/inch. Both are Jaegar SuperJack.
 

MilkyBarKid1

Member
Joined
May 18, 2012
Messages
46
Reaction score
2
Points
8
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
2.4 Channel Master Alsat Vbox Superjack Truman Premier Plus Receiver
My Location
West Midlands
Please be aware of these German websites and imitations. I also got an imitation 3636 qarl which finally packed in after 2 years a few days ago. Also got the vbox and ended up throwing this one out as the old v box from about 15yrs I had despite being noisy had more power to drive the dish.

I dont know who is manufacturing these super or not so super boxes.. Could somone help me out in getting a decent replacement actuator..who can I trust for a geniune product.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
35,759
Reaction score
8,640
Points
113
Age
60
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
No, it's a QUAL 3624+. QUAL is heavy duty model. Resolution of that series is 32 counts/inch. Look it up anywhere on the net. HARL 3624+ is the standard duty equivalent, and has 48 counts/inch. Both are Jaegar SuperJack.

The original company Jaeger was bought out some nine years ago by the Swedish company SKF, their specification sheet no longer includes the models you have mentioned.
Jaegertech (the upgraded Taiwanese manufacturer) does have the actuators you have mentioned on their website, both standard and heavy duty versions have a resolution of 1.26 pulses per mm (or 32 counts per inch) however they do not manufacture a 36" version in HARL specification.

http://www.jaegertech.tw/content/?275.html
 

Huevos

Satellite Freak
Joined
Sep 11, 2008
Messages
6,038
Reaction score
1,277
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
57E to 58W, C-band and Ku, DVB-S2, 4:2:2 and blindscan.
My Location
38.5ºN, 0.5ºW
however they do not manufacture a 36" version in HARL specification.
Why would they? Not much point. What mounts out there require 24" let alone 36"? My 18" actuator is sufficient to get from 57E to well past 61W.
 
Top