Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Its easy enough to play with almost any linux distribution (distro) on old & new computers. First find a distro. There are hundreds of them most completely free, and suitable for anyone from complete noobies to experienced old hands.

Old hands will have their fave d/l sites but for newbies have a look here

DistroWatch.com: Put the fun back into computing. Use Linux, BSD.

Pick one of the popular ones - Mint with Cinammon desktop is a good one to start with as its fairly recognisable once its started up - (most of the important things are in similar places to win7!)

Download the appropriate iso of the distro you want to try & save it on your computer.

You will now need an iso burner - unetbootin allows you to make dvds & usb flash drives bootable and is nice and easy to use.

UNetbootin - Homepage and Downloads (if you are using a windows machine to create the bootable disc download the windows version!)

Run unetbootin, choose if you are making a dvd or a flash drive navigate to the file you downloaded and press go - let it do its stuff for 5 minutes or so and you will have one fresh bootable dvd or pen drive. I will assume we are making a dvd disc.

Reboot the computer you want to play on and get into the bios, (a key press during the boot sequence - often F2 or DEL) & select to boot off the dvd drive.

Allow the computer to boot off the dvd and let the disc work its magic. At the appropriate point choose live cd - not install Leave the disc to run & key in any required info - time zone, language etc Eventually you will have a spanking new install of the Mint OS running in ram on your computer. If you get hopelessly lost just take the disc out, kill the power and let it restart - and you will have your original set up back completely unchanged.