How to setup my reciever to recieve Freesat?

speedking

Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2008
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
37
My Satellite Setup
Unknown dish, HUMAX va fox reciever
My Location
Sunderland, UK
Hi,

I found out about freesat a few weeks ago and thought I'd give it a go yesterday. I found a reciever somewhere in the house that i used to use to recieve some french channels a few years back. The reciever is a HUMAX va fox. I do not know anything about the dish as it wasn't fitted by me. It is to my knowledge oriented to ASTRA and HOTBIRD.

I've been trying to set it up since yersterday but I don't have a clue of what i'm doing to be honest. I don't know what parametres I need to setup, which sattelite to choose, etc.

I guested some settings and did an automatic scan, but I ended up with something like 400 channels, most of them being russian, arabian or italian.

Could you please help me set up my reciever?

thanks,

Geoffrey
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
48,948
Reaction score
9,761
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
You will need to slew the dish around to point at the satellite cluster at 28E. From the sounds of it its currently pointing at the Hotbirds at 13E. The dish needs to go right as you are facing it. You will also need to brop the lnb down an inch or so.

The easiest way to do it is to move round the arc one satellite at a time. This ensures you wont get too far off the arc. Mark the dish mounts with pencil, tippex or similar before you start so if you get hopelessly lost you have a starting point to return to.

13E 16E 19E 23.5E 28E.

Use flysat or kingofsat to find channels and frequencies to look for.
 

speedking

Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2008
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
37
My Satellite Setup
Unknown dish, HUMAX va fox reciever
My Location
Sunderland, UK
Thanks for the fast and helpful answer.
How would I know if my orientation is good? is there a quick way to find out whether i am on the right sattelite?

Thanks again :)
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
48,948
Reaction score
9,761
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Find a signal, scan the frequency then use Flysat

_http://www.flysat.com/satlist.php

to find out what sat you are sitting on.

So if you scan 11914H 27500 3/4 and find a load of Dutch channels you are on 23E :)
 

speedking

Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2008
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
37
My Satellite Setup
Unknown dish, HUMAX va fox reciever
My Location
Sunderland, UK
Thanks again Analoguesat!

I will try fiddling with the dish and I'll be back to let you know how it went =)
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
48,948
Reaction score
9,761
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
You are only looking at SMALL movements of the dish- 13E to 19E is less than a couple of inches of movement of the LNB.
 

speedking

Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2008
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
37
My Satellite Setup
Unknown dish, HUMAX va fox reciever
My Location
Sunderland, UK
Thanks to you I know have Freesat setup on my reciever =)
 
Top