Humax Foxsat HDR

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,661
Points
113
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
Hi friends ..a few questions which I hope are easily answered..
I've just bid on and won one of these dual tuner 320gb units on ebay ..
Winning bid including postage came to around £120 ..which I think is reasonably good value..
A couple of questions though..
A) I assume its a relatively straightforward process to upgrade to a larger Hard Drive ..I'm planning on fitting a 1TB drive if possible...anyone done this ?
:cool:The USB port to the rear I seem to remember reading is active ..and can be used to output stored/recorded content to usb stick...
Can anyone confirm this ? ...and if so what format is the output media content via usb ?
I'm also assuming unless flagged copyright protected ...this is straightforward ..
rgds
VS
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,470
Reaction score
8,184
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Output via USB is .ts (VLC player ....)

BUT 4GB max file size, so not too clever.

BUT you can install modified Firmware (qv my "Raydon" Thread) and stream across LAN instead.

AND I have a patch which removes the flag for Protected Content .......................

You have a good buy.



I'm orf to bed now, so check out my Thread in this Forum and I'll catch up with you tomorrow.
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,661
Points
113
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
Cheers Gordon ...
I'll search for the Raydon thread ...and Would appreciate the patch ..
I think you have my email address to send it ..
rgds
VS
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,470
Reaction score
8,184
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Yup.

Tomorrow ................. sometime!
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
17,525
Reaction score
3,641
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
The HD needs to be an AV type. My HDR had a Seagate Pipeline in it but there are other makes that will apparently also work see _myhumax.org/wiki/index.php/FOXSAT-HDR_Simple_HDD_Swap

There are apparently problems with partitioning if you want to go larger than 1TB. The disk has to be partitioned before fitting in order to use the maximum space possible.

Not used the USB port on the back but the one on the front works with a pen drive. I've copied programmes from the HDR but you're limited to SD only, HD ones are protected. You get three files; a .ts, which is the actual programme as a transport stream, and a .nts and a .hts, which are used for programme information. You need all three to be present for the HDR to play from the pen drive but any decent media player will play the .ts on a laptop.

For the future, Radyon's revised box software (Tivu's fitted it) is pretty interesting.
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,470
Reaction score
8,184
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Paul, there is a patch for the Raydon Firmware that strips the Protection ............. it's only very recent - and it works! Ergo, HD streaming or transfer is no problem.


PS: I also only use the front panel USB socket. Didn't even know there was one on the back (It's kind of dark down there ............!)
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
17,525
Reaction score
3,641
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
It's all there for VS to find out about!

Ditto about the USB port...
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,661
Points
113
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
Perhaps I'm wrong about there being a usb socket to the rear ..
I've never seen one up close ..and it'll be about a week before 'my bargain' arrives ..
Just grabbed rar pack 4.0.9
is this the latest ?
If not perhaps G will forward me everything neccesary by email attachment..
Looking forward to the grand experiment..
I wasn't looking to buy a Humax ..but the price was just tooooo tempting...and I have 4 x1TB drives left over from my 12TB server build ..so one of them should hopefully work ..
from memory there's a samsung 2 seagates ..and an hitachi
rgds
VS
...off to bed myself now ...
Still very much unwell ...but new projects stop me examining and brooding on my sickly situation..
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,470
Reaction score
8,184
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Morning, VS

Yes, 4.0.9 is the latest Raydon Mod.

I suggest you use the native Firmware for a few days, including factory reset at first use (To establish the correct Postcode and Feed arrangement).

Then apply Raydon, set up Web Interface if you want (I highly recommend it) plus any other modules you think you might want. Any existing Recordings, Schedules, EPG haircuts and System Settings will be unaffected so no need to worry about that.

Once happy. I'll send you the small patch as it is quite hard to unearth. But it is also very easy to apply.

Apart from experiment, I'm not so sure there is a point to a larger HDD. Haven't got much beyond 20% full with my 320GB, ever!

Enjoy.
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,470
Reaction score
8,184
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Further: I've sent you the .opk file for the Patch by EMail to your T*B**g**** addy: PM me if that's wrong.
 

excollier

Bikes, Booze & Blues
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
931
Reaction score
452
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
TD 78 and Freesat+
My Location
Furthest outpost of the EUSSR
I upgraded to a 1TB drive recently, a WD10EURX, you need a jumper on pins 5&6 and it works flawlessly, I also put the old 320GB drive in a dock and connected it to the rear usb and I can watch the stuff thats already on that drive, it's very straightforward and easy. Also you can use the exterior HDD for archiving stuff from your internal drive, but it's slow by usb and ftp, but it does work. I am also using Raydon's software and can stream to anywhere in the house to alaptop or my Raspberry Pi ( when I finally get it working right) and I also put in the additional patch to free up the HD stuff too. The HDR is an excellent buy, pity it's being discontinued. Any questions, ask me
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,470
Reaction score
8,184
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Aha.

You've prompted me to get on my knees and, having informed SWMBO I had nothing to feel guilty about, have finally discovered the rear-panel USB socket, buried just under the (occupied) Ethernet socket.

Nice.
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,661
Points
113
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
Thanks for all the info guys ..Yes that addy is ok G ...I wont get that till tomorrow is its my work address ..but no urgency..
I've no doubt there will be more questions once the box arrives..
As to why it's being discontinued ..??...perhaps _because_ its been retro fitted firmware wise..
rgds
VS
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,470
Reaction score
8,184
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
No, it's been replaced by a newer, better (?), buggier (!) model: The Humax HDR 1000S
 

excollier

Bikes, Booze & Blues
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
931
Reaction score
452
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
TD 78 and Freesat+
My Location
Furthest outpost of the EUSSR
The new one can't be modded with a Raydon type patch/firmware, so not quite as flexible.
I am tempted to buy another HDR as a backup for the future, and treat my existing one with kid gloves, I like it too much to break it. I could even add in diseqc control and other satellite channels to the Freesat list, but I know when I have a good thing and when to stop. (Tempting though, for fta foreign stuff, or even a foreign sub card.....or Saorsat)
Nah, I'm happy as it is.
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,470
Reaction score
8,184
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Been using my HDR as multi-sat for two years. Works very well indeed.

Now dedicated to 28E as I have piggy-backed a Skybox F3 into the living room "stack"!
 

excollier

Bikes, Booze & Blues
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
931
Reaction score
452
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
TD 78 and Freesat+
My Location
Furthest outpost of the EUSSR
Now you're just trying to tempt me....
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,661
Points
113
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
Ok ..I finally got around to installing Raydon software on my PVR ..
I'm impressed so far ..
I have installed the remote control plugin and can successfully control my box from a remote PC..
I can download recorded files from the Humax via explorer using samba ..and play these no probs with VLC ..
I have installed VLC/Plugin for firefox and can access recorded files and play them directly on the remote PC without first transporting them from the box ..using browse media files and play from the mongoose web interface..

or use my stand alone media player box (network enabled) to watch the recorded files directly from the Humax hard drive

Next question ..
Can I stream the on screen live content from the Humax to the remote PC ?
If so ..how ?
rgds
VS
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,470
Reaction score
8,184
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
a. Hello!

b. Well done - fairly decent package, is it not

c. Did you receive and install the flag-stripper I sent you?

d. I'm 99.9365% sure you cannot stream live video
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,661
Points
113
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
Tivù said:
a. Hello!

b. Well done - fairly decent package, is it not

c. Did you receive and install the flag-stripper I sent you?

d. I'm 99.9365% sure you cannot stream live video
...Boxes to tick Gordon ?
Are you doing a survey ...lol
A...hello yourself..
B Thanks ...very nice indeed..
C not yet ..It's still round at work ..I must forward it home..
D Sulk ...that would have been useful as you could then see the on screen response to remote presses on the remote plugin..

Very nice firmware indeed ...and obviously much time and effort gone into it.
rgds
VS
 
Top