In-Line Satellite Signal Booster

chrisarvor

Member
Joined
May 6, 2009
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
66
My Satellite Setup
sky
My Location
bulgaria
hi
I have a weak signal due to being on the fringe of the sky footprint in Bulgaria .
Would one of these In-Line Satellite Signal Booster be any good for me.
I already use a 2.5 mtr dish and dont want to get bigger
Somedays we got all the free channels but other days the signal is weak
Any help please.

i have tried to use a twin outlet LNB but the signal was worse than using a splitter??????????????? i have two sky boxes.
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,124
Reaction score
7,949
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Those Amplifiers are purely for compensating for local signal losses eg from an unduly long cable run.

Because they actually add noise, they will do nothing at all to compensate for absence of received signal and may degrade whatever Signal Quality you do have.

All you can do is:

a. Use a bigger Dish
b. Ensure your cable is as lossless as possible - Good quality, good condition, good connections, no joins.
c. Make microscopic adjustments to alignment of the Dish and LNB Skew.


Some might advocate a "better" LNB, but in reality this is hit and miss as the quoted Noise Figure is only one of the relevant parameters governing overall performance and in any case only applies to a small part of the Band.

Not sure what to make of your remarks about Twin Output LNB vs. Splitter.

You can't successfully use a simple splitter for DSAT as each Receiver needs to control LNB Polarity and Band. Apart from which, splitting the available signal will degrade it severely in marginal conditions such as yours.

An LNB with sufficient outputs to independently feed each Tuner is de rigeur.
 

ralphmagno

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2005
Messages
994
Reaction score
15
Points
18
Age
70
My Location
naples italy
hello , i saw this and wanted to reply

the dish is of good size.
how long is the cable and how old is the cable.
if the cable length is not to long the cable should be good low loss as well.
the center conductor should be 1.13 mm and not the .95 or the .75.
too much loss.
are you geting the signal on a clear day and on bad weather loos it?

for the cost of the line amp about 10 to 15 euro i would try it.
place the amp by the satellite dish and try one first.
if it works you will need one for each line for each receiver.
if the cable is old and brittle or if the line is not low loss this will cause the weeker channels to not work and the stronger to work fine.
:)
hope this helps

ralph
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,124
Reaction score
7,949
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
I've just ordered one of these Amps - despite my remarks above - They are only £2.99/€3.30 and I feel moved to have a play and see what exactly might be achieved (or not .......) :-bang
 

chrisarvor

Member
Joined
May 6, 2009
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
66
My Satellite Setup
sky
My Location
bulgaria
Thanks for replies
The twin LNB is an Inverto low noise 0.03 db.
The cable run is about 20 mtrs . this is because i have mounted the dish in my garden due to strong winds sometimes.
I normally have to tweak the dish once a month to keep the signal strong.
I renewed one length of cable this week and this has made the weak signal srong so iu understand what your saying.
I dont get to choose any differnet cable it seems standard white is all they use.
Yes the weather does affect it but we havent seen a cloud for months now thats what i find so strange.
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,124
Reaction score
7,949
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Top