Intelsat 22 @ 72.1E

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,216
Reaction score
7,464
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Anyone receiving anything from there in UK? Not at home right now to try but it's only 0.7 degrees above horizon where I am so not sure if it's doable on a Penta! Had a lock from 70.5E in the past, so I guess 72.1E isn't undoable...

-http://www.flysat.com/is22.php
 

adonis1

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Messages
1,517
Reaction score
1,448
Points
113
Age
65
My Satellite Setup
Gibertini dish 1.55 Χ 1.66 ( 100.5°E -45.0°W) ku lnb Inverto Black Ultra 0.2db - Ku band Circular Uni Inverto BLACK Pro 0.2db / / C-Band lnb Titanium wide band - Pauxis 13°- K Panorama 13°K
DR.HD F-15 - Openbox S11 HD - TM-5402 HD M3.
My Location
Syros island - Central Aegean sea - Greece
12645 H 20000 3/4 DVB-S2/16APSK - MiddleEast Africa beam - the most powerful tp .
 

aceb

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 2, 2007
Messages
1,521
Reaction score
818
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Prof Tuner 7301 /
1.25m Gibertini + Inverto B.Ultra/C1W, Moteck H180, 68.5E-67W Ku/C-Band /
1.8m Precision PF + ESX241/Inverto Black Pro, 66E-63W Ku/C-band /
2.4m Fortec Star+Titanium C1W/Pride plate, 49E-58W
My Location
Sussex
I passed the thread onto Mike earlier who scanned it during some torrential rain, plenty of spikes on CS and 12645H was the strongest but not quite locking. Hopefully he'll try again when the skies clear and post any results.
 

aceb

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 2, 2007
Messages
1,521
Reaction score
818
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Prof Tuner 7301 /
1.25m Gibertini + Inverto B.Ultra/C1W, Moteck H180, 68.5E-67W Ku/C-Band /
1.8m Precision PF + ESX241/Inverto Black Pro, 66E-63W Ku/C-band /
2.4m Fortec Star+Titanium C1W/Pride plate, 49E-58W
My Location
Sussex
I went round Mikes yesterday who is busy decorating but we found time to check this using Crazyscan. Could see clear peaks in line with everything listed on Flysat but the only signal that locked was 12617H 32APSK 10168 although it reckoned the FEC 8/9 not the listed 3/4. The national Geo signal on 12645H was 0.5dB stronger but wouldn't lock. Equipment used was a TBS6925 and unbranded 85cm Mesh dish.
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,216
Reaction score
7,464
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Pouring with rain here so not getting anything at the moment.

What are there 16/32 APSK transponders? I guess these won't be lockable on a standard receiver.
 

hvdh

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
2,226
Reaction score
3,114
Points
113
Age
57
Website
gso-satellites.nl
My Satellite Setup
Dr.HD F16, TBS 5927, T-55, Laminas 120 cm
My Location
Oss, NL (5.5°E 51.8°N)
Finally an easy catch on this satellite, mentioned on Flysat!
12687 H 2016 DVB-S2/QPSK 3/4: MTV ME (with ID: EN8000).

With 100cm Triax and TBS 6925, 6 to 7 dB. Stable picture on Dr.HD F16.
The 12617 H mentioned by aceb I locked only once, a few days ago.
Of the many other peaks in the spectrum nothing locked so far.
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,216
Reaction score
7,464
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Whoohoo! Getting a very occasional lock, directly with a USALS driven dish with no adjustments, Penta 85, 0.8 degrees elevation, Vu+ Uno.

Capture.JPG
 

hvdh

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
2,226
Reaction score
3,114
Points
113
Age
57
Website
gso-satellites.nl
My Satellite Setup
Dr.HD F16, TBS 5927, T-55, Laminas 120 cm
My Location
Oss, NL (5.5°E 51.8°N)
That 0.8 degree elevation is pretty amazing! You must have strong scintillation (signal strength variations) over there. Will be interesting to see how the weather has influence on such signal (temperature, cloud cover, turbulence because of sunshine).

Here I have two trees blocking approximately 73...77 East. 72.1 East also is probably partly covered. Theoretically, I have view to Thaicom @ 78.5 East. When the trees were small many years ago, reception of ABS 1 (then LMI 1) @ 75 East was quite easy.

So how did you get your USALS motor (SG-2100 ?) driven so low to the horizon, did you bypass the limit switches?
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,216
Reaction score
7,464
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
On my old SG2100 clone, I removed the limit switches completely. But I have a Dark Motor now and it seems to do it without any fiddling.

I get wild signal variations from anything past 66E. 68.5E is quite strong here at around 3 degrees elevation but varies by up to 30% SNR! I also get an occasional lock from 70.5E, Canadian Forces network but 72.1E is the last one I can receive. 75E would have been nice but it's 1 degree below horizon here and I think I'd have to be on quite a tall building to get it here!
 

hvdh

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
2,226
Reaction score
3,114
Points
113
Age
57
Website
gso-satellites.nl
My Satellite Setup
Dr.HD F16, TBS 5927, T-55, Laminas 120 cm
My Location
Oss, NL (5.5°E 51.8°N)
On my old SG2100 clone, I removed the limit switches completely. But I have a Dark Motor now and it seems to do it without any fiddling.
Interesting it seems to reach the horizon. Since you had a Moteck clone before (like I have right now), how does the sound volume compare to that of the Dark motor?

Because these trees won't stand forever (isolated in small back yards) and I may want to upgrade to something like a 120 cm Laminas.
 

aceb

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 2, 2007
Messages
1,521
Reaction score
818
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Prof Tuner 7301 /
1.25m Gibertini + Inverto B.Ultra/C1W, Moteck H180, 68.5E-67W Ku/C-Band /
1.8m Precision PF + ESX241/Inverto Black Pro, 66E-63W Ku/C-band /
2.4m Fortec Star+Titanium C1W/Pride plate, 49E-58W
My Location
Sussex
I used to use a 2100A then tried a DarkMotor, it certainly wasn't any louder, different but not louder. The one I set up at Mikes (0°00.2W) *just* gets to 75E, I think SmartDVB reports it as 79.95° BTW, I've got him down his decorating ladder and asked him to check that transponder when he has time.
 

hvdh

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
2,226
Reaction score
3,114
Points
113
Age
57
Website
gso-satellites.nl
My Satellite Setup
Dr.HD F16, TBS 5927, T-55, Laminas 120 cm
My Location
Oss, NL (5.5°E 51.8°N)
Alright. 75 East from a Greenwich longitude has an elevation of about 1 degree.
From my location, that elevation would be over 80 East, definitely better than the 73 East where my Moteck now stops.
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,216
Reaction score
7,464
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Take the Moteck apart, and remove the eastern limiter completely. You'll be able to drive it further then.
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,586
Points
113
My Location
uk
On my old SG2100 clone, I removed the limit switches completely

Hi CJ, I have two motors a stab and another one unsure what I bought atm, how do you remove the limit switches any links pics please.
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,216
Reaction score
7,464
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
No pictures but in essence - remove the stub, open the casing and you'll see there are two "tabs" on either side of the slotted groove. Anyway, just remove them completely and reassemble. This is on an SG2100 clone, with the stub pointing downwards - I don't know if it's the same with the Stab, which has an upwards pointing stub.
 

roccky

Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2011
Messages
107
Reaction score
26
Points
28
Age
41
My Satellite Setup
Gibertini 125, 18'' actuator, vbox, tbs6922 & azbox
My Location
London
There are a few feeds being regularly posted in satelliweb in 72E, lately. So I was curious about this sat from London and I just found this thread.

I can't currently orientate my dish to 72E, as I am just covering the range 35W-35E approximately with my superjack 18" actuator moving my gibertini 125.

If anyone with a dish able to point at 72E check could check how the picture is for that sat nowadays it would be very helpful, as it would be good to know if those feeds are lockable or not before trying to figure out a way to have a dish pointing there. They were with low frequencies, like 4175 h 7120, for example.
 

Feedsat_DXer

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Sep 27, 2014
Messages
1,990
Reaction score
4,818
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
France
There are a few feeds being regularly posted in satelliweb in 72E, lately. So I was curious about this sat from London and I just found this thread.

I can't currently orientate my dish to 72E, as I am just covering the range 35W-35E approximately with my superjack 18" actuator moving my gibertini 125.

If anyone with a dish able to point at 72E check could check how the picture is for that sat nowadays it would be very helpful, as it would be good to know if those feeds are lockable or not before trying to figure out a way to have a dish pointing there. They were with low frequencies, like 4175 h 7120, for example.

No, the feeds reported are not from 72°E, the feeds reported are on 100.5°East but the feed form don't have this satellite listed (yet)
if you pay attention, for example with this one:

2.jpg

PS: next forum and feed reoprt form will include more satellites but wait'n see...
 

roccky

Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2011
Messages
107
Reaction score
26
Points
28
Age
41
My Satellite Setup
Gibertini 125, 18'' actuator, vbox, tbs6922 & azbox
My Location
London
You are right. That 100 note is always appearing... I should have suspected!

It's a shame, it looked interesting to have another sat with feeds.
 
Top