Juddering German FTA HDTV Channel Reception

egghead

Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2009
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
52
My Satellite Setup
currently skydish + sky+ receiver, but looking to get overseas channels.
My Location
uk
hi

i'm not very technically gifted and i'm hoping that someone might be able to help me with a problem i've got, that's probably really easy to fix but is completely baffling me.

i am trying to learn german and have a satellite dish pointing at 19.2e to pick up the multitude of german fta tv channels. there was a major rejig of the fta hd channels at the end of april where several additions channels became available with some existing channels shifting their frequencies as well. before the shift, i had no problems with reception for any of the channels, but afterwards while reception of some channels continue to be fine, others have a developed a juddering problem where the picture is continuously freezing for about a fifth of a second at a time (audio is fine).

what is weird is that the problem sometimes occurs on channels where there was no change in frequency, bit rate etc (so one day it was fine, the next it judders). new channels are either fine or juddery depending on the transponder.

what is even weirder is that when i hooked up an older satellite box and rescanned, i got the exact opposite problem - all the hd channels that judder on my current box are fine, but all the ones that are fine on my current box now judder on this one.

it must be a box problem. i've tried editing transponders, deleting transponders, adding new transponders, fiddling with the video outputs etc until i'm blue in the face, but still the judders come.

any ideas?
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,410
Reaction score
8,153
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
And what Box is it?
 

Mickha

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
5,638
Reaction score
668
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
1.2M Channel Master, 1224 motor, VU+ Duo 2
My Location
North West
Also what are your signal strength/quality readings on these, and other, channels, you are currently receiving from Astra 1?
 

timo_w2s

Retired Mod
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,359
Reaction score
2,883
Points
113
Website
www.timo.me.uk
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
There have been a lot of reports of problems with the German HD channels. I think it was something to do with the incompatibility of the chipsets used in some boxes. My Technomate 6900 box is pretty bad with the new HD channels whereas it's fine for all other HD channels.
 

egghead

Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2009
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
52
My Satellite Setup
currently skydish + sky+ receiver, but looking to get overseas channels.
My Location
uk
crikey - that was fast... thanks.

new box: humax tn5050hdr (my girlfriend is french and likes to keep in touch with french tv) Manual attached below

old box: easyone ci hd (it was cheap) _http://www.setone.eu/index.php?id=478&uid=787

reception quality (juddering channels new box): strength 78-80%, quality 95-99%
reception quality (non-juddering channels new box): strength 76-80%, quality 80-82%

can signal quality be too high?

[warning]Live Links disabled iaw Forum Rules[/warning]
 

pgh13

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
1,679
Reaction score
409
Points
83
Age
69
My Satellite Setup
XTrend ET8000, Dr HD 15, PC/twinhan combination. 80cm dish. GBPVR with 2 DTTV cards +hauppauge Media MVP +Raspberry Pi running XBMC
My Location
Midlands UK
Talking of signal strength, remember the weather is pretty grim at the moment and cloud and rain do affect the signal. Were the days when you didn't get the jitters, by any chance, the 3 days this year when it didn't rain?
 

egghead

Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2009
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
52
My Satellite Setup
currently skydish + sky+ receiver, but looking to get overseas channels.
My Location
uk
pgh13 said:
Talking of signal strength, remember the weather is pretty grim at the moment and cloud and rain do affect the signal. Were the days when you didn't get the jitters, by any chance, the 3 days this year when it didn't rain?

unfortunately the problem is continuous (by this, i mean it doesn't stop at all) - rain, sun etc makes no difference.

as i said in my original post (but probably not that clearly), if i use two different boxes, i can get all the channels ok (the ones that judder on the humax box are ok on the easyone box and vice versa), so i think it's a box/settings problem rather than a reception problem (but i'm not very good with technical side of stuff, so i could be wrong!).

thanks again for everyone's help!!!!
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,080
Reaction score
9,813
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
timo_w2s said:
There have been a lot of reports of problems with the German HD channels. I think it was something to do with the incompatibility of the chipsets used in some boxes. My Technomate 6900 box is pretty bad with the new HD channels whereas it's fine for all other HD channels.

Yes it was - something in the transmission chain is disagreeing with certain chipsets.
 
Top