LG "SMART TV", or NOT!! - What do you think??

Do you use "smart tv "services on your TV(s)?

  • Yes - use them a lot

    Votes: 6 27.3%
  • Yes - but only occasionally

    Votes: 5 22.7%
  • Have, but don't use, them

    Votes: 7 31.8%
  • Not available on my TV(s) but wish I did have

    Votes: 1 4.5%
  • Not available on my TV(s) and don't want

    Votes: 4 18.2%

  • Total voters
    22

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
6,674
Reaction score
2,630
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
This, I think, a general heads-up/ warning /question about "SMART TVs" - and currently specifically LG:rolleyes:.

My 2 yr old LG LG 43UM7500PLA is currently telling me that some "Smart" services are unavailable and with no indication of when they might resume - OTOH, I have never used them to any extent and nor do I intend to, and so this has little effect on me/us.

It is however a reminder that a "smart tv" can be an "all the eggs in one (broken!) basket" blackhole if something goes wrong with the on-line service provider - &/or they simply decide to turn some/all of those services OFF after a few years (as Toshiba did with the (very few) "smart" services that were on our previous 42" Tosh).

Anyone else feel the same/different about this whole "smart tv" thing??

NB: after voting in the Pole, it would be helpful if you could give more info & comments on, e.g., the TV brand(s) / model(s), age, scope of services available and "useability"/user-friendliness.

Thanks in advance.
 

statalite

Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2009
Messages
814
Reaction score
322
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
SF8008
DiSEqC motor with 80cm dish
Zone 1 @ 28.2°E
Zone 2 @ 19.2°E with 28.2°E and 13.0°E
Channel Master 1.0m (to be setup)
Channel Master 1.2m (to be setup)
SMR 1224
My Location
UK Midlands
I have a dumb TV with smart boxes attached.
 

Jimmy H

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2008
Messages
362
Reaction score
126
Points
43
Age
69
Location
Leek, Staffs
My Satellite Setup
LG43UH661V with region 2 sky dish
My Location
Leek, Staffs
I've had a LG-OLED55B9PLA for just over 2 years, the picture quality is great but I find the constant updates which never seem to improve anything very frustrating. The latest update has brought with it the unavailable smart service message and has generally slowed down response times.

I only use the smart services for catch up and use a Firestick for everything else.
 

ozumo

te wo tsuite
Staff member
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
5,239
Reaction score
2,632
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham
All my televisions are either dumb or offline.
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
18,032
Reaction score
4,051
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
I prefer all my smartness to be in separate devices.
 

Satspot

Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2021
Messages
592
Reaction score
201
Points
43
Age
61
My Satellite Setup
Technomate TM5402 M4
1.2m Triax dish
Technomate H to H motor
My Location
Ireland
No need for it. All the smartness resides outside of my TV. I just feed the results to the TV. Much cheaper and more efficient route and easily upgradable when necessary.

What I would like to see are more HDMI ports built into the TV. Now that would be useful. Maybe add the option I outlined above to your poll. Just watch the vote for it rise.
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
6,674
Reaction score
2,630
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
.........

What I would like to see are more HDMI ports built into the TV. Now that would be useful. Maybe add the option I outlined above to your poll. Just watch the vote for it rise.
I don't think that's quite appropriate to this thread & pole - it would be more more so in another thread (anyone care to start one ???) on what you would like to see changed/added/removed in "smart tv's".

NB: some people are voting for the 1st option but without apparently then commenting as to why / how they do use the "smart" features - it would therefore be interesting to understand the latter if they care to come back with that info!.

PS: reserving my own votes and detailed comments for a bit to to what extent if my own feelings on the subject are shared by others!
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,103
Reaction score
8,687
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Occasionally use our main TV's inbuilt smartitude for Catch-Up, but far prefer the external Roku attached to the bedroom Telly.
 

Terryl

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
3,425
Reaction score
2,019
Points
113
Age
82
My Satellite Setup
OpenBox X5 on a 1 meter motorized dish.
And now a 10 foot "C" band dish.

Custom built PC
My Location
Deep in the Boonies in the central Sierra Nevada mountains of California.
I have a JVC 4K smart TV, it has a built in ROKU service, I also use other services a lot, mostly for watching movies,(old and new) TV shows and series, one thing I did like is when I did a local TV channel scan it came up with over 1000 online TV channels, (locals first then it went crazy) I can't understand three quarters of them but it gives me something to do.
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,103
Reaction score
8,687
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
I have a JVC 4K smart TV, it has a built in ROKU service, I also use other services a lot, one thing I did like is when I did a local TV channel scan it came up with over 1000 online TV channels, (locals first then it went crazy) I can't understand three quarters of them but it gives me something to do.


Yes, Roku are now widely licensed for integration into European TV models. Far more user friendly than the respective TV manufacturers own efforts amounted to hitherto.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
50,940
Reaction score
11,378
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
32" LG tv. The wifi isnt enabled on it & there is no ethernet cable connected. Not in the slightest bit interested in using any of the services on it.
 

Satspot

Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2021
Messages
592
Reaction score
201
Points
43
Age
61
My Satellite Setup
Technomate TM5402 M4
1.2m Triax dish
Technomate H to H motor
My Location
Ireland
I don't think that's quite appropriate to this thread & pole - it would be more more so in another thread (anyone care to start one ???) on what you would like to see changed/added/removed in "smart tv's".

NB: some people are voting for the 1st option but without apparently then commenting as to why / how they do use the "smart" features - it would therefore be interesting to understand the latter if they care to come back with that info!.

PS: reserving my own votes and detailed comments for a bit to to what extent if my own feelings on the subject are shared by others!
Well the reason I didn’t buy into the whole smart TV concept from day 1 is I’ve been doing that stuff for years. I wouldn’t want to lock myself into a ridiculously priced TV knowing I was at the whim and mercy of the manufacturer as to weather he’ll continue to support it via updates. We’ve witnessed that very clearly with both Apple and Samsung mobile devices. Fine if you’re in a position to move your TV on every 2-3 years but I certainly don’t.

When broadcasts are no longer viewable on my TV that’s when I look at alternatives.

No amount of inbuilt smartness in the TV would convince me otherwise if I can achieve similar or better results outside of the TV at a fraction of the price and believe me that’s very achievable.

As far as I can see the only smartness involved here is coming via the manufacturer when potential owners buy into the concept. To date they haven’t managed to snare me.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
35,762
Reaction score
8,640
Points
113
Age
60
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
This, I think, a general heads-up/ warning /question about "SMART TVs" - and currently specifically LG:rolleyes:.

It is however a reminder that a "smart tv" can be an "all the eggs in one (broken!) basket" blackhole if something goes wrong with the on-line service provider - &/or they simply decide to turn some/all of those services OFF after a few years (as Toshiba did with the (very few) "smart" services that were on our previous 42" Tosh).

Panasonic removed their access to many apps on their televisions - including YouTube - about ten years ago
 

ManFromWales

Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2019
Messages
41
Reaction score
14
Points
8
Age
74
My Satellite Setup
1.2CM, IBU LNB, Heavy Duty Actuator, V-box, various STBs
My Location
Western Isles, Scotland
Sony Bravia ..made dumb. When you consider what embedded (in SW) "Samba Tv" can do, especially when it uses ACR :-

No Thanks
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
6,674
Reaction score
2,630
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
An interesting article in the latest, Issue 627, of Computer Active mag gives a lot of info about how to switch off some of the "spying" in "smart" TV's on the UK market!
 

sonnetpete

Grumpy Old Retired Moderator and quiz inquisitor..
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
8,954
Reaction score
3,497
Points
113
Age
73
Website
wordpress.com
My Satellite Setup
Laminas 1.2M fibre dish with an IBU, on a Clarke Tech USALS motor, covering 57E - 24.5W to an Octagon SX88. Displayed on a 20" Dyon LED TV.

Seperate 80 cm dish on 28E with a Humax Freesat for SWMBO.
Free Sat V8 meter. Sony Bravia 46" LCD, Sony BluRay and Home Cinema.
My Location
Normandy, France
We have a Sony Bravia which was purchased before 'connectivity' was a thing.....I spend a huge amount of time on the latop, while SWMBO watches constant re runs of Midsomer Murders.....
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,103
Reaction score
8,687
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors

Satspot

Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2021
Messages
592
Reaction score
201
Points
43
Age
61
My Satellite Setup
Technomate TM5402 M4
1.2m Triax dish
Technomate H to H motor
My Location
Ireland

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,103
Reaction score
8,687
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
ITV3 Repeat never mind the +1. You’ll never miss an episode.

Yep. That's the one.

And they're running Maigret tonight, which I missed first time around. V Good.
 

Satspot

Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2021
Messages
592
Reaction score
201
Points
43
Age
61
My Satellite Setup
Technomate TM5402 M4
1.2m Triax dish
Technomate H to H motor
My Location
Ireland
Yep. That's the one.

And they're running Maigret tonight, which I missed first time around. V Good.
Have you noticed all the ads for disability aids, life assurance policies and cruises. Very clear demographic this channel is aimed at.
 
Top