Losing channels in Crete

Brillo77

Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2012
Messages
37
Reaction score
1
Points
8
Age
65
My Satellite Setup
Humax HD Free
1.7m mabo dish.
My Location
Crete
First I would likwe to hello having just found and joined this forum.
I have a Pace 2600C1 box coupled to a 52"high x48" satellite dish, I am losing channels at an alarming rate. also after 2200hrs(ish0 I lose all my ITV channels plus some on Sly sports and E$pn, can you help me please . I have bought a new Invacom LNB and hope to fit this soon.
Please go easy on me as I am a novice to all this.
Many thanks for any help/advice.

Dexs.
 

perthkenny

Regular Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2007
Messages
102
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Age
62
My Satellite Setup
Blade BM7000s HD receiver with Cccam/Newcamd, Acer Netbook, Netgear 3g wireless 4 port router,Time Athlon XP2400mhz Desktop. 2 x 80cm dishes- lnb1 at 13east,lnb2 at 19east, lnb3 on the 2nd dish for 28.2east Astra 2B south beam. Everything is open now
My Location
South Italy
Reception here in South Italy is pretty much as normal. Sounds like a problem with your dish, cabling or LNB. You don't say, however, if you know the dish well, or if you recently arrived there and connected your Pace box to it? If it's the latter, the dish may not be large enough to get a good signal from 28.2e, or may have shifted in the wind and need re-aligning.
Unless you are capable of checking the dish alignment yourself, I'd advise you to call your local dish installer for advice and help, also ask the locals if they think it's a big enough one. Have fun, and best of luck!
 

perthkenny

Regular Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2007
Messages
102
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Age
62
My Satellite Setup
Blade BM7000s HD receiver with Cccam/Newcamd, Acer Netbook, Netgear 3g wireless 4 port router,Time Athlon XP2400mhz Desktop. 2 x 80cm dishes- lnb1 at 13east,lnb2 at 19east, lnb3 on the 2nd dish for 28.2east Astra 2B south beam. Everything is open now
My Location
South Italy
ps dish sizes are generally stated in metric, that makes yours about 1.2 metres. Local advice will tell you if that's big enough. Lyngsat website also has satellite footprint/dish size info for your area.
 

ralphmagno

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2005
Messages
994
Reaction score
17
Points
18
Age
71
My Location
naples italy
ok,
you have a 1.25 cm dish.
first check the alignmant is its ok then your cabling had gotton water in it or the lnb is bad.
ralph
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,469
Reaction score
8,184
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
I think that's 1.25 m, Ralph ................... 1.25 cm would be a tad small, methinks! :-ohcrap :D
 

strs65

Regular Member
Joined
May 13, 2006
Messages
688
Reaction score
297
Points
63
Age
56
My Satellite Setup
Decoders: VU+ Uno, DR.HD F15
DVB cards: TBS6983, TBS 6925
Dish 1: Tecatel 1.10m
LNB1: Smart Oxid
Motor: Amiko DM3800
Dish 2: Gibertini 125L, with actuator
LNB2: Invacom QDF-031
My Location
Greece (Crete - Chania)
Brillo77 said:
First I would likwe to hello having just found and joined this forum.
I have a Pace 2600C1 box coupled to a 52"high x48" satellite dish, I am losing channels at an alarming rate. also after 2200hrs(ish0 I lose all my ITV channels plus some on Sly sports and E$pn, can you help me please . I have bought a new Invacom LNB and hope to fit this soon.
Please go easy on me as I am a novice to all this.
Many thanks for any help/advice.

Dexs.

Where in Crete (west, east, it is important) and what frequencies (just to check here)?
 

Brillo77

Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2012
Messages
37
Reaction score
1
Points
8
Age
65
My Satellite Setup
Humax HD Free
1.7m mabo dish.
My Location
Crete
strs65 said:
Where in Crete (west, east, it is important) and what frequencies (just to check here)?

I live in central Crete, North side. I do not have any idea about frequencies etc but late afternoon early evening I lose Watch, Dave, Gold, Sly sports 2 and E$PN, Yesterday, Eden and Blighty and ITV. Chan 5, Syfy, have disappeared. All these channels were fine until the Astra 2D was 'retired'. Do I have to re-align the dish to the new satellite Astra 1N?
 

perthkenny

Regular Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2007
Messages
102
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Age
62
My Satellite Setup
Blade BM7000s HD receiver with Cccam/Newcamd, Acer Netbook, Netgear 3g wireless 4 port router,Time Athlon XP2400mhz Desktop. 2 x 80cm dishes- lnb1 at 13east,lnb2 at 19east, lnb3 on the 2nd dish for 28.2east Astra 2B south beam. Everything is open now
My Location
South Italy
First, I don't think you were getting the Sky package from 2D, as the footprint is localised to the Uk. You will be receiving the south beam of Astra 2B, like me. You don't need to re-align to 2N, but if I were you I would have your dish alignment checked and adjusted to optimum, and also check your cable, particularly where the F connector meets the LNB ( unscrew the F connector off the cable and check for blue/green/black corrosion on the cable and F connector), and while you're up there, hang on that new LNB you bought! :)
 

Brillo77

Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2012
Messages
37
Reaction score
1
Points
8
Age
65
My Satellite Setup
Humax HD Free
1.7m mabo dish.
My Location
Crete
Thanks for your replies. Please excuse the dumb questions but I went into my system details are they are as follows. Low Band LO Freq (GHZ) 9.75, High Band LO Freq (GHZ) 10.60, LNB Power -ON, 22KHz Command - ON. Default transponder settings are- Freq 12.051, Polarisation V, Symbol Rate 27.5, FEC 2/3.
 

timo_w2s

Retired Mod
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,359
Reaction score
2,883
Points
113
Website
www.timo.me.uk
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
Brillo77 said:
I live in central Crete, North side. I do not have any idea about frequencies etc but late afternoon early evening I lose Watch, Dave, Gold, Sly sports 2 and E$PN, Yesterday, Eden and Blighty and ITV. Chan 5, Syfy, have disappeared. All these channels were fine until the Astra 2D was 'retired'. Do I have to re-align the dish to the new satellite Astra 1N?

Most of the ITV1 regions and all the Channel 5 SD regions (and their spin off channels) are now on 1N and will be the only channels listed above affected by the new satellite but the other stuff you mention is still on the older satellites. Syfy recently moved to a slightly different beam on Eutelsat 28A which might be weaker in your area. The other channels are still on Astra 2A and 2B widebeams as normal.
 

ralphmagno

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2005
Messages
994
Reaction score
17
Points
18
Age
71
My Location
naples italy
hello, ok if you say that bbc,itv ch 4 ch5 has changed since the move to astra 1n from 2 d we are with you.
but all the else has not moved,all the movie,sky 1 2 3,sports,espn are on the same old satellites.
if you can get bbc and itv at all then there is several things that can cause loss.
1.dish moved in bad weather.
2.cable bad or corroded , that would be f-connoctors as well
3.lnb has developed a small problem causing only half the service to come in stuck in the hor or vert pol.or will not go to upper band.
4 skeu of the lnb is off causing the weaker channels to not come in or break up.
5. your receiver did not receive a update in softwhere and you need to hard boot it.
to boot your box you need to unplug the mains and plug it in while you push the back up botton . the botton must be held in for about 30 seconds and it will illuminate all the lights then you will let go of the botton and go to the stand by mode after 10 minuts.

ralph
 

strs65

Regular Member
Joined
May 13, 2006
Messages
688
Reaction score
297
Points
63
Age
56
My Satellite Setup
Decoders: VU+ Uno, DR.HD F15
DVB cards: TBS6983, TBS 6925
Dish 1: Tecatel 1.10m
LNB1: Smart Oxid
Motor: Amiko DM3800
Dish 2: Gibertini 125L, with actuator
LNB2: Invacom QDF-031
My Location
Greece (Crete - Chania)
Brillo77 said:
I live in central Crete, North side. I do not have any idea about frequencies etc but late afternoon early evening I lose Watch, Dave, Gold, Sly sports 2 and E$PN, Yesterday, Eden and Blighty and ITV. Chan 5, Syfy, have disappeared. All these channels were fine until the Astra 2D was 'retired'. Do I have to re-align the dish to the new satellite Astra 1N?

Irakleio, Rethymno? Anyway, I don't think that you should lose Watch, Dave, Eden, Blighty, Yesterday and Gold at 11817V. With a similar sized dish (a bit smaller, 110X120cm) I have 11.7dB (good signal) in this frequency at Chania (West Crete). Channel 5 is on Astra 1N now, almost impossible to receive with a normal sized dish. Syfy at 11307H is quite difficult in our region too, you need a very large dish. I think you should be able to receive ITV 1 from 12402H, I have it here with 9.2dB (not great, but ok). ITV 1, 2, 4, etc, at 10758V, also impossible to receive (Astra 1N, UK beam). ESPN Classic UK at 11344H is also quite difficult, but you should have no problem with ESPN UK/ESPN America at 11585H (12.1dB here). No problem also with ESPN HD at 12266H (12.4d:cool:. Finally, no problem with Sky Sports 2 at 12207V (11.7d:cool:.

dave.jpg
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2009
Messages
98
Reaction score
46
Points
18
Age
43
My Satellite Setup
13 Hotbird, 19 Astra, 28.5 Astra, 42 Türksat, Dreambox 800HD.
My Location
Istanbul, Turkey
I will buy a 2.40 cm dish in Istanbul than I will let you know the results. about 2a, 2b and Eurobird.
 

deepbluesky

Specialist Contributor
Joined
May 28, 2003
Messages
1,026
Reaction score
76
Points
48
Age
46
My Satellite Setup
Octagon Quad Optima OQSLO @ Laminas OFC-1100 @ Powertech DG-380 @ Vu+ Solo²(OpenATV) / Technotrend S2-1600
Sony KDL32W656A / TBS 6220 (DVB-C)
Terratec T-Stick+ (DAB+)
My Location
Stuttgart (48.79N/9.19E)
It's very likely that the reception condition at Istanbul will be completely different than at Crete. As strs65 has mentioned before, there are major differences inside the island which counts 250km from the most eastern to the most western edge. Astra 2A/B North Beams, Eutelsat 28A Fixed Beam and the newer Astra 1N UK Beam have shown that the more Northwest you are moving, the more frequencies can be gotten. You cannot imagine how extreme the differences are. For example at Iraklio a 3m does not receive frequencies which can be locked at Syros on 1.50m.
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2009
Messages
98
Reaction score
46
Points
18
Age
43
My Satellite Setup
13 Hotbird, 19 Astra, 28.5 Astra, 42 Türksat, Dreambox 800HD.
My Location
Istanbul, Turkey
deepbluesky said:
It's very likely that the reception condition at Istanbul will be completely different than at Crete. As strs65 has mentioned before, there are major differences inside the island which counts 250km from the most eastern to the most western edge. Astra 2A/B North Beams, Eutelsat 28A Fixed Beam and the newer Astra 1N UK Beam have shown that the more Northwest you are moving, the more frequencies can be gotten. You cannot imagine how extreme the differences are. For example at Iraklio a 3m does not receive frequencies which can be locked at Syros on 1.50m.

I Agree friend.
In Istanbul you can not receieve some of a tp on 2B North Beam with 1.20 dish but from there to 900 km far away a blacksea seaside cost you can.
it is difficult to guess if you receive or not you should try.
 
Top