Losing signal on sky box at 9 o'clock at night

radicaldoc

Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2011
Messages
172
Reaction score
9
Points
18
Age
69
My Satellite Setup
1.2 gilbertini with VU+ Solo2. 60cm with Spanish TDT from satellite.. and channel master 1.0m for 27.5 hopefully..LOL
Horizon USB Plus
My Location
Nr Martos, Jaen. Spain..
Here is a strange one my mate is Loosing signal on sky box at 9 o'clock at night every night..this is his SKY HD+ box he has a 8 way lnb and all other boxes are good he has a couple of normal SKY boxes on and freesat boxes..None of them are effected only his Main Box. The box just says it is receiving no signal.....
Anyone have any ideas?
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,410
Reaction score
8,153
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
What Make/Model of box is it, exactly?

Thomson?
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
17,500
Reaction score
3,604
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
Is it a Thomson HD box? They are notorious for the capacitors drying out in the power supply which gives some strange problems.

Repair kits are available.

EDIT - Snap!
 

radicaldoc

Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2011
Messages
172
Reaction score
9
Points
18
Age
69
My Satellite Setup
1.2 gilbertini with VU+ Solo2. 60cm with Spanish TDT from satellite.. and channel master 1.0m for 27.5 hopefully..LOL
Horizon USB Plus
My Location
Nr Martos, Jaen. Spain..
i will check....
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,410
Reaction score
8,153
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
And the other thing to do is swop some boxes around to determine whether the effect is native to the (likely Thomson) box or is associated with the two feeds to it's location.
 

radicaldoc

Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2011
Messages
172
Reaction score
9
Points
18
Age
69
My Satellite Setup
1.2 gilbertini with VU+ Solo2. 60cm with Spanish TDT from satellite.. and channel master 1.0m for 27.5 hopefully..LOL
Horizon USB Plus
My Location
Nr Martos, Jaen. Spain..
How do i find out which is which the model on the bottom is DRX890 R
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,410
Reaction score
8,153
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
That's an Amstrad.

Mind you, that doesn't necessarily alter the diagnosis.

So now you need to establish if the fault follows the box ......................
 

radicaldoc

Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2011
Messages
172
Reaction score
9
Points
18
Age
69
My Satellite Setup
1.2 gilbertini with VU+ Solo2. 60cm with Spanish TDT from satellite.. and channel master 1.0m for 27.5 hopefully..LOL
Horizon USB Plus
My Location
Nr Martos, Jaen. Spain..
Thanks i am up there tomorrow to check his cables etc. and move it round to see what happens.....Just odd every night it happens and no problems at all anyother time.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,080
Reaction score
9,813
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Where about are you UK or Spain - - and what channel(s) are affected?
 

radicaldoc

Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2011
Messages
172
Reaction score
9
Points
18
Age
69
My Satellite Setup
1.2 gilbertini with VU+ Solo2. 60cm with Spanish TDT from satellite.. and channel master 1.0m for 27.5 hopefully..LOL
Horizon USB Plus
My Location
Nr Martos, Jaen. Spain..
Analoguesat said:
Where about are you UK or Spain - - and what channel(s) are affected?
We are south of just south of Jaen and he looses all signal.. Which is the odd thing.
I loose the channel 5's at times but all others solid
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,410
Reaction score
8,153
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
It could be that the Amstrad's Tuner is a bit deaf compared to the other boxes.

But a few swap-arounds will help home in on the true cause.
 

radicaldoc

Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2011
Messages
172
Reaction score
9
Points
18
Age
69
My Satellite Setup
1.2 gilbertini with VU+ Solo2. 60cm with Spanish TDT from satellite.. and channel master 1.0m for 27.5 hopefully..LOL
Horizon USB Plus
My Location
Nr Martos, Jaen. Spain..
It has only started doing it this last week or so....
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,080
Reaction score
9,813
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
radicaldoc said:
It has only started doing it this last week or so....
Bingo - there have been some frequency swaps the last few days. Many 2B channels have either moved to the Astra 1N Pan European beam or the 2A north beam

Nowt you can do about it - live with it or cancel your subs.
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,410
Reaction score
8,153
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Various Channels are being shifted around right now, so that could account for the recent nature of the issue - or it could still be a latent box failure.

If it were entirely down to the space snooker, I'd expect the other boxes to be affected too, though: So you still need to do swaps.
 

radicaldoc

Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2011
Messages
172
Reaction score
9
Points
18
Age
69
My Satellite Setup
1.2 gilbertini with VU+ Solo2. 60cm with Spanish TDT from satellite.. and channel master 1.0m for 27.5 hopefully..LOL
Horizon USB Plus
My Location
Nr Martos, Jaen. Spain..
well found one problem it seems that he was having trouble recording as well. after going through everything ...checking signal on the two feeds from the LNB one was down a lot and wasn't even showing anything on the signal strength screen on input 2. that was last night. Today i went back with meter and checked all 8 LNB outputs.. All good so back down to check cable ends again this time with light so i could see and input 2 had burnt out inside the f connector was all burnt out. once i cleaned end of the cable and put a new F connector on checked it from the LNB Signal equal to the other it appears it has burnt out inside the box....So he has to sort that out with his installer..
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,080
Reaction score
9,813
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Burned out?? Theres less than 20v flow through the cables so its unlikely to have burned out.

If the inside of the connector was green thats copper corrosion due to poor weatherproofing
 

radicaldoc

Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2011
Messages
172
Reaction score
9
Points
18
Age
69
My Satellite Setup
1.2 gilbertini with VU+ Solo2. 60cm with Spanish TDT from satellite.. and channel master 1.0m for 27.5 hopefully..LOL
Horizon USB Plus
My Location
Nr Martos, Jaen. Spain..
No this was in the connector in the back of the box and it had melted end of the copper coming into the box from the F connector..Inside the actual connector on the box is black and charred....
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,410
Reaction score
8,153
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
There should be short-circuit protection for the LNB sockets on the Amstrad, so disconnect it from the Mains for a bit, then boot it up again and see if it has reset now that you've cleared the cause.

Edit: Just seen your response. Scrub mine!
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,080
Reaction score
9,813
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Blimey never heard of that happening before :D
 

radicaldoc

Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2011
Messages
172
Reaction score
9
Points
18
Age
69
My Satellite Setup
1.2 gilbertini with VU+ Solo2. 60cm with Spanish TDT from satellite.. and channel master 1.0m for 27.5 hopefully..LOL
Horizon USB Plus
My Location
Nr Martos, Jaen. Spain..
Tivù said:
There should be short-circuit protection for the LNB sockets on the Amstrad, so disconnect it from the Mains for a bit, then boot it up again and see if it has reset now that you've cleared the cause.

Edit: Just seen your response. Scrub mine!
I dont think that would be of use as its actually completely burnt out inside you can't make a connection because there is nothing to grip the copper when you put it in..
 
Top