Maplin Portable Kit Question

Rolandh

Regular Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2011
Messages
97
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
43
My Satellite Setup
Zone 1 Mini Dish with a Quad LNB Feeding Astra 2 and EB 1 to a Humax Faxsat-HDR 500 and a Humax Foxsat-HD, A Quad LNB on the same Zone 1 Mini Dish Feedind Astra 1 to a Humax Foxsat-HD via a 2 port DiseqC Switch
My Location
Sheffield
I'm thinking about setting up a Maplin Portable kit for 19e to go with the Mini Dish for 28e, or maybe going fully motorized. I'm leaning towards the Portable kit as it will be easier to setup, & I can take it down easy for when I want ti take it on holiday. But I'm not sure on how good the dishes are for 19e, if they are not good enough for 19e in the UK I'll then go fully Motorized.

Can anyone confirm if they are suitable for 19e in the UK?

Roland

Sent from my LT18i using Tapatalk 2
 

mariust5

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Dec 8, 2005
Messages
507
Reaction score
120
Points
43
Age
44
My Satellite Setup
Cristor Atlas 100HD , motorised 1.1 Triax on Stab H-H
My Location
hastings , uk
Yes , they are fine for 19E .
But motorised will give you so much more , but maybe more hassle .
 

Rolandh

Regular Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2011
Messages
97
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
43
My Satellite Setup
Zone 1 Mini Dish with a Quad LNB Feeding Astra 2 and EB 1 to a Humax Faxsat-HDR 500 and a Humax Foxsat-HD, A Quad LNB on the same Zone 1 Mini Dish Feedind Astra 1 to a Humax Foxsat-HD via a 2 port DiseqC Switch
My Location
Sheffield
mariust5 said:
Yes , they are fine for 19E .
But motorised will give you so much more , but maybe more hassle .

As I've got to mount it on the balcony railings a motorised dish would be a bit of a hassle to Install, and with the winds were getting atm a 60cm+ Dish would be a bit of a pain to keep aligned correctly, also the ability to remove the dish if I need to e.g to take it in holiday, and the propper fta box included is a bonus as the Foxsat HD can be a pain to use as an fta receiver for anything other than 28e. I've also seen one on eBay that's cheaper than Maplin including the price on next day delivery.

Do the Portable dish kits use a standard LNB neck or are they a proprietary one?

Roland

Sent from my LT18i using Tapatalk 2
 

mariust5

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Dec 8, 2005
Messages
507
Reaction score
120
Points
43
Age
44
My Satellite Setup
Cristor Atlas 100HD , motorised 1.1 Triax on Stab H-H
My Location
hastings , uk
Everyone i had was standard but best to check with the seller first .
 

Rolandh

Regular Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2011
Messages
97
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
43
My Satellite Setup
Zone 1 Mini Dish with a Quad LNB Feeding Astra 2 and EB 1 to a Humax Faxsat-HDR 500 and a Humax Foxsat-HD, A Quad LNB on the same Zone 1 Mini Dish Feedind Astra 1 to a Humax Foxsat-HD via a 2 port DiseqC Switch
My Location
Sheffield
mariust5 said:
Everyone i had was standard but best to check with the seller first .

Yeah I think that's probably a good idea & what I'm going to do.

Rolqnd

Sent from my LT18i using Tapatalk 2
 

hdp160

Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2005
Messages
86
Reaction score
4
Points
8
Age
67
Don't forget to check out Aldi and Lidl....... they often have setups for around £30.
Often Comag / Median stuff (It won't set the world on fire but what the heck?)
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
32,663
Reaction score
7,410
Points
113
Age
57
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Comag is one of the earlier names associated with digital receivers. A lot of the production in the past was rebadged by importers hence the name rarely came up on the front of equipment supplied into Europe (with the exception of Germany). They now use a Norfolk based importer to these shores.

_http://www.comag-ag.co.uk/index.php
 

hdp160

Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2005
Messages
86
Reaction score
4
Points
8
Age
67
Thats right Channel Hopper, I bought a cheapee STB in Aldi or Lidl when they first opened and was pleasantly surprised to find it had an internal Jtag connector and lots of enthusiast support. (SL65 I think?)
Think I've still got it in the attic..........
 

sonnetpete

Grumpy Old Moderator and quiz inquisitor..
Staff member
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
8,749
Reaction score
3,364
Points
113
Age
71
Website
wordpress.com
My Satellite Setup
Laminas 1.2M fibre dish with an IBU, on a Clarke Tech USALS motor, covering 57E - 24.5W to an Octagon SX88. Displayed on a 20" Dyon LED TV.

Seperate 80 cm dish on 28E with a Humax Freesat for SWMBO.
Free Sat V8 meter. Sony Bravia 46" LCD, Sony BluRay and Home Cinema.
My Location
Normandy, France
I've got a Porty II, is that the same as a SL65? It was the first digital receiver I had (someone gave it to me as they couldn't get it to work). It did have a tendency to crash a lot!!
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,610
Reaction score
8,305
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Wasn't the Porty II a 12v version of the SL65?

I still have an SL65 in use today - dirt cheap and with a decent blind scan.

Shame they don't appear to have done an S2 version (although there was one with HDMI Out offered last year, but obviously for upscaling only).
 

sonnetpete

Grumpy Old Moderator and quiz inquisitor..
Staff member
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
8,749
Reaction score
3,364
Points
113
Age
71
Website
wordpress.com
My Satellite Setup
Laminas 1.2M fibre dish with an IBU, on a Clarke Tech USALS motor, covering 57E - 24.5W to an Octagon SX88. Displayed on a 20" Dyon LED TV.

Seperate 80 cm dish on 28E with a Humax Freesat for SWMBO.
Free Sat V8 meter. Sony Bravia 46" LCD, Sony BluRay and Home Cinema.
My Location
Normandy, France
Tivù said:
Wasn't the Porty II a 12v version of the SL65?

Well, it certainly has a 12V input so I guess so.
 

hdp160

Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2005
Messages
86
Reaction score
4
Points
8
Age
67
So Rolandh, putting this thread back on track, there are several "very cheap" systems out there which include dish and cable Etc and you will easily get continental FTA of 19.2E
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
32,663
Reaction score
7,410
Points
113
Age
57
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
sonnetpete said:
I've got a Porty II, is that the same as a SL65? It was the first digital receiver I had (someone gave it to me as they couldn't get it to work). It did have a tendency to crash a lot!!

I can probably find a current link to the later firmware (which sorted out a lot of problems)
 

Rolandh

Regular Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2011
Messages
97
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
43
My Satellite Setup
Zone 1 Mini Dish with a Quad LNB Feeding Astra 2 and EB 1 to a Humax Faxsat-HDR 500 and a Humax Foxsat-HD, A Quad LNB on the same Zone 1 Mini Dish Feedind Astra 1 to a Humax Foxsat-HD via a 2 port DiseqC Switch
My Location
Sheffield
My Koing 35cm Portable Dish kit arrived at 8:40 this morning, now just got to dig out a spare patch lead so I can set it up with my 45cm Zone1 Mini Dish via DiseqC switch fire up the Foxsat-HD and find out what the East-West limits are of the Dish. Then I'll probably make a guide bar with all the sats that it can pick up so I can have a play with it and see what's out there.

I was surprised when I opened it up to find that it's like a Mini Dish that has been rotated 90degrees in that it's taller than it is wide.

I'll attempt to post some pictures of the contents of the kit and some screen shots of what I pick up, just hope that the hight of the dish doesn't interfere with the ppermanent Mini Dish that's used for Freesat as it's a solid dish and not mesh.

Roland

Sent from my LT18i using Tapatalk 2
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,610
Reaction score
8,305
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Looking forward to the results.
 

Rolandh

Regular Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2011
Messages
97
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
43
My Satellite Setup
Zone 1 Mini Dish with a Quad LNB Feeding Astra 2 and EB 1 to a Humax Faxsat-HDR 500 and a Humax Foxsat-HD, A Quad LNB on the same Zone 1 Mini Dish Feedind Astra 1 to a Humax Foxsat-HD via a 2 port DiseqC Switch
My Location
Sheffield
Tivù said:
Looking forward to the results.

Ne to. The dish feels surprisingly sturdy to say it's a light weight Dish.

Roland

Sent from my LT18i using Tapatalk 2
 

Rolandh

Regular Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2011
Messages
97
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
43
My Satellite Setup
Zone 1 Mini Dish with a Quad LNB Feeding Astra 2 and EB 1 to a Humax Faxsat-HDR 500 and a Humax Foxsat-HD, A Quad LNB on the same Zone 1 Mini Dish Feedind Astra 1 to a Humax Foxsat-HD via a 2 port DiseqC Switch
My Location
Sheffield
Tivù said:
Looking forward to the results.

I'll take some photos when I set the Dish up, but here's a walk through of what's in the box.
The lid of the suitcase has space for the mounting arm and feed arm to clip into, the Dish comes with the mounting bracket pre-attached and clips into the lid covering the mounting arm and feed arm, in the bottom of the case is a place to store the table/ car/window vaccum mount, a place to clip the L bracket also used for table mounting as a clamp from the mounting arm, q little brown box holds the LNB and weather proofing boot for the F connector and a 10m roll of coax cable with F Connectors pre Fitted, installation Instructions and finally as Konig describe it a tool box which is fitted to the case that holds the LNB Holder, U bolt for Pole & Balcony mounting a little compass, wall/pole/table/balconymount and various screws, nuts and bolts needed to fix the Dish.

Pictures of the kit will explain everything better than how I've just explained it.

Depending on weather and time I'll do a Pictorial un-boxing before I build and Install it.

After having a look at the Balcony from the ground I think that due to the shape of the Dish I should be able to get away with mounting the Dish to the top of the Balcony railings using the table clamp method of fixing.

Roland


Sent from my LT18i using Tapatalk 2
 

Rolandh

Regular Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2011
Messages
97
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
43
My Satellite Setup
Zone 1 Mini Dish with a Quad LNB Feeding Astra 2 and EB 1 to a Humax Faxsat-HDR 500 and a Humax Foxsat-HD, A Quad LNB on the same Zone 1 Mini Dish Feedind Astra 1 to a Humax Foxsat-HD via a 2 port DiseqC Switch
My Location
Sheffield
I tried setting the Dish up on 13e to have a look at Dubai Sports 3 but I was getting no signal, then tried it on 19e with the channels already setup in my Foxsat-HD still no signal. I finally had a go on 28e and nothing. I know that the Konig LNB that comes with the kit works as holding it in the position for 19e on the Mini Dish and got a signal as does using a spare Mini Dish LNB placed on the Dish.

I'm close to tearing my hair out as it can't be that hard to set the Dish up.

Roland
 

hdp160

Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2005
Messages
86
Reaction score
4
Points
8
Age
67
Have you got the dish firmly attached to something? If your holding it in your hand It is nearly impossible for the signal to lock?
 

Rolandh

Regular Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2011
Messages
97
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
43
My Satellite Setup
Zone 1 Mini Dish with a Quad LNB Feeding Astra 2 and EB 1 to a Humax Faxsat-HDR 500 and a Humax Foxsat-HD, A Quad LNB on the same Zone 1 Mini Dish Feedind Astra 1 to a Humax Foxsat-HD via a 2 port DiseqC Switch
My Location
Sheffield
hdp160 said:
Have you got the dish firmly attached to something? If your holding it in your hand It is nearly impossible for the signal to lock?


It was Clamped to the Balcony railing and it was not moving, I've tried using a Sat Finder app on my phone and even the Dish Pointer page on here to get the angles but not locking onto anything.

Roland
 
Top